Any Forex Swing Traders Here?

Yellowfin

Options is a good supplement be it to repair a wrong forex trade or just a trade but admin forbid discussion. :(

Option discussion is allowed. :vijayadmin:

Option can be use as a hedging tool or to generate income by selling short.:)

Knight_Rider

Oanda platform, (they closed Daily candle at 12pm, and 6 candles a week) mt4.. does not show the evening star.
this seems to be an ongoing problems, i have compared charts from oanda.. always got small difference with some other platform.

most of the time, difference not big.
but sometimes... totally cannot see evening star in H1 in the past 8 H1 candles before the bad news...

If you zoom out you could see a head and shoulder on H1. The last pin bar is on the tip of the right shoulder. You can also anticipate Aussie talking down the currency and poor kiwi CPI.

alexchia01

Oanda platform, (they closed Daily candle at 12pm, and 6 candles a week) mt4.. does not show the evening star.
this seems to be an ongoing problems, i have compared charts from oanda.. always got small difference with some other platform.

most of the time, difference not big.
but sometimes... totally cannot see evening star in H1 in the past 8 H1 candles before the bad news...

You should know that for all forex and CFD platforms, although you are seeing the same thing in the same timeframe, but their charts don't alway shows the same thing.

Knight_Rider

You should know that for all forex and CFD platforms, although you are seeing the same thing in the same timeframe, but their charts don't alway shows the same thing.

Surprisingly the best chart is the demo account chart. :D

No spike no stoploss hunting no tarik. Pattern all swee swee.

archcherub

Option discussion is allowed. :vijayadmin:
Option can be use as a hedging tool or to generate income by selling short.:)
heh i like selling options for income.
thought not profiting a lot... profits are small, but losses could be big.

If you zoom out you could see a head and shoulder on H1. The last pin bar is on the tip of the right shoulder. You can also anticipate Aussie talking down the currency and poor kiwi CPI.

oh right, let me get back to the chart again later and see...

u mean they adjust? stop-hunting? some people say oanda and some other platform not honest....

Surprisingly the best chart is the demo account chart. :D
No spike no stoploss hunting no tarik. Pattern all swee swee.

lol im using oanda demo on my mt4 to see chart.

then oanda on their own platform to trade, or IB ... haha

alexchia01

u mean they adjust? stop-hunting? some people say oanda and some other platform not honest....

They are middleman, they mimic the market, they are not the market. Many times, they like to manipulate the data to benefit themselves in the expense of their clients.

It's like you change money from different money changers, depending on where and who you change with, their exchange rate are different.

The only place the get the exact same rate as the market is to get it directly from the exchanges.

This is why I trade in the Futures Exchange. Everyone sees the same price and everyone buys the same price, whether you are BB or retail.

Please note that, even directly accessing the exchanges, different platforms still have slight differences in their charts. But this is usually the result of the time display and not due to manipulation.

CookieMonsta88

heh i like selling options for income.
thought not profiting a lot... profits are small, but losses could be big.

oh right, let me get back to the chart again later and see...

lol im using oanda demo on my mt4 to see chart.

then oanda on their own platform to trade, or IB ... haha

actually stop-hunting is just everywhere in the market, coz not only brokers stop-hunt, professionals like hedge funds and others may stop-hunt too if they need to fill their own positions, so i think just be aware u may be stop-hunted, and take actions to recognize and handle or even capitalize on it.

also if brokers stop-hunt, they give vital information about it also, just like yesterday, audusd rushed up from 0.8778 to 0.8006 at 7pm, why leh? stop-hunting lor, because later 8.30 got news mah, somemore is unemployment claims. so at 7, when they made the move, i thought, they trying to either 1) reduce exposure by hunting the stops at the 00 levels or 2) gunning the stops at 00 level to change direction from net long or squared to net short in preparation for the news, since if news come in, and it goes down, the dealers will already have their positions in place, and can take profit when the news release and order-flow comes in.

so i took the move from 0.8785 to 0.8799 and exited once i realized they are gunning the 00 levels, and then i wait for the news to come in as i didn't want to risk it, then i short the down move after the news (news is bullish audusd but we get bearish candle for the pair, and 1-2 candles after that, no bullish candles in sight), as it seems like flow is still downwards and took 15pips downwards too.

so point is everytime someone does something in the market, its not completely good or completely bad, its how u intepret it and how much information their move contains.

mainly, those fundamental value traders send their orders to the brokers, then brokers act on it, so brokers know the fundamental value traders like george soros and those huge funds what they are trying to do as the order flow goes through them, and other market makers who have a connection with ur broker may know too. once u trace the way the information flows u know how they are likely to act with a reasonable amount of predictability.

theres no smoke without fire.

archcherub

which broker for buying options?

Interactive Brokers is cheapest broker.
ThinkOrSwim is a good platform also with decent rates...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/options-trading-singapore-4646253-7.html

They are middleman, they mimic the market, they are not the market. Many times, they like to manipulate the data to benefit themselves in the expense of their clients.
It's like you change money from different money changers, depending on where and who you change with, their exchange rate are different.
The only place the get the exact same rate as the market is to get it directly from the exchanges.
This is why I trade in the Futures Exchange. Everyone sees the same price and everyone buys the same price, whether you are BB or retail.
Please note that, even directly accessing the exchanges, different platforms still have slight differences in their charts. But this is usually the result of the time display and not due to manipulation.

Which broker do u use? I using IB for forex trading (i assume its futures there) and its been a steep learning curve.
had a few trades that didnt manage to SL even though the price hits the target.
sometimes i realised its my mistake while setting up the Buy/Sell Limit. sometime i dont understand why the trade was not closed even though it hit my SL.

So far, had not suffered any big gap from my SL to the market price yet...

alexchia01

Interactive Brokers is cheapest broker.
ThinkOrSwim is a good platform also with decent rates...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/money-mind-210/options-trading-singapore-4646253-7.html

Which broker do u use? I using IB for forex trading (i assume its futures there) and its been a steep learning curve.
had a few trades that didnt manage to SL even though the price hits the target.
sometimes i realised its my mistake while setting up the Buy/Sell Limit. sometime i dont understand why the trade was not closed even though it hit my SL.

So far, had not suffered any big gap from my SL to the market price yet...

I use Tradestation. I believe IB and Thinkorswim also have Futures account.

However, Forex is Forex, Futures is Futures. Unless they stated Futures Account, I think you in Forex.

TradeStation also has Forex and Futures account. I have to specifically choose Futures account when I was opening the account with them, else I could end up in Forex.

Knight_Rider

Gbp/Jpy has retraced to a r/s zone at the moment. With a double tweezer forming (bearish), i'm still looking to short Gby/Jpy as current PA is still below my larger range of GMMA. What are your sentiments bro?

Evening star on H4. 4 bull candle after that hitting 89MA. Like I said the elephant taking a bath. Dun immediately short. Longer term I am still bullish on gbpjpy as jpy strength will fade off.

I hope you are not waiting to short Gby/Jpy.

there is a difference between sharing and boasting.

boasting is = declare something that will happen. then next day :- i win a lot of money.

sharing - i notice xxx got this pattern, fa or ta or bullish flag or whatever, im in... then ok make money everyone applaud for u and thank you.

Oh btw, on a totally unrelated note, I bought 11, 12, 25, 28, 34, 47 and 15 a week ago for Thurs 9oct TOTO draw.
i did shared with u guys earlier that surely someone will win jackpot!!

Ok GBPJPY has gone up almost 600 pips. So am I boasting or sharing? =:p

Anyway won't be appearing here often so doesn't really matter. :s13:

archcherub

I use Tradestation. I believe IB and Thinkorswim also have Futures account.
However, Forex is Forex, Futures is Futures. Unless they stated Futures Account, I think you in Forex.
TradeStation also has Forex and Futures account. I have to specifically choose Futures account when I was opening the account with them, else I could end up in Forex.
TOS can't do Forex. The TOS explained they will try and have this instrument soon.

Oh I always tot I was in IB forex is in future style as the platform of Limits, Stop orders are similar to what I used on futures. Not as easy as CFDs on those MM platform (IG, CMC, Oanda etc)
Thanks for pointing this out :)

Lol. Boasting is fine as long as don't yaya papaya. Haha.
Share more la... Forum needs more active blood. More traders in singapore more fun mah.
Even I demo I also enjoyed discussing Forex with colleagues...

feiyun

Hi Bro,

The trend has changed alrdy so I'm definitely not looking to short anymore. But Im looking at the downtrend of eur/aud and gbp/aud.

Knight_Rider

Hi Bro,

The trend has changed alrdy so I'm definitely not looking to short anymore. But Im looking at the downtrend of eur/aud and gbp/aud.

GbpAud is the opp of Audusd but can be tricky at times. Another unpredictable pair. I would advise caution.

chickenchopandrice

Dunno if u all trade harmonic patterns, but GBP/USD currently have a bullish butterfly pattern in the 4hrs. With the not that fantastic results from US employment rate release on 7 november 2014, many would have taken the profits from the holding of the USD/JPY hike since last week(due to BOJ QE) as it is already at a very overbought zone(based on RSI) and could cause the USD to retrace back. With the GBP/USD having a oversold USD level and a cross over of exponential MA of 10 and 20 in the 1hr chart, this could signal a slight retracement trend which i predict that it will hit around 0.618 of Fib AD. :s12::s12::s12:

Knight_Rider

Dunno if u all trade harmonic patterns, but GBP/USD currently have a bullish butterfly pattern in the 4hrs. With the not that fantastic results from US employment rate release on 7 november 2014, many would have taken the profits from the holding of the USD/JPY hike since last week(due to BOJ QE) as it is already at a very overbought zone(based on RSI) and could cause the USD to retrace back. With the GBP/USD having a oversold USD level and a cross over of exponential MA of 10 and 20 in the 1hr chart, this could signal a slight retracement trend which i predict that it will hit around 0.618 of Fib AD. :s12::s12::s12:

Take a look at H1 bullish butterfly. The reversal zone is 1.5797 It has finish it's course and is now forming a bearish ABCD near the resitance MA. Another 250 pips fall and there should be some bounce an the day chart. 500 pips should hit the rising trendline.

nothingbeatme

actually stop-hunting is just everywhere in the market, coz not only brokers stop-hunt, professionals like hedge funds and others may stop-hunt too if they need to fill their own positions, so i think just be aware u may be stop-hunted, and take actions to recognize and handle or even capitalize on it.

also if brokers stop-hunt, they give vital information about it also, just like yesterday, audusd rushed up from 0.8778 to 0.8006 at 7pm, why leh? stop-hunting lor, because later 8.30 got news mah, somemore is unemployment claims. so at 7, when they made the move, i thought, they trying to either 1) reduce exposure by hunting the stops at the 00 levels or 2) gunning the stops at 00 level to change direction from net long or squared to net short in preparation for the news, since if news come in, and it goes down, the dealers will already have their positions in place, and can take profit when the news release and order-flow comes in.

so i took the move from 0.8785 to 0.8799 and exited once i realized they are gunning the 00 levels, and then i wait for the news to come in as i didn't want to risk it, then i short the down move after the news (news is bullish audusd but we get bearish candle for the pair, and 1-2 candles after that, no bullish candles in sight), as it seems like flow is still downwards and took 15pips downwards too.

so point is everytime someone does something in the market, its not completely good or completely bad, its how u intepret it and how much information their move contains.

mainly, those fundamental value traders send their orders to the brokers, then brokers act on it, so brokers know the fundamental value traders like george soros and those huge funds what they are trying to do as the order flow goes through them, and other market makers who have a connection with ur broker may know too. once u trace the way the information flows u know how they are likely to act with a reasonable amount of predictability.

theres no smoke without fire.

a refreshing way of looking at the markets. cutting thru all the techies/fundies bull$hit to what really matters , front running orders.

xtwis7

Just to gather some insights. Most of you trade inter or intra day? If it's inter, what's your window like? And if you're intra, which charts do you find the most useful?

archcherub

Hope no forex traders here got burn recently by the swings.... =)
chf killed many retail traders... :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.