anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

terraj

chemz said:
no i did not bother applying to their hons programme, wht's the pt if i can undertake a masters programme for 1.5-2yrs? it doesnt make sense to spend roughly the same amt of $$ for a hons degree if i can go ahead and complete with a masters.
btw i applied to finance masters(not mbas) @ rmit, unimelb, anu.
ANU and Unimelb would have been one of my considerations if not for the fact that it takes 2 years to complete the degree. Usyd takes only 1.5 years. I also applied to the applied finance masters at Macquarie university but because they took so long in getting back to me I ended up accepting Usyd. Just 2 weeks before I was due to leave for Australia Macquaire Uni sent me an acceptance letter but it was too late lol. It's a pity because the masters degree would have taken only 1 year, albeit a very intensive one year.

jacqqq

chemz said:
and on that basis, local grads already have an edge over DL-grads. which is why all the more you should grab every opportunity to further your value. unless of course you've got a good job offer waiting.

but u study too much end up no job exp nobody want to hire u also mah right haha

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
but u study too much end up no job exp nobody want to hire u also mah right haha

study part time lor. coz now degree is really u throw 1 stone also can hit a degree holder lor. :p
So its either your degree is "branded" or u have higher level than them lor.:p
coz if want to do mba or something similar i think u need some gd working exp also.

Btw, u are doing the rmit biz mgt part time or fulltime?

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
study part time lor. coz now degree is really u throw 1 stone also can hit a degree holder lor. :p
So its either your degree is "branded" or u have higher level than them lor.:p
coz if want to do mba or something similar i think u need some gd working exp also.

Btw, u are doing the rmit biz mgt part time or fulltime?

confirm go for part time...

full time too waste time liao......

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
confirm go for part time...

full time too waste time liao......
then it doesnt matter if u also do a part time masters or mba later mah. :D

But of course different ppl different ideas lah. Some companies really dun see the weightage on that.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
then it doesnt matter if u also do a part time masters or mba later mah. :D

But of course different ppl different ideas lah. Some companies really dun see the weightage on that.

dun think will do mba or so lah.

most likely will focus more on working liao instead.........i not that ambitious one...so forget about mba ba......

anyway back to your course , 1 week conduct how many times? 7 to 10pm ?

so far how are u doing projects with those hokkien ah beng? haha......

how many % are actually working adults?

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
dun think will do mba or so lah.

most likely will focus more on working liao instead.........i not that ambitious one...so forget about mba ba......

anyway back to your course , 1 week conduct how many times? 7 to 10pm ?

so far how are u doing projects with those hokkien ah beng? haha......

how many % are actually working adults?

So far from what i seen in their scheules every sem, there is 3 modules each sem. Not all modules have projects wan.

For eg, this sem out of my 3 modules, only 1 has project

This is how the weightage goes:

Commercial Law:
Test - 20%
Exam - 80% (Open Book)

Organisational Behaviour:
Individual Project - 25%
Group Project - 35%
Exam - 40%

Intro to Accounting:
Test - 20%
Exam - 80%
(if test fails, then will take 100% from exam)

ok, but from what i know, my next sem, there is a special module to be held during the holidays. Which makes it 3+1 modules...

I am not that crazy to join an ah beng grp leh. (though my hokkien also not bad wan) :s13:

My grp is not bad. But whenever u do grp project, there is always the differences in ideas and wordings btn members... Thats the -tve part, the +tve part is that research load can share.
Whereas the individual project, the +tve part is that u can chio midnight oil to finish writing the report, which is impossible for grp report...

% of working adults wise...
I think most of the students are working bah. At least most of them look mature enough.:p
But then, why would jc graduates want to do a part-time degree? And, i am not sure if they can do part time or not also...

Natsairda

test 20%(optional)
exam 80%

izzit every test optional if take but failed,then final exams will not count the test and will count as 100%?

kazuki666

Natsairda said:
test 20%(optional)
exam 80%

izzit every test optional if take but failed,then final exams will not count the test and will count as 100%?

No. But its compulsory to take all the tests even if u know u die die will flunk it.

For my case, only the accounting module has the special arrangement for the test to be optional. But condition is that u still must take the test. If u dun take test, they will take only 80% from your exams. So even if u think u will fail your test, go there sleep lor. But must rem to work hard for the exam to make back lah.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
So far from what i seen in their scheules every sem, there is 3 modules each sem. Not all modules have projects wan.

For eg, this sem out of my 3 modules, only 1 has project

This is how the weightage goes:

Commercial Law:
Test - 20%
Exam - 80% (Open Book)

Organisational Behaviour:
Individual Project - 25%
Group Project - 35%
Exam - 40%

Intro to Accounting:
Test - 20%
Exam - 80%
(if test fails, then will take 100% from exam)

ok, but from what i know, my next sem, there is a special module to be held during the holidays. Which makes it 3+1 modules...

I am not that crazy to join an ah beng grp leh. (though my hokkien also not bad wan) :s13:

My grp is not bad. But whenever u do grp project, there is always the differences in ideas and wordings btn members... Thats the -tve part, the +tve part is that research load can share.
Whereas the individual project, the +tve part is that u can chio midnight oil to finish writing the report, which is impossible for grp report...

% of working adults wise...
I think most of the students are working bah. At least most of them look mature enough.:p
But then, why would jc graduates want to do a part-time degree? And, i am not sure if they can do part time or not also...

ohhh icic.....

those hokkien ah beng also working ah? i thought they are still kids haha........

so hows your group? all working adults right? normally how u all meet up for project discussion? stay back awhile to discuss after lesson?

hows the class ratio? got alot of pretty girls for u or not? haha...

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
ohhh icic.....

those hokkien ah beng also working ah? i thought they are still kids haha........

so hows your group? all working adults right? normally how u all meet up for project discussion? stay back awhile to discuss after lesson?

hows the class ratio? got alot of pretty girls for u or not? haha...

now hokkien ah beng abit different from those hokkien ah beng from my era mah:p
They seem like working to me as well, they always came to classes in working attire...

my grp, i say not bad lah. It was a very gd exp. Coz different ppl different character. So u have to work it out when and how to give and take.
But coz maybe i am less interactive and usually more shy so its hard for me to mix ard outside my grp lor... :(

what kinda class ratio are u referring to???

pretty gals... :D Where got a class dun have a few cute gals wan. Have is have lah, but they where got look at such a duh guy like me... :s13:

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
now hokkien ah beng abit different from those hokkien ah beng from my era mah:p
They seem like working to me as well, they always came to classes in working attire...

my grp, i say not bad lah. It was a very gd exp. Coz different ppl different character. So u have to work it out when and how to give and take.
But coz maybe i am less interactive and usually more shy so its hard for me to mix ard outside my grp lor... :(

what kinda class ratio are u referring to???

pretty gals... :D Where got a class dun have a few cute gals wan. Have is have lah, but they where got look at such a duh guy like me... :s13:

haha chey i thought those hokkien beng u refer to is during my era time one hahaha........

how u all meet up for project dicussion? msn? meet after work / weekends?

haha have is have but whats the ratio? 3 girl to 1 guy kind? or 50 50 only? haha.....

the age group i guess is around 20 to 30 right? got those aunties or uncles one? hahah

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
haha chey i thought those hokkien beng u refer to is during my era time one hahaha........

how u all meet up for project dicussion? msn? meet after work / weekends?

haha have is have but whats the ratio? 3 girl to 1 guy kind? or 50 50 only? haha.....

the age group i guess is around 20 to 30 right? got those aunties or uncles one? hahah

Your era??? U sound younger than me though, like early 20s.:D
My era ah beng is those whom had seen modified blinking ericsson hp which ring at a vol as if u are deaf.

grp project discussion, that was the biggest headache imo. We met up abt 3-4 times after classes. So basically it was like 10pm all the way til 1-2am... :(
Strange enough, dunno why they never really wanted to meet up on wkends though... :s11:

ratio of sexes...
hmm....
I think slightly more females bah, afterall its a biz degree. But i might be wrong, coz i always sat in the front, so i can hardly see whats happening at the back. :s13:

As for age grp, there are those even in early early 20s all to way to 30s. I dun think there might be anyone not working wan. Maybe a small no like 2-3. Coz i notice there was always this guy coming in berms and cardigan. I assume he not working bah..

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
Your era??? U sound younger than me though, like early 20s.:D
My era ah beng is those whom had seen modified blinking ericsson hp which ring at a vol as if u are deaf.

grp project discussion, that was the biggest headache imo. We met up abt 3-4 times after classes. So basically it was like 10pm all the way til 1-2am... :(
Strange enough, dunno why they never really wanted to meet up on wkends though... :s11:

ratio of sexes...
hmm....
I think slightly more females bah, afterall its a biz degree. But i might be wrong, coz i always sat in the front, so i can hardly see whats happening at the back. :s13:

As for age grp, there are those even in early early 20s all to way to 30s. I dun think there might be anyone not working wan. Maybe a small no like 2-3. Coz i notice there was always this guy coming in berms and cardigan. I assume he not working bah..

haha why u always sit in front? never go sit middle find a good spot to beo girls? hahah.....

wah discuss project till 1-2am? u all next day no need to work one ah?

starting how u find your group one? when u go there alone dunno anybody haha. lecturer group u all up one?

so overall your classmates are more of an mature crowd? got alot of foreign talents there mah? like those china/indians...etc.........

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
haha why u always sit in front? never go sit middle find a good spot to beo girls? hahah.....

wah discuss project till 1-2am? u all next day no need to work one ah?

starting how u find your group one? when u go there alone dunno anybody haha. lecturer group u all up one?

so overall your classmates are more of an mature crowd? got alot of foreign talents there mah? like those china/indians...etc.........

ugly lah, i mean me.:p So i dun want to go disturb gals also, wait ppl think i perverted how... :(

yah, 1-2am and is not only 1-2 times. What to do...

Ok, for the start, u can form your own grp wan. But cfm there are some(most of the times guys) whom didnt manage to form a grp and time is desperate. The lecturer will then tell these ppl to grp together, no choice liao lor.

As for grp, actually was quite paiseh.:p I started by asking some gals sitting in front of me. Coz my thinking is that a grp must consist of mixture of gals and guys then the thinkings and atmosphere will be balanced.:p But then they say they have grp le! Damn malu lor...

Then in the end i grp with those in the same row as me. But ok lah, they are nice ppl as well.

as for foreigners... I didnt really notice alot. To be exact i dun think i seen anything more than 5. But then there are ALOT in fulltime studies though. Some ppl say usually is those who cant get into the 3 big UNIs and rich foreign kids then will come sim wan...

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
ugly lah, i mean me.:p So i dun want to go disturb gals also, wait ppl think i perverted how... :(

yah, 1-2am and is not only 1-2 times. What to do...

Ok, for the start, u can form your own grp wan. But cfm there are some(most of the times guys) whom didnt manage to form a grp and time is desperate. The lecturer will then tell these ppl to grp together, no choice liao lor.

As for grp, actually was quite paiseh.:p I started by asking some gals sitting in front of me. Coz my thinking is that a grp must consist of mixture of gals and guys then the thinkings and atmosphere will be balanced.:p But then they say they have grp le! Damn malu lor...

Then in the end i grp with those in the same row as me. But ok lah, they are nice ppl as well.

as for foreigners... I didnt really notice alot. To be exact i dun think i seen anything more than 5. But then there are ALOT in fulltime studies though. Some ppl say usually is those who cant get into the 3 big UNIs and rich foreign kids then will come sim wan...

haha how u know full time studies alot? i thought u part time one?

where got such thing as a group must have mixture of gals and guys......haha u scare deprived of girls ah hehehe.........just kidding...........

then end up u group with all guys?

then u do project till 1-2am then u next day need to work right? wont up lorry during working meh?

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
haha how u know full time studies alot? i thought u part time one?

where got such thing as a group must have mixture of gals and guys......haha u scare deprived of girls ah hehehe.........just kidding...........

then end up u group with all guys?

then u do project till 1-2am then u next day need to work right? wont up lorry during working meh?

coz if go for tests and exams, all fulltime and part time students will gather and take at the same time and same venue wan.

My grp had a gal lah.
Really mah, i really believe must be mixed. Coz if all gals, the grp might be short of some tech info and a "slave driver".:p And if a grp is short of gal, it might be too roudy and work is less delicate...

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
coz if go for tests and exams, all fulltime and part time students will gather and take at the same time and same venue wan.

My grp had a gal lah.
Really mah, i really believe must be mixed. Coz if all gals, the grp might be short of some tech info and a "slave driver".:p And if a grp is short of gal, it might be too roudy and work is less delicate...

i see.

so hows the diffculties level of the modules u have taken so far? haha...

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
Cant gauge bah, coz i only just did 1sem...

haha roughly from your 1 sem experiences , can roughly tell me how difficult is those modules mah right? haha....

at least let me got an rough idea of it hehe.........

u currently working what job? after work rush over to SIM quite hectic hor....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.