Anyone else hooked on going to JB?

virtualape

About the specialist's consultation fee the staff said RM255. My wife told me that in the past when she went to KK Hospital in SG the consultation fee was $170 plus.

Recently, in July this year my wife went to see a specialist at KTHH in Yishun for Trigger Thumb on her right hand and Carpal Tunnel Syndrome for her left hand. The consultation fee was $199 first visit then second visit $150.

Before that the GP at the Polyclinic in Yishun had referred her to see a specialist at KTHH. She said to us that since my wife is a foreigner and only a LTVP holder its better for us to go to the private hospital or medical centre because its flat rate for both Singaporeans and foreigners if there is a need for minor surgery needed to be done. She said its like same medical charge with the Government Hospital. The charges in Government Hospital its like almost the same because there are surcharges here and there before subsidy. We took note of the GP's advice. The GP's consultation fee itself for that day was $60.

At the end we decided not to do the minor surgery because there are risk involved. We ended up going for TCM acupuncture treatments for few sessions and it works. Trigger Thumb and Carpel Tunnel Syndrome faded away.

As for my wife medical appointment at 2.30pm at Regency Medical Care Centre in Mid Valley Mall we rebooked for the 2/1/2025. She was mistaken that today medical appointment was at Mid Valley Mall but it wasn't. It was supposed to be at the Regency Hospital in Masai JB. My wife had booked that appointment via their website and was mistaken thinking that it was supposedly at Mid Valley Mall.

So we will see how much the charges on 2/1/25 at Regency Medical Care Centre at Mid Valley. Probably after that I will post and share about the charges in this thread.
at rm255, its around half of what kkh charges or more than half of ktph already. since no subsidy, might as well go private plus its cheaper and probably the appointment can be scheduled much earlier too.

wish your wife speedy recovery with treatment.

Joe Mahmood

at rm255, its around half of what kkh charges or more than half of ktph already. since no subsidy, might as well go private plus its cheaper and probably the appointment can be scheduled much earlier too.

🙏

SantyBalls

It's around Sutera Mall, ah shui durian, paradigm and many more delights which the locals prefer to hang out.

But I guess, most Singaporeans only prefer to stay at Ksl, mid valley, city square
Not really around. It's nearly 3km walk from sutera mall. Definitely must grab unless u wanna walk 1hr.

Its 5x the distance from sutera mall to say yes dim sum(taste like trash n exp)

So y i say this place is not sunbian go cause happen to do smth nearby.
is need purposely make a trip there. About 15rm grab for the roundtrip from sutera mall

testerjp

Not really around. It's nearly 3km walk from sutera mall. Definitely must grab unless u wanna walk 1hr.

Its 5x the distance from sutera mall to say yes dim sum(taste like trash n exp)

So y i say this place is not sunbian go cause happen to do smth nearby.
is need purposely make a trip there. About 15rm grab for the roundtrip from sutera mall
Yup, Stay at city square best. 200m from customs.

No need grab at all, can walk to JBCC, zenith or princess rnf. :o

saikangwarrior

This I agree...
I think JB is more for the regular ppl living in hdbs/condos to go in buy groceries / massage / salon/ do car ...

If I JIN rich I will just stay in SG OR take flight to other countries with Cleaner streets and toilets

I won't even be participating in JB Threads 😬
The real rich sinkies won’t even frequent JB. Anything you can get in JB, you can get in Singapore except more expensive. No point making the trip down north, when quality available here is def better

MangoCAT

i only go there to eat dim sum and K'fry. Their seafood also getting more expensive le

ramlee

The real rich sinkies won’t even frequent JB. Anything you can get in JB, you can get in Singapore except more expensive. No point making the trip down north, when quality available here is def better
aiya, if cheeper by 30% quality a bit laoji never mind rah :(

Wu-Han Clan

my fren jio me go jb buy watch from AD... he keep saying cheaper bt i see the price arnd the same after conversion... rly gt cheaper meh??? i think safer to buy in sg.......

urbanathlon

tis..... by right in sg maybe go out eat in restaurant wib friends or gf spend about $80-100sgd.

go in will end up spending same or more cos mentality ish everything cheap. so eat wad chius want, buy unnecessary stuffs and go massage or do hair etc.

then again... some wud argue with the same amount of money spent, chius can do more there which i kinda agree.
Not only that.

The food in Malaysia are super unhealthy.
People who go there often should check their blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar etc.

Both my parents cholesterol and BP shot through the roof to dangerous levels since they start going there to eat. Now needs to take medicine.

Flavor good?
What's the magic?
More sugar, more MSG, more salt lor.
Their veggies for domestic market are as good as from China, full of pesticide, never checked much one.

GEORGE TOWN: The Consumers' Association of Penang (CAP) has urged consumers to be cautious of the high amount of pesticides detected in vegetables and rice sold in the market.
In a study done with the assistance of Wonjin Institute for Occupational and Environmental Health (WIOEH), and supported by the Financial Industry Public Interest Foundation (FIPIF), Korea, a total of 112 samples of vegetables and 20 samples of rice were tested for the presence of pesticides.
A total of 98 samples or 87.5 per cent of vegetables, and 11 samples or 55 per cent of rice contain pesticides.
Samples were purchased from various outlets such as supermarkets, hypermarkets, wet markets, mini markets and retail shops in Penang.
CAP president Mohideen Abdul Kader described the results as "horrifying".
"From the results, it was found that excessively high amounts of pesticides are being used in the vegetables tested.
"Besides, it was found that there were pesticides that are banned by EU countries used in Malaysia.
"What is most shocking was the presence of up to 35 compounds in a single vegetable," he told newsmen here today.
Results showed celery contained between seven and 35 active compounds/pesticide; rice (one to three active compounds); lettuce (one to 13 active compounds); Chinese flowering cabbage (three to nine active compounds); Napa cabbage (one to seven active compounds); and cabbage (one to two active compounds).
Meanwhile, Amaranth mixed red/green contained two to seven active compounds; spinach (two to eight active compounds); leaf mustard (three to 13 active compounds); Chinese kale (two to 21 active compounds); coriander (one to four active compounds); spring onion (one to 11 active compounds); and bok choy (two to 22 active compounds).
Mohideen said most of the vegetables tested were from the farms in Ara Kuda, which is the main vegetable growing area in Penang.
He said the vegetables grown in this area were also supplied to the surrounding states of Kedah, Perlis and Perak.
Explaining, Mohideen said, presently in Malaysia, legislation pertaining to pesticide residue in crops was under the Sixteenth Schedule (Regulation 41) of the Food Regulation 1985.
He added that only the pesticides mentioned in the Schedule (together with its MRL – minimum residue level) were allowed to be present in the respective crops.
"Besides using excessive pesticides, farmers are also using pesticides that are banned.
"The results revealed that there are a number of crops found to contain pesticides that are not allowed to be present in it.
"For example, the pesticide Abamectin which is only allowed to be used in fruits such as watermelon, cucumber and tomato, was found in celery and spring onion. Carbofuran, which is allowed only in rice, was found in some leafy vegetables.(Carbofuran will be banned from May 2023).
"The samples were also found to contain insecticides such as Malathion and Metaflumizone," he added.
Malaysian consumers, according to Mohideen, are unaware of the extent and types of pesticides used on the local agricultural produce as there has not been much publicity on it.
He, however, said there were cases where Malaysian vegetables were sometimes rejected overseas due to the high pesticide content.
"The study also revealed that our government encourages the use of pesticides as farmers are given financial aid to purchase them. Besides, illegal pesticides are also available to farmers.
"It was also found that many farmers are unaware of the dangers of pesticides and do not practise the required safety procedure such as the wearing of protective safety gear. Normally, foreigners who are not trained in the procedure, are paid to apply the pesticides.
"We also found that there is no proper storage place for keeping the pesticides. Sometimes it is kept in the same storeroom with tools and food.
"Empty pesticide containers are being disposed of at random even though there are proper places that have been designated for them," he said.
Given the above situation, Mohideen urged the authorities to:
* Regularly conduct tests on food items in the market for pesticide levels;
* Publicise the results so that consumers can avoid the food items that were found to contain pesticides;
* Strictly enforce the Sixteenth Schedule (Regulation 41) of the Food Regulation 1985;
* Enforce and monitor good farming practices;
* Conduct education programme for farmers to educate them on the hazards of pesticide use; and
* shift from industrial agriculture based on high use pesticide to organic agriculture.
Meanwhile, Mohideen advised consumers to demand for better food production practices through their power of consumption.
"Where CAP is concerned, we are encouraging and educating consumers to grow their own organic vegetables," he said.

Joe Mahmood

The total amount for the consultation and checkup. 16/1/25 will collect the medical examination result...

testerjp

I went to Malaysia to see a specialist and dentist last year.

The dentist is really good and worth the money, but if you have complicated issues that require several visits to complete and follow up, it might not be the best option.

The specialist I went to, I've mixed opinion.
He is a famous guy and is very friendly. The cost is about sgd100 a visit. One of the cheaper ones and is an old guy in around late 50s
He did investigated clearly and goes step by step, but his information is like very youtuber level knowledge which you sometimes don't think it is very professional.

He keeps talking about his success case but given his length of time in service, it is also not really that amazing. He keeps giving very high hope but in the end did not produce any results. He is a slick talker but if you ask back for more details, he can't explain properly or sounds like gaslighting. The nurses are very blur and always give the wrong dose. 3 pill per day for 5 days, can answer 14 two times. You got to carefully check your medicine, they have an unreliable system.

Sometimes you just feel like he just want to earn your money and ask you to keep coming back, even when he is incapable of treating. You don't have to book an appointment, you just walk in. So this famous doctor also don't have as much customers as doctors in Singapore, because locals can't afford the services.

Since the intention is for treatment, time is crucial. We wasted more than six months in the end. He don't encourage more high end treatments, because he think can try with the basic. The singapore doctors were on the other hand urging us to do advance treatments ASAP. But I think is his clinic don't have the necessary equipment or he don't have the required expertise.

The doctors in Singapore, are very straight to the face and give you very clear answers. They tell you based on the statistics they see, they recommend this and that. The lacking part is it is like a factory and you have no idea what is going on, some of them feel very cold. To be fair, the singapore doctors also can't fully solve the problem, but at least they prevented a life threatening issue.

If you really intend to go to Malaysia for treatment. Be aware that they may not have the same standards or well facilitated like in Singapore.

If you have serious issues, I will think twice. Maybe go for the bigger hospitals with better equipment. But those won't be cheap. I only heard that they have good heart surgeons because Malaysia has alot of heart issues from their extremely unhealthy food.

SantyBalls

I went to Malaysia to see a specialist and dentist last year.

The dentist is really good and worth the money, but if you have complicated issues that require several visits to complete and follow up, it might not be the best option.

The specialist I went to, I've mixed opinion.
He is a famous guy and is very friendly. The cost is about sgd100 a visit. One of the cheaper ones and is an old guy in around late 50s
He did investigate clearly and goes step by step, but his information is like very youtuber level knowledge which you sometimes don't think it is very professional.

He keeps talking about his success case but given his length of time in service, it is also not really that amazing. He keeps giving very high hope but in the end did not produce any results. He is a slick talker but if you ask back for more details, he can't explain properly or sounds like gaslighting. The nurses are very blur and always give the wrong dose. 3 pill per day for 5 days, can answer 14 two times. You got to carefully check your medicine, they have an unreliable system.

Sometimes you just feel like he just want to earn your money and ask you to keep coming back, even when he is incapable of treating. You don't have to book an appointment, you just walk in. So this famous doctor also don't have as much customers as doctors in Singapore, because locals can't afford the services.

Since the intention is for treatment, time is crucial. We wasted more than six months in the end. He don't encourage more high end treatments, because he think can try with the basic. But I think is his clinic don't have the necessary equipment or he don't have the required expertise.

The doctors in Singapore, are very straight to the face and give you very clear answers. They tell you based on the statistics they see, they recommend this and that. The lacking part is it is like a factory and you have no idea what is going on, some of them feel very cold. To be fair, the singapore doctors also can't fully solve the problem, but at least they prevented a life threatening issue.

If you really intend to go to Malaysia for treatment. Be aware that they may not have the same standards or well facilitated like in Singapore.

If you have serious issues, I will think twice. Maybe go for the bigger hospitals with better equipment. But those won't be cheap. I only heard that they have good heart surgeons because Malaysia has alot of heart issues from their extremely unhealthy food.
Fren accident broke leg in jb sent to jb hospital. Doctor dunno wat to do, learn from our govt keep monitoring and observing even tho leg swollen af.

Keep observing for days n refuse to discharge patient even don't know what to do.

Had to ownself arrange private medical transport across custom, ask em park downstairs and sneak themselves out of the hospital.

Once reach sg, they straight away arrange operation room. Doctor didnt even ask patient consent. Just say her options are either surgery or amputation.

Capitalist

It's around Sutera Mall, ah shui durian, paradigm and many more delights which the locals prefer to hang out.

But I guess, most Singaporeans only prefer to stay at Ksl, mid valley, city square
Nay.

I prefer Permas Jaya, Tebrau, Mt. Austin.

Joe Mahmood

All the best for the results.
PAP smear test result on 16/1/25. Thanks.

The specialist also check her kidney and its normal

The Chinese Medical specialist found out that the Fibriods has grown in size. From the last medical examination done in SG it was about 3 cm I think. Now about 7 cm and recommended a surgery. If surgery we can do that in SG because there is medical insurance covered by my wife's company. Its a minor day surgery.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.