Anyone here have plans to migrate?

kuma-mon

Same climate, nearest to SG and with citizens about the same with SG but with different politics. If you like the politics and the administration there, it is a good choice.

I think most of us here wanna migrate there because of 1:3
Not because of politics and administration lol
Their politics more corrupted btw

datbac2

I have lived in 4 other countries and in 2020 came back to Singapore.

If I get the opportunity to leave again, I have decided I will not come back.

Singapore really sucks, there really is nothing Singapore offers that any other global city cannot.

Safety - I felt as safe anytime in those other cities as I did in Singapore

Cleanliness - Singapore isnt really that clean. Cleaner than US/French cities but not UK, Korea,Tokyo. For example, every HDB void deck is full of cockroaches... How can you say this is a clean city.

Career prospects - Really, if you can get good job in Singapore, you can get good job anywhere. And if you cannot, you probably can get a good job somewhere else since less competition

Education - Our education system destroys all creativity. I don't want my kids to go through it

Cost - Really damn expensive, other countries supermarket I struggle to spend EUR30 for 1 week worth of food (think 10 Belgium waffles 1.5 EUR) in one of the more expensive European cities. Singapore NTUC anyhow buy some small things also come up $50/60 plus.

Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.

People that say Singapore is good have never really seen the world. Or maybe only via holidays/study.
Unless, you are those type that gov give you free education and easy job for life, you say SG in great, I give it to you.

The best thing about Sg, can go out in the middle of the night in pt kit find food. No need wear long pants/put on jacket. And that my friends and family are here but really can just fly back every 6-12 months see them anyway.

Smtsai

I lose hope in this country liao, i can just feel people are generally unhappy here

It doesnt feel like home anymore, feels more like a business

It's obvious that there's two systems in place, one for FT one for citizens

I dont want my future sons to sacrifice and protect the country that doesnt protect the interest of its own citizens

Good luck to those who are planning to live here for your entire life
If u can just go ur kids will thank you , this country ever since covid happened has changed drastically. Judging by the way things are going the people over here will be used as testing objects for Big Pharma in time to come with all investment in such companies with or without pandemic .

miketay90

Im also old, but i think still got chance. Im lucky that my skillset is in demand everywhere. This gives me the opportunity to travel and work elsewhere
employer sponsored visa? or skillselect?

you majored in computer engineering?

RedOrion

Another reason to migrate would be for my kids. Here, they squeeze everyone through the cookie cutter to be someone useful for the gahmen or elites. Anything else just falls through the net to struggle their lives as some worker drone to prop up economy.

kuma-mon

Singapore really sucks, there really is nothing Singapore offers that any other global city cannot.

Cleanliness - Singapore isnt really that clean. Cleaner than US/French cities but not UK, Korea,Tokyo. For example, every HDB void deck is full of cockroaches... How can you say this is a clean city.

Career prospects - Really, if you can get good job in Singapore, you can get good job anywhere. And if you cannot, you probably can get a good job somewhere else since less competition

Education - Our education system destroys all creativity. I don't want my kids to go through it

Cost - Really damn expensive, other countries supermarket I struggle to spend EUR30 for 1 week worth of food (think 10 Belgium waffles 1.5 EUR) in one of the more expensive European cities. Singapore NTUC anyhow buy some small things also come up $50/60 plus.

Tax - The moment you buy a car, your monthly income that goes to gov becomes similar to that of European cites. Plus, over there, give gov money, they use to take care of people. Here give gov money, they use to fund a useless SAF, pay themselves, design stupid policy, build overly expensive infrastructure... Just think, 100 billion in covid spending is 40K per citizen, I got 1.2k, where the other 38.8k go? No one knows - definitely not to healthcare infrastructure.

People that say Singapore is good have never really seen the world. Or maybe only via holidays/study.
Unless, you are those type that gov give you free education and easy job for life, you say SG in great, I give it to you.

The best thing about Sg, can go out in the middle of the night in pt kit find food. No need wear long pants/put on jacket. And that my friends and family are here but really can just fly back every 6-12 months see them anyway.

You have pointed out everything that i wanna say but for me the deal breaker is NS and FT.

I have sacrificed so much for the country but I still feel like 2nd class citizen. I dont want this to happen to my future sons.

Every sinkie male has to go through 2 years + 10 years of their life to protect the country but gahmen just neglected our efforts and protect FT interest instead. Our country has been overrun by FT, and there's no reason to protect this country anymore.

amransan

I lose hope in this country liao, i can just feel people are generally unhappy here

I dont want my future sons to sacrifice and protect the country that doesnt protect the interest of its own citizens

Bro don’t give up on this migration idea!!!!

my humble advice apply for PR asap secure the PR then later u can look out for job. And only move when U secured a job in Australia.

meanwhile safe money and do research where to live in Australia 🇦🇺

kuma-mon

ooh how did you start off? am thinking of switching careers.

i cant make it for my major unfortunately...too competitive for skillselect.

are u thinking of skillselect or employer sponsored visa?

I have been in IT since young, enter IT course in poly and comp sci in uni.

But for you its possible to switch to IT career, i have seen many switching careers to IT. You can go to bootcamp schools (one example is general assembly) and start interning in tech companies to start your exposure

Amamiya

Just try. No harm because your children can get more exposure and when they grow up, they still can choose to come back if they want to. At least, give them an opportunity instead of being stuck under the well in their entire lives.

kuma-mon

Bro don’t give up on this migration idea!!!!

my humble advice apply for PR asap secure the PR then later u can look out for job. And only move when U secured a job in Australia.

meanwhile safe money and do research where to live in Australia 🇦🇺

I am planning to apply a job first in Australia and work there on work visa
Then along the way apply for PR

I dont think u can apply for PR without any working experience in Australia right?

miketay90

I have been in IT since young, enter IT course in poly and comp sci in uni.

But for you its possible to switch to IT career, i have seen many switching careers to IT. You can go to bootcamp schools (one example is general assembly) and start interning in tech companies to start your exposure
how long do you think one needs? is just 1 bootcamp sufficient? (doesnt seem so)

LoUsyGamER

Difficult to get in if you are no longer young & dangerous ...or studying or employed by a company based there. Last option is financial flex , investment route to get in which not many can.
Agree. More difficult to get in. $10m for the safest investor visa route. $3m needs to pass their test.

kuma-mon

how long do you think one needs? is just 1 bootcamp sufficient? (doesnt seem so)

Depends on how fast u can learn.

Bootcamp schools are very fast paced, they squeeze everything in 4-5 months.
But u can try again if u have trouble trying to understand programming fundamentals
Once u are ready, can apply for internship and learn somemore to get exposure in IT industry

Dont worry u will be given many chances to learn
I respect people like u who are giving their best to switch to IT career.
Its not easy but definitely not impossible

crazycow

Then why u came back?

amransan

I am planning to apply a job first in Australia and work there on work visa
Then on the way apply for PR

I dont think u can apply for PR without any working experience in Australia right?
Bro as long u your skill point is enough u can apply for PR.
Go to Australia migration in sg website and do their free assessment.

my wife is a nurse she apply PR 1st before looking for a job in Australia bro.

and if I already got the PR company like it more then u don’t have any.
Example person and got the skill set as u the only difference is that u don’t have PR but person A got PR.
Which one is got higher chance?

mazatsushi

You might want to PM @fishbuff, @amransan or @SGMale to get general advice on how to make the jump.
Australia probably has the least barriers in terms of language and promixity.

But whatever you decide, always make sure that you are supposed to fully own and follow through with your decision. Never rely on others like this other poster who replied to me in another thread weeks back.

bro im still trying to see what i can do, I went to do brief online consultation and simply dont have enough points because of no previous experience in oz. Don't be fooled by those telling you its easy. not unless you study or work there before

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.