Anyone trade full time?

wahkao3

alexchia01 wrote:

For Investing, make 10% return per year is quite good.

For Trading, make 10% return per year is bad.

For Trading, I'm expecting at least 100% return for a normal year.

I, myself is already targeting 250% return.

FYI, 2014 was a great year, my trading return was 500%.

warrent buffet only do around 23%. Alex Chia do 500%
no fight!
jin satki man!:eek:

felixleong

can set up HWZ hedge fund liao
so many pro traders here haha

I be CFO, take a small cut can already hehe

felixleong

I think last time the young george soros also only 30%+ compounded returns... here got people 10 times more powerful that soros wor!

Perisher

too bad I only achieve 15%...

If one can achieve 200% consistently over a 5 year period, starting from just 5k, you will end up with 1mil already. And it's only 5k base compounded yearly.

Really hidden dragon...

alexchia01

I think last time the young george soros also only 30%+ compounded returns... here got people 10 times more powerful that soros wor!

Young Soros in the 80s can make 30+% is fantastic.

You have mistaken what return I'm talking about and what George Soros and Warren Buffett returns are about.

George Soros is a fund manager, for a fund to perform 30% per annual is great.

My 500% return is trading return. This is what the prop traders are doing in banks and financial insitutions. For a trader to perform less than 100% return per year is really bad.

But for an investment portfolio to perform 100% per year is very difficult, if not impossible.

If you are driving a normal car, I don't expect you to drive 250kph. But you reach your designation safer.

If you are driving a F1 race car at 80kph, everyone is going to laugh at you.

Know the difference.

felixleong

too bad I only achieve 15%...

If one can achieve 200% consistently over a 5 year period, starting from just 5k, you will end up with 1mil already. And it's only 5k base compounded yearly.

Really hidden dragon...

ya lor 200% is really insane returns, one lucky year maybe, but to do it consistently over 5 year period would be near impossible ba

felixleong

Young Soros in the 80s can make 30+% is fantastic.

You have mistaken what return I'm talking about and what George Soros and Warren Buffett returns are about.

George Soros is a fund manager, for a fund to perform 30% per annual is great.

My 500% return is trading return. This is what the prop traders are doing in banks and financial insitutions. For a trader to perform less than 100% return per year is really bad.

But for an investment portfolio to perform 100% per year is very difficult, if not impossible.

If you are driving a normal car, I don't expect you to drive 250kph. But you reach your designation safer.

If you are driving a F1 race car at 80kph, everyone is going to laugh at you.

Know the difference.

if u can make such high annual returns of 100-500% over a long period of say 5 years or more.. think you be richer than peter lim already ^_^

cheers

winorlose

With long short strategies.. Its possible to gain higher % but comes with more stress.

If purely for investment and dont want to monitor kind..i think 5-10% is decent returns provided your capital is intact and also able to get necessary funding when mkt dips.

When mkt drops and no funding.. Thats the most duiiiii kind of feeling..

Peter lim once said when mkt good, should stay clear of debts.. When mkt bad, got cash can talk.

Of coz shouldnt limit to sgx mkt only..but home is where its closest..

US bio tech stocks are good high risk high return.

Perisher

When mkt drops and no funding.. Thats the most duiiiii kind of feeling..

Totally. Always feel like hands are tied. Even with capital, I want a margin of safety.

When the market is down, I wanna be able to buy some and still have substantial leftover capital to take advantage when it moves further down.

So it's not just 1x capital but 2-3x or more.

felixleong

What make you think I'm not richer than Peter Lim now?

cheers

well~ unless u can prove it

anyway, the really rich people that I know are often the humble type

when they make a lot of $$, they keep quiet one
wouldn't say loud loud make 500% last year hehe

alexchia01

well~ unless u can prove it

anyway, the really rich people that I know are often the humble type

when they make a lot of $$, they keep quiet one
wouldn't say loud loud make 500% last year hehe

There are humble billionaires, like my uncles.

There are also loud billionaires, like Peter Lim.

To assume one is not a billionaire because he's loud is your own personal opinion.

Anyway, I'm not here to prove to you that I'm rich, I sharing that making over 100% return is possible in trading.

If you believe that's great, you don't it's also okay.

Sinkie

There are humble billionaires, like my uncles.

There are also loud billionaires, like Peter Lim.

To assume one is not a billionaire because he's loud is your own personal opinion.

Anyway, I'm not here to prove to you that I'm rich, I sharing that making over 100% return is possible in trading.

If you believe that's great, you don't it's also okay.

Wah your uncles is billionaires?

#1 Robert & Philip Ng $12.8 B -
#2 Kwek Leng Beng & family $7.8 B 74
#3 Khoo family $7 B -
#4 Wee Cho Yaw $6.2 B 85
#5 Kwee brothers $6 B 70
#6 Eduardo Saverin $4.2 B 32
#7 Goh Cheng Liang $3.2 B -
#8 Richard Chandler $3 B 56
#9 Peter Lim $2.5 B 61
#10 Kuok Khoon Hong $2.4 B 65
#11 Raj Kumar & Kishin RK $2.3 B 60
#12 Chang Yun Chung $2.1 B 96
#13 Sam Goi $2.1 B 66
#14 Lim Oon Kuin $2 B 71
#15 Ong Beng Seng & Christina Ong $1.8 B 69
#16 Lee Seng Wee $1.6 B 84
#17 Koh Wee Meng $1.6 B 51
#18 Tang Wee Kit $1.5 B 60
#19 Ron Sim $1.5 B 56
#20 Asok Kumar Hiranandani $1.4 B 60
#21 Zhong Sheng Jian $1.4 B 56
#22 Choo Chong Ngen $1.3 B 63
#23 Chua Thian Poh $1.3 B 66
#24 Lien family $1.2 B -
#25 Family Tay $1.1 B -
#26 Hong Leong Oei $1 B 66

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.