Anyone drove and parked and took a flight from Senai Airport (JB)

Nuclear Boy

To reach there on time, got time pressure - better to drive or take coach all the way there, at least you can plan ahead timing and schedule; you're risking missing your flight if you kena jam at kastam, or too much waiting time if you arrived too early for that buffer

Come back, then take flight.

Overall still save money, and can make timing without having to worry.

drkcynic

Took before, but took cab there from JB.

1 thing to note is, the airport is not elderly friendly, walk very far to the tarmac.

My in laws were in JB so it made sense. If they are in SG, I will take from SG.

BTW save $200 per person? How can it be? Your SG flight $300 each?

seowbin

Another way is fly to KL then rent a car to go up Penang.

If butt not pain, can try coach also.

menthol28

I dun trust the security at The airport carpark, what if U come back can't find your car? How U gonna claim from your insurance? Why wanna take the risks? Singapore hardly got ppl steal car but in Malaysia car theft is so common. No point taking the risks. Just book a grab in or take a flight from Changi
Dun be penny wise pound foolish

siaoliaolor

Takes about 8-9 hours. Drive to Senai airport 1 hr 30 mins at most. Fly another 1 hr.
Leave SG home to cross custom and be 2 hours at airport before flight departure. .

It's like total 5hours .
Plus 1 hour flight - 6 hours le .

Drive cheaper and can look see look see before come back ..
Drive at night morning reach le .
But of coz sinkies drive drive from changi airport to vivo also will cry so beh far .

Nemesis_lane123

*editted as my travel costs were wrong. Pls see the revised version.

Anyways to conclude Bros/sis.

As the wedding venue has changed to KL. Have decided to drive up with my brother.

Just wanted to share my calculation for costs and duration for 7 adults 3 children given the various mode of transport coming to a final decision. Hope this info helps for those making such decisions in future.

By Singapore Airlines+Air BNB (KL Sentral)
Total cost $3000
Total travel time (inclusive of journey to airport, waiting time, transfer from klia to kl sentral) : 5hrs 20 mins

By Aeroline Bus+Corus hotel stay( inclusive of breakfast)
Total cost: $2900
Total travel time: 6hr 20 mins

By Car+Air BNB (provides 2 secured car park lots)
Total cost: $1700 ($200 petrol/toll plus $1500 Airbnb)

Total travel time: 4hr 20mins. Could be faster. Will Grab around KL upon parking cars within the gated AIr BNB compound.
*Gd thing is can use the money saved to put in Ang Pow.

inmyopinion

Hi Bros/Sis,

Has anyone driven to Senai airport (from Singapore), parked, or taken a flight from there before? Asking about bringing a family of 7 to Penang for a wedding. Savings is like 200 bucks per person flying.

It is indeed saving money flying from Senai as compared to flying from Changi.

More savings because you are flying with a family of 7.

1. Can stay a night at hotel near Senai. Then fly.

2. Can take those transport from SG - Senai - Senai SG, if u dont want to drive over.

Nemesis_lane123

It is indeed saving money flying from Senai as compared to flying from Changi.

More savings because you are flying with a family of 7.

1. Can stay a night at hotel near Senai. Then fly.

2. Can take those transport from SG - Senai - Senai SG, if u dont want to drive over.
Thanks for the suggestion.

We decided to drive all the way as in the end, airport we will still need time to get there and then there is the waiting. Still from Senai flying to Subang which is nearer to KL sentral is about $90/pax.

I calculated for KL take plane from Senai to Subang+Air BNB cost will be $2600
$200- transport for 10 pax back n forth to senai from SG
$900 airfare for 10 pax
$1500 Airbnb costs.

BigMonkey

park where? park at senai airport carpark? moi can onri sey goot ruck

addict951

Thanks for the suggestion.

We decided to drive all the way as in the end, airport we will still need time to get there and then there is the waiting. Still from Senai flying to Subang which is nearer to KL sentral is about $90/pax.

I calculated for KL take plane from Senai to Subang+Air BNB cost will be $2600
$200- transport for 10 pax back n forth to senai from SG
$900 airfare for 10 pax
$1500 Airbnb costs.
ts, all you pay or you pay first only? :look:

Godeau

Multiple unpredictable factors

Causeway delay
Onroute delay
Early arrival for check-in to flight
Flight delay
Car loss risk

Not worth it imo.

XcoVar

Tell them family tio covid, unable to attend. Save more.

Nemesis_lane123

ts, all you pay or you pay first only? :look:
Usually as I am the oldest brother. I will pay first then they will pay me later. I usually inform everyone of the costs before hand but I try as best as I can to help everyone save money.

My brothers and me are very close cos I provided for both their Uni and school fees when young so with money they never hold back from me.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.