anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

Jarlaxle

I do agree that there are some minor cock up since they decided to release the results on the rmit website.

For my case, on the subject marcoeconomics, some of us all recieve the grade of P for the subject on Dec 4 Thurs, when most of us score HD for our test which is already 40%, that means just require less than 20m to pass to the exams. This means that we all had fail the major paper. :( which is quite impossible.

I almost appeal for my result until my classmate told me there are change of result on DEC 5 Fri. Do check if they update the results again in the rmit website.

P/S: Realise that law subject had quite a number of casualties...any seniors who manage to survive law subject care to advise? Got finanical law next semester to clear...

finance law is easier than comm law
so i dun tink u will have much issues
furthermore, theres already a foundation

the test can be quite hard... 3 short qns for 20 marks i tink
i did the exam without using the latest textbook and i tink it didnt matter lah
juz make sure u print case studies or notices from MAS website
its better than using the textbook.

i remembered 1 qn actually extracted a short statement from MAS and asked me to interpret or something...
lol, i had that printed out... so its kinda easy for that qn

sherone

:)

Yeah, it is gd to know where you went wrong.

Next time if you have any qns, perhaps you can post it here.
I am sure all those who knows the ans, will help you de.. :D

;)

But the problem with RMIT side is that they dun allow students to review their test papers! Which i have clarified with SIM coordinator. They explained that reviewing of class test is not within RMIT's policy. Hence, no chance in knowing where we went wrong.

Besides, i feel that the reviewing of grades is just to see if there is any calculation errors.

*sigh* i really begin to think that RMIT is not good, in terms of administration procedures and educational assistance.

really didnt expect to fail my comm law, as i should have an adequate understanding of the subject.

The irritating part is arthur poh promised to help us comment on our revision of past year papers. I emailed him 2 weeks before the comm law exam. He didnt even bother to reply me! How irresponsible of him for not honoring his promise!

Jazlyn10

Hi sherone,

I have just send you a pm as I don’t think it is alright to post it here.
:)

lunarpixie

But the problem with RMIT side is that they dun allow students to review their test papers! Which i have clarified with SIM coordinator. They explained that reviewing of class test is not within RMIT's policy. Hence, no chance in knowing where we went wrong.

Besides, i feel that the reviewing of grades is just to see if there is any calculation errors.

*sigh* i really begin to think that RMIT is not good, in terms of administration procedures and educational assistance.

really didnt expect to fail my comm law, as i should have an adequate understanding of the subject.

The irritating part is arthur poh promised to help us comment on our revision of past year papers. I emailed him 2 weeks before the comm law exam. He didnt even bother to reply me! How irresponsible of him for not honoring his promise!

Yea... same here. I sent him my attempted tutorial answers 2 weeks before and he no reply. Perhaps he is bombarded with emails? Afterall, they are part time lecturers and maybe they are not even treated professionally by SIM as compared to full time lecturers in places like SMU or Kaplan business schools.

My advise is to attempt many past year papers, and if you have friends in senior semesters, perhaps you can seek help from them, get their notes and model answers as reference.

By the way, are you purely studying or working as well?

TranzX

Well... I wonder who Sherone and Jazlyn10 was.

Both of you are from the 44th intake?

I think i know why i failed accounting, think should be the theory part which that Balwat Singh, said this and this will come out, but end out, never.. the most critical theory came.

And eventually, I was shot dead.

Comms law by Arther Poh (funny lecturer). Wow... still remember after the class test, he asked the class who is the one who wrote in pencil, i wanted to admit but i am unsure if i am using pencil.

Then he shouted: "Coward!!!" I was like... damn.. :s27:

No wonder, his Toyota Altis will get bang by people from the back. Orbi good~

Also before exam, i emailed him to ask some real-life qns similar to what we have learnt in class, until now, there's no reply from him. :s11:

Exam... got shot again. scored 36, NN, passed test, failed exam.. So pathetic...

OB -> Passed individual and group projects, exam... funny.. the BMW case study I never do, also will passed. 54, PA. :s13:

sherone

Yea... same here. I sent him my attempted tutorial answers 2 weeks before and he no reply. Perhaps he is bombarded with emails? Afterall, they are part time lecturers and maybe they are not even treated professionally by SIM as compared to full time lecturers in places like SMU or Kaplan business schools.

My advise is to attempt many past year papers, and if you have friends in senior semesters, perhaps you can seek help from them, get their notes and model answers as reference.

By the way, are you purely studying or working as well?

I do not have any seniors that i could sought help from.... =(

Students taking a part-time degree.... *lolz* generally are working full-time?
I tried the past year exam papers but if there are no answers to the questions, your efforts are futile, yah.

Thanks for your advice, really appreciate that lunarpixie =p!

sherone

Well... I wonder who Sherone and Jazlyn10 was.

Both of you are from the 44th intake?

I think i know why i failed accounting, think should be the theory part which that Balwat Singh, said this and this will come out, but end out, never.. the most critical theory came.

And eventually, I was shot dead.

Comms law by Arther Poh (funny lecturer). Wow... still remember after the class test, he asked the class who is the one who wrote in pencil, i wanted to admit but i am unsure if i am using pencil.

Then he shouted: "Coward!!!" I was like... damn.. :s27:

No wonder, his Toyota Altis will get bang by people from the back. Orbi good~

Also before exam, i emailed him to ask some real-life qns similar to what we have learnt in class, until now, there's no reply from him. :s11:

Exam... got shot again. scored 36, NN, passed test, failed exam.. So pathetic...

OB -> Passed individual and group projects, exam... funny.. the BMW case study I never do, also will passed. 54, PA. :s13:

Hi Tranz, I am from the 44th intake, Jazlyn10 is our senior should be from 42nd intake bah.

Frankly, do not take his comments to heart, I hardly!

I passed my IA and OB just that my comm law failed by 5 marks... geez

sherone

Hi there, does anyone have any idea when will SEM 2 booklist for Jan 2009 be out in the student's portal?

daphnetanlm

For those taking HMT next sem or future sems, remember to get tips from the part time students!! Those tips will come out during exams!! :)

lunarpixie

Hi there, does anyone have any idea when will SEM 2 booklist for Jan 2009 be out in the student's portal?

Dear Sherone,
booklist out le, can go check portal. Updated as of 19th dec.

PS. The HMT book seems different huh....Oh no....:s27:

Toons

For new students, just 2 suggestions from personal experience.

1. Dun rely on the tips from the local lecturers. They are not the ones setting the papers and in many cases, they did not even see the paper. If you like, you can spend more time on those topics which they highlighted, but do not neglect the rest which they say unlikely to come out.

2. In the course guide, relevant chapters in the textbook will be indicated. Study those chapters, even if the notes did not cover the chapters completely. Especially true if the notes are prepared by local lecturers. You are expected to know what is covered in the relevant chapters of the text even if the local lecturers did not cover them in class.

Jazlyn10

I tried the past year exam papers but if there are no answers to the questions, your efforts are futile, yah.

Thanks for your advice, really appreciate that lunarpixie =p!

I have got some guide for answering of the past yr exam paper.
But not model answer. Just some guide.. Not sure whether did i give to the person who i sold my law book too..

If you want, i can help you search for it.
Let me know ya.

Hi Tranz, I am from the 44th intake, Jazlyn10 is our senior should be from 42nd intake bah.

yeah!~ 42nd intake. :)

lunarpixie

For new students, just 2 suggestions from personal experience.

1. Dun rely on the tips from the local lecturers. They are not the ones setting the papers and in many cases, they did not even see the paper. If you like, you can spend more time on those topics which they highlighted, but do not neglect the rest which they say unlikely to come out.

2. In the course guide, relevant chapters in the textbook will be indicated. Study those chapters, even if the notes did not cover the chapters completely. Especially true if the notes are prepared by local lecturers. You are expected to know what is covered in the relevant chapters of the text even if the local lecturers did not cover them in class.

Yea... I agree. Their tips nt very accurate one.... Haiz...:(

allanzzz

usually 45 means fail exam paper even though may overall pass with project, very sian one

sherone

I have got some guide for answering of the past yr exam paper.
But not model answer. Just some guide.. Not sure whether did i give to the person who i sold my law book too..

If you want, i can help you search for it.
Let me know ya.

yeah!~ 42nd intake. :)

Hi Jazlyn10..... thanks for ya help. No need lah, it will be too troublesome for you. =)

ragtop

I referenced ACCA's business law sample questions and answers on answering techniques. Be glad to send you if you are interested.

vivelle

i received my results on 4 dec 2008 and it states that i am awarded with only 29 marks(NN) for one of the subject. This is ridiculous as my individual and group assignments added up to 29 as well. i believe that my examination results was not credited into the overall score.

i checked out the appeal details on portal and SIM had conveniently arrowed to RMIT Australia, asking students to email the australian course coordinator and to cc singapore course coordinator in the email.
I did so on 4 dec 2008(and even attach printscreens of my results) and up to date, i had not received any reply from them despite me sending a reminder email on 8.12.2008.

As stated in portal,we were told to email to the australian course coordinator within 5 days and should we be unhappy with the appeal feedback, we can lodge a formal appeal within the next 20 days.

i gave SIM Singapore a call this morning and this is their reply:"you should email them within 5 days, but it doesnt mean that they will reply you within that 5 days!"

THIS IS SO FUSTRATING! i could just give her a slap if i were present at that time.i guess all part time students will understand how i feel....all the time, efforts, unpaid leave that we sacrificed,all for our studies.

well there is nothing much that i can do now, except to WAIT. or no i should kick up a fuss really soon at SIM

hiya...finally i got my feeback from my RMIT course coordinator yesterday(after 26 days). He admitted that there was an error in the addition of marks and had passed me.Though i am really disappointed with RMIT, i am glad that the trauma is over! Hurray to my last sem ahead !:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.