anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

Wintermaul

Hi anyone of you still having problems logging into the DLS? I tried many times with or without the 'S' and even emailed the person in charge, but they dont seem to be giving me a reply.

vincentchean

u ppl when go in ?
tried login into www.rmit.edu.au ??

not learning hub.

if u can login to rmit but not learning hub then email that guy tell him ur couse starting soon need him do the thingy.

i also emailed him then can enter learning hub if not i can't get in also.

but usually 1-2weeks before course start then u'll be able to enter the system

radioshack

i have heard some ppl say business courses are risky as it is too general, unlike in IT or engineering where you can apply? i am afraid i can't find a job if i take a business course

chemz

up till today u still can't make a decision which and what to study?

Wintermaul

u ppl when go in ?
tried login into www.rmit.edu.au ??

not learning hub.

if u can login to rmit but not learning hub then email that guy tell him ur couse starting soon need him do the thingy.

i also emailed him then can enter learning hub if not i can't get in also.

but usually 1-2weeks before course start then u'll be able to enter the system

I tried after your suggestion and realised that I can log into the RMIT website but not the DLS. Sigh... think I have to wait for the person i/c to get back to me then... haiix.. some more I read from the Student Portal that the DLS will be down from 27 Dec 07 to 31 Dec 07. :sad:

i have heard some ppl say business courses are risky as it is too general, unlike in IT or engineering where you can apply? i am afraid i can't find a job if i take a business course

It really depends if you want to further your studies beyond Bachelor's. If you are not planning to take up Masters and above, you might want to consider a more specific degree rather than General Business. As this helps your career to take shape. Likewise I did a Diploma in General Business and realise the value of the Diploma is not as good as the ones like Marketing which is more specific and focused.

However, if you decide to plan ahead and take Masters, then your basic Bachelor's Degree does not make much of a difference be it a generic course or a specific course. As Masters is built on your work experience.

Thus, it depends a lot on what you wish to do in future.

bigass

we gotta print out the lect notes ourselves rite? if login rmit website can do wat?
i believe the DLS is the eventual place we shld go

jacqqq

i think every course is the same.......sure got their own area/field...

anyway when u go out work , alot of things is learn on job one....not really close to what u have studied =p......

vincentchean

i think every course is the same.......sure got their own area/field...

anyway when u go out work , alot of things is learn on job one....not really close to what u have studied =p......

yeah.

actually as long as u got biz bachelor can liao
no matter which field

alot of my frens just wonder into other biz fields hahah

vincentchean

guys u think getting the text book for financial markets, macroecon1, prices n markets important ? or optional ???

i mean need the books to get distinction for onli meant for reference ?

joelhuang

it really depends. like i said earlier on, if you're just looking to get a degree, the textbook MIGHT not be a must. if you're looking for distinctions, then probably by sem 4 u'll realise how useful the textbook will be.

my friends used to be doing without the textbooks while i used it, and this sem i did better than most of them(except for that RJ friend; i didnt get to ask him). their conclusion is that they're all going to get the txtbks as well, not because of the difference in our results, but because sem 5 was a warning for us that things arent going to be easy from now, and having come thus far, we all want our degree with distinction.

if you've no background in biz finance or risk mgmt, or arent strong in it, please get the textbooks. i've seen ppl who failed these 2 subjects. (though it might be too early to tell u this, as you're a yr 1 student, but just fyi.)

edit: FWIW, you might try attending the first week's lecture by the rmit lecturer, if by then you can understand and are able to answer like 95% of the tutorial questions up to where they stopped, you should be fine without the textbook. (considering that the first week is usually the simplest and the fundamental topics, 95% isn't too much to ask for.)

jacqqq

haha suddenly so many rmit students here liao...

u all taking part time or full time? and what course are u guys taking?

kazuki666

either i print myself or save the whole files and go to printing shop. Got one shop charge 3cts/pcs @ peace center. not bad:s12:

thats quite cheap.
Can give more exact address???

if not, print in office lor.:D

bigass

peace center got alot of printing shop leh. anione is almost the same. aniway u print more, i tink its more cheaper. btw can login e-learning. i going to print it later

vincentchean

notes are out, ready for print, im going down to sim to do some admin stuff and print them out. for those who've been waiting, this is the only 1 day to do it before the system is down from 27th till 31st.

sim got free print meh ??

where where i want go ~~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.