Anyone trade full time?

alexchia01

Can teach me how to improve on trading skills? Now I just trade those stocks I know most, all in all out, but I din really sense improvement in my trading skill. Perhaps now I can sense the danger much faster than last time and make lesser losses, but most of the time, I just observe the trend and go out in when I have confidence.

Sorry, I can't teach you my trading strategy because it's trade secret.

However, I can share with you how to be a better trader.

alexchia01

How you know 2009 was the bottom wor? Pls sic

I think in early 2009, market has stop falling and was acting erotic.

At that time, I was only testing water with a little of my capital.

Oh yes, DBS was having rights issue at that time, which is also another reason why I brought in.

Perisher

Has market stop rising now?

Much as I like to know the answer, According to 50ma, 200ma, 1year MA... It's not stopping yet. But it certainly went a lot more volatile.

Sinkie

Much as I like to know the answer, According to 50ma, 200ma, 1year MA... It's not stopping yet. But it certainly went a lot more volatile.

I will only know next year that it had stopped rising in 2015 :(

alexchia01

Has market stop rising now?

I only trade what I see, i don't try to predict the market. So, I don't know if the market has stop rising.

In the short term, I think market is going down. Currently, I'm in the short position, so I'm bias to the downside.

In longer term, I don't know and I don't really care because either way, I taken care of.

winorlose

Its hard to predict crisis nw.. We cant compare to like great depression era whereby media is not so developed yet.

News spreads lightning speed nowadays.. Its also difficult to time cycles..

Somehow all these gfc are somewhat mechanised by people.. As and when they want it to happen..it will lo..

focus1974

wa lao win liao loh:(

Don't be sad..
just know..
高处不胜寒。。

实际上很多成功人士都有张良的这种心态,成就的功名似乎成了他们的累赘,导致了他们的不快乐。当初他们眼里只有一个目标,并不顾一切地向这个目标奋力推进,根本无视周围的其他事物。当他们终于气喘吁吁地来到山顶,却发现他们的背后空无一人,高高的山上只有自己。空虚、失落、孤独使他们忘掉享受成功的乐趣,因为没有羡慕的享受似乎味同白开水。

felixleong

Its hard to predict crisis nw.. We cant compare to like great depression era whereby media is not so developed yet.

News spreads lightning speed nowadays.. Its also difficult to time cycles..

Somehow all these gfc are somewhat mechanised by people.. As and when they want it to happen..it will lo..

Ya, nowadays really hard to predict. Like last year's 50% decline in oil, few or none could had predicted if and shorted early.

Now what i worry is algro / computer trading... Making markets move even faster... When oil declined the sell down was so fast and hard.. Cant imagine if equities were sold down at the same rate for this year gg sia

focus1974

Ya he sibei scary sia, i also scared kanna csi... My face not handsome wor... Anything pm me , i give u my details dun put in public can le hahahahaha

winorlose is master trader.. he have an edge over everyone now..

winorlose

No la.. Honestly.. Im not like exposing alex or anything.. I just google his name "alex chia trader".. And the results came out. Seems to match his details given.

It's good to make more friends whether online or offline. Can go out lim kopi.. Talk about shares or any interests.

klarklar

self employed, full time investor

if wanna know more about can read more about it from my blog hehe (/me shamelessly) ^^

Hi felixleong,

I think it is quite courageous of you to become full-time investor, particularly being able to resist the social pressure. If you don't mind me asking. Chinese new year is coming. Lots of relatives and friends will be asking you what have you been doing. How do you handle the strange reaction when you tell them you are full-time investor? Some of the more nasty people will gossip among themselves saying you have become lazy, non-contributing parasite who is not doing something socially useful despite being so young. How do you handle that sort of social pressure? No need to answer if this makes you uncomfortable. It certainly makes me very uncomfortable whenever I think of going full-time myself.

klarklar

Yes, bull and bear I also make. The time i don't make is when market don't move, like 2009.

During crisis, I'll short from top all the way to the bottom. Whoever buy at that time are sure to be clobbered, not just by me, but all the short traders in the world.

Investor bargin hunting is after the crisis, when the dusts has settle and people are beginning to see a little light in the tunnel.

Whoever was around in 2009, will know that 2009 was the best year to invest. Whatever you buy makes money. That is the time a savvy investor is waiting for, not when the market was dropping like flies. However, 2009, traders don't make money that year.

Hi alexchia01,

I don't quite understand this part about 2009. When you look at global stock indices in 2009, there was clearly an uptrend and the percentage move was huge. Since you are trend-follower, how can you not make money in 2009?

felixleong

Hi felixleong,

I think it is quite courageous of you to become full-time investor, particularly being able to resist the social pressure. If you don't mind me asking. Chinese new year is coming. Lots of relatives and friends will be asking you what have you been doing. How do you handle the strange reaction when you tell them you are full-time investor? Some of the more nasty people will gossip among themselves saying you have become lazy, non-contributing parasite who is not doing something socially useful despite being so young. How do you handle that sort of social pressure? No need to answer if this makes you uncomfortable. It certainly makes me very uncomfortable whenever I think of going full-time myself.

hm.. ya a lot of people will be skeptic, a lot of people will doubt, a lot of people cast negative views, took me years to learn how to ignore the noise and live my own life.

anyway my friends and family all know what I do for a living, many years already...used to it liao, also must see the background

when I was young I was a competitive card gamer, traveling around the world to play magic card tournaments.. I then moved on to play poker professionally... finally I took all my poker winnings and moved into investing.. so people that really know me, know my pattern one.. I'm not the type that looks for a 9-5 job haha so they wouldn't say me much also

for those wanting to go full time trading or investing, must make sure your gf/wife and family understand what you doing, otherwise very stress one, especially girls... they want stability... they don't understand that why the income is so unstable, they don't know what it means to take risk and follow your passion etc

also be prepared to always face a lot of negative remarks, singaporeans the typical mind set is to play it safe... get a stable job, get married, buy hdb and have kids... 90%of the people just follow this one straight road, if u taking another different path many will say you are wrong, should follow what the rest is doing... don't take risk, what if fail... blah blah blah.. more often or not u will feel like outcast

cold hard truth

emo...

klarklar

Crisis come say buy is easy, to do so is tough
When sti crashes from 3800 to 2700 was 30% correction in 2007 i when long on sti in hope of V shape recovery... Lehman when down and sti fell Much Further to 1500!!! I was sitting on 50% paper loss even after going in on 30% dip... Seriously in forum talk is cheap la haha, when the real crisis comes again u shall all be tested ^^

Hi felixleong,

A bit surprised you suffered a 50% paper loss. You sound like an experienced trader. Why didn't you cut your losses then?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.