anyone studying RMIT-SIM course?

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
actually, i do find it strange lah.

Imagine, they already have a pretty established uni there liaoz, no need to build everything from scratch again.

Of course, its only unisim themself in the lossing side. Coz if they are recognised as 4th, they will definitely have more intakes liaoz. gov will also help with tuition grant for the students.

unisim itself is target at those working adults mah. its different on how it operates from our 3 local uni like NUS NTU SMU right?

now they building a 4th uni which will operate like NUS NTU SMU kind. means u need good results to go in....unlike unisim different mah......

there is nothing strange mah........casue unisim aim was to provide education for working adults only.....

Kyoji83

For me, I do not think UniSIM is the same as SIM/PSB/MDIS/etc D/L Degree. With D/L degree from other Uni, I can work in other counties. But for UniSIM, they do not even hear before.

If you go to other county, ask your empolyer to look at Uk/AU Uni ranking & they can sure find your Uni name on the list.

For Sg, where got Sg Uni ranking? So, ask your empolyer to look at wedsite. MOE do not state UniSIM, so look at UniSIM wedsite. From their wedsite, UniSIm is not a Full-Fledged University & it look like an unable to trust Uni to them as it seen like anyone can buy the cert online. (So sorry if I offend anyone but just my view & my AU friend view)

jacqqq said:
unisim all along is not the 4th university what.......

nothing to be strange one lah.........

those good ones are like NUS NTU SMU degree.

to me RMIT/UOL/unisim all roughly same thing one haha...

jacqqq

Kyoji83 said:
For me, I do not think UniSIM is the same as SIM/PSB/MDIS/etc D/L Degree. With D/L degree from other Uni, I can work in other counties. But for UniSIM, they do not even hear before.

If you go to other county, ask your empolyer to look at Uk/AU Uni ranking & they can sure find your Uni name on the list.

For Sg, where got Sg Uni ranking? So, ask your empolyer to look at wedsite. MOE do not state UniSIM, so look at UniSIM wedsite. From their wedsite, UniSIm is not a Full-Fledged University & it look like an unable to trust Uni to them as it seen like anyone can buy the cert online. (So sorry if I offend anyone but just my view & my AU friend view)

although u go overseas , UOL/RMIT are much better.

but if u intend to work in SG , uniSIM degree is still quite ok.

if u take a look at uniSIM course structure i personally feel that its quite good...and its not easy to study also........

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
although u go overseas , UOL/RMIT are much better.

but if u intend to work in SG , uniSIM degree is still quite ok.

if u take a look at uniSIM course structure i personally feel that its quite good...and its not easy to study also........

no leh. even if work in sg, cfm uol wins rmit and unisim big time leh.
uol isnt big for nothing leh.

kazuki666

vincentchean said:
how u define win ?
hmm...

no offence, are u currently working???

Coz now outside, do u know that some civil sectors dun recognise rmit degree wan? and they openly welcome uol.

And of course the ranking. i am not even sure if rmit is ranked within top 100, and uol is defintely among i cant rem, top 30?
They are UOL LSE right?

If only i am more hardworking, i wouldnt have choose rmit. Coz i know uol will be way too tough and siong for me le...

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
hmm...

Coz now outside, do u know that some civil sectors dun recognise rmit degree wan? and they openly welcome uol.

And of course the ranking. i am not even sure if rmit is ranked within top 100, and uol is defintely among i cant rem, top 30?
They are UOL LSE right?

If only i am more hardworking, i wouldnt have choose rmit. Coz i know uol will be way too tough and siong for me le...

ya uol is abit harder and i think uol should be more recognised. heard people with uol degree got like 2k++ starting pay and above...etc.........

unisim is not easy also....judging from their standard..........

anyway back to rmit-sim topics , dun OT liao hahaah..........

so hows your rmit course? going smoothly? jia you good luck...

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
ya uol is abit harder and i think uol should be more recognised. heard people with uol degree got like 2k++ starting pay and above...etc.........

unisim is not easy also....judging from their standard..........

anyway back to rmit-sim topics , dun OT liao hahaah..........

so hows your rmit course? going smoothly? jia you good luck...

but then if unisim also not easy but less recognised, then not worth the money right. :s7:

k k, back to topic.
My rmit course? Waiting for exam results now lor, will be out on the 5 dec... really pray can move on smoothly. I dun ask for anything superb.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
but then if unisim also not easy but less recognised, then not worth the money right. :s7:

k k, back to topic.
My rmit course? Waiting for exam results now lor, will be out on the 5 dec... really pray can move on smoothly. I dun ask for anything superb.

aha can one lah sure pass one no worries...jia you...good luck bro.......

waiting for exam result time means no need go for lesson? rmit part time got holiday kind bo?
like after finish exam rest 1 month then start another sem?

kazuki666

jacqqq said:
aha can one lah sure pass one no worries...jia you...good luck bro.......

waiting for exam result time means no need go for lesson? rmit part time got holiday kind bo?
like after finish exam rest 1 month then start another sem?

aiyo, if can pass i really promise promise i will work hard next sem onwards lor. Revise every wk!

Basically now is no lessons lor. But i have no idea when will the next sem starts also. Thats what my boss is chasing me for as well. She doesnt seem to happy that i cant do OT for her 3 times in a wk... :s13:

I finished my papers abt 2wks ago, results out on the 5dec. Have to go back sim to register 1wk after that.
YAH, money again. All the sim membership fees, rmit registration blah blah. faintz...
But of course dun expect to do a degree with only an O levels lah.:p

Thats why i say, sim will accept ppl from all walks wan, u have the dough can liaoz.

Btw, next sem i think i might have a special intensive module during the vacation period. Heng only 1 module lor, or else really die sia...

chemz

kazuki666 said:
hmm...

They are UOL LSE right?

truth is, both arn't any better when you measure them to similar programmes offered by our local universities.

civil sectors tend to favour uol graduants because these applicants usually possess a 2nd upper hons or higher. sadly, sim-rmit programmes do not come with a hons classification.

in addition, uol is a highly academic form of undergrad study whereas rmit possesses a more pragmatic approach.

so it really depends on who the employer is and their demands.

jacqqq

kazuki666 said:
aiyo, if can pass i really promise promise i will work hard next sem onwards lor. Revise every wk!

Basically now is no lessons lor. But i have no idea when will the next sem starts also. Thats what my boss is chasing me for as well. She doesnt seem to happy that i cant do OT for her 3 times in a wk... :s13:

I finished my papers abt 2wks ago, results out on the 5dec. Have to go back sim to register 1wk after that.
YAH, money again. All the sim membership fees, rmit registration blah blah. faintz...
But of course dun expect to do a degree with only an O levels lah.:p

Thats why i say, sim will accept ppl from all walks wan, u have the dough can liaoz.

Btw, next sem i think i might have a special intensive module during the vacation period. Heng only 1 module lor, or else really die sia...

hahah u last sem never study hard enough issit? why say until like this? can pass one lah...relax....

ohh so the rmit part time got holiday one ah? haha....the holiday/vacation period is how long? 1 month? or 2 to 3 weeks nia...

jacqqq

chemz said:
truth is, both arn't any better when you measure them to similar programmes offered by our local universities.

civil sectors tend to favour uol graduants because these applicants usually possess a 2nd upper hons or higher. sadly, sim-rmit programmes do not come with a hons classification.

in addition, uol is a highly academic form of undergrad study whereas rmit possesses a more pragmatic approach.

so it really depends on who the employer is and their demands.

i think the UOL is harder to study that why credits are given to it haha..........

but then hor , i think judging from the unisim course structure and the way they conducting the lessons , i think its not that easy as well.....perhaps maybe slighly more harder than rmit one....haha...

funnydogboy

jacqqq said:
i think the UOL is harder to study that why credits are given to it haha..........

but then hor , i think judging from the unisim course structure and the way they conducting the lessons , i think its not that easy as well.....perhaps maybe slighly more harder than rmit one....haha...
how do you know?

i thought u r still doing NS?

vincentchean

jacqqq said:

yeah.
from ppl way of thinking
a) the harder the bettter.

b) uol how long the histroy, rmit how long of course more ppl rec uol

c) branded is always better. SG robinson might be same as UK robinson but in
ppl mind they still think UK robinson is better.

jacqqq

vincentchean said:
yeah.
from ppl way of thinking
a) the harder the bettter.

b) uol how long the histroy, rmit how long of course more ppl rec uol

c) branded is always better. SG robinson might be same as UK robinson but in
ppl mind they still think UK robinson is better.

hahah UOL LSE hor if u actually go to london to study and get the degree at LSE but not through external study , i think u come back sg.....steady liao haha.....

LSE i think is in the ivy league if i not wrong...

rainyjerk

jacqqq said:
hahah UOL LSE hor if u actually go to london to study and get the degree at LSE but not through external study , i think u come back sg.....steady liao haha.....

huh? LSE in lvy league? u sure?

LSE in London = UK

Ivy League in Northen US. member of the lvy league higher insitutions are;

Harvard University
Yale University
University of Pennsylvania
Princeton University
Columbia University
Brown University
Dartmouth College
Cornell University

rainyjerk

jacqqq said:

IMHO,

sometime is not the ranking that all matters, of coz the branding of the uni is important, esp if u grad from those reowned and prestige uni. but on general, most of the employers dun really care where u get your degree from (of coz not those wu lu ar la uni).Some of them actually look at the modules that you took to complete your course. how indepth are in ur knowledge in that particular field.

kazuki666

But u think lah. If u are the employer, there are 3 applicants for the 1 job offer u have. A rmit-sim, a unisim and an uol graduate. All 3 have almost the same working exp level, which one will u choose to hire?

Lets face it lah. Close 1 eye also know liaoz.
Branded means branded. I myself am doing a rmit-sim, but i am not going to be bias say they are all as gd. facts are facts, its reality.

rainyjerk

kazuki666 said:
But u think lah. If u are the employer, there are 3 applicants for the 1 job offer u have. A rmit-sim, a unisim and an uol graduate. All 3 have almost the same working exp level, which one will u choose to hire?

Lets face it lah. Close 1 eye also know liaoz.
Branded means branded. I myself am doing a rmit-sim, but i am not going to be bias say they are all as gd. facts are facts, its reality.

yup...branding is impt to a certain extend. no doubt abt it. i agree with u.
but sometime we cant just judge by the uni name.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.