Ask a Bicycle Question - Part 5

macpork

Now the area below both my knee caps are so painfully swollen due to excessive & prolonged exertion that I can't even get out of bed. The area below my right knee cap is especially painful. My seat bones hurt too.

What could possibly be the cause(s)?
Most importantly, how do I cure this disabling condition? FAST!
I haven't been riding for a long long time.
https://www.strava.com/activities/229699077
Ignore the time taken - I am Captain Slow.
how come so jialat? :(

FSC

Hey Snoob, any medication or gel in Guardian or Watsons that is fast effective on such pains? Eliminate the swelling & kill the pain.

TheoDR

Hey Snoob, any medication or gel in Guardian or Watsons that is fast effective on such pains? Eliminate the swelling & kill the pain.
Best to see doc rather than self-treat. Recover soon!

Sadisticnoob

If swollen better go see a doctor that's not normal, if it's muscular ache you can use those muscle rub like counterpain

Xeon_sg

actually you can use the FD to act as an chain guide and guard.

but frankly having more gears is much better than having lesser, if you wanna cut weight there are more better ways to do that.

Yea, but since the day I've started riding til now... I don't utilize the front gears at all. I guess removing the components that I don't use not only shaves off weight... also 1 less component to maintain.

If you don't use your granny 22 in front at all currently, means you'll be fine. :)

Can't say that. The undulating teeth profiles of the NW enables you to ride rather securely (even without a chain guard, which adds weight and drag), as compared to a normal ring. You save weight by removing 2 chainrings + front dee + shifter. And of cos makes the cabling less messy.. hah.

icic. Any idea how do I identify which ISCG make/model is suitable? I saw a few 2nd hand chain guides on sale... but too many choices. :s22:

FSC

Cause of swelling: Prolonged exertion of over-extended pedal stroke due to saddle position being too aft and too high for the most efficient pedal stroke. Resulting in inflammation of the area right below knee cap where doctors tap with a mallet to test for reflex.

Was too spent trying not to be dropped by 4 Boardmans & 1 Pinarello.
Still dropped to ulu fulu.

Me not wearing cycling shoes so not easy to locate the precise saddle position as my feet ain't locked onto pedals.

Alpha_Hippo

Now the area below both my knee caps are so painfully swollen due to excessive & prolonged exertion that I can't even get out of bed. The area below my right knee cap is especially painful. My seat bones hurt too.

Never ride for too long is like this one. Once seasoned can liao

sonyv12002

Better go treated then sorrow after condition worser.

TheoDR

The price difference between the Singapore price and the Hong Kong price

Hey bro, what was the price difference? Would like to know more from you so that people don't end up spending hard earned money on potentially unwarrantied bikes. :eek:

kaledia

Hey bro, what was the price difference? Would like to know more from you so that people don't end up spending hard earned money on potentially unwarrantied bikes. :eek:

Buy from internet is serious business k. Maybe internet version of Cervelo is lighter for Asian limpets. LOLOLOL. Let me take screenshot and ask Vincent, will be another saga joke in the whatsapp chatroom...LOL

Sadisticnoob

Buy from internet is serious business k. Maybe internet version of Cervelo is lighter for Asian limpets. LOLOLOL. Let me take screenshot and ask Vincent, will be another saga joke in the whatsapp chatroom...LOL

You should spend more time riding instead of spending time on what's app chat room

kaledia

You should spend more time riding instead of spending time on what's app chat room

no la...where got spend so much time like you here...i better tell him we better stop chatting on whatsapp then, don waste time here, i mean whatsapp.

Shdwfalcon

Yea, but since the day I've started riding til now... I don't utilize the front gears at all. I guess removing the components that I don't use not only shaves off weight... also 1 less component to maintain.

icic. Any idea how do I identify which ISCG make/model is suitable? I saw a few 2nd hand chain guides on sale... but too many choices. :s22:
In the end I chose to keep my triple front chainrings. The need to travel across urban areas and the various "playgrounds" I visit means I end up using both the biggest and the smallest too.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Sadisticnoob

Oh, how much is the price difference?

Edit: Just to add, food for thought if you intend to buy from slash-price shops like the one you mentioned from HK :

- Add 7% GST when you bring or ship it back to Sg.
- $xxx to assemble your new bike if the shop hasn't done so for you.
- Warranty claim fee will apply if you didn't get it from local dealers and if and when things go wrong with your frame.
- You run a high risk of warranty void when buying from an unauthorised channel, and especially if online.
im not too sure about the R5 DA, but the S5 ULT 11 was around 4.4k after conversion.

how can it be unauthorised source when even cervelo mention the bike shop on their website ?

12321_zps4a0bff1a.png

1. The 7% GST can siam one, just take your bike ride one block around waterloo road and come back.

2. I dont normally pay, since my maintanance fees for now are almost FOC.

3. woo jover chew here, iirc cervelo have international warranty. its "illegal" (correct me if im wrong) to charge for a fee if product has international warranty but you claim from another country, unless that is if the shipping is borne by the buyer

the company im mentioning is not a slash and buy company one of the biggest bike shop chain in hong kong , got one edmw bro when there to buy things, they stock lots of bike porn (they deal in pinarello,look,cervelo,bmc and time and a few more iirc)

FSC was the one who asked for local pricing which i am not so sure, but for me, if got lobang (and i think its good) i share

Sadisticnoob

no la...where got spend so much time like you here...i better tell him we better stop chatting on whatsapp then, don waste time here, i mean whatsapp.
havent see him for quite some time, his riding is phenomenal

TheoDR

im not too sure about the R5 DA, but the S5 ULT 11 was around 4.4k after conversion.

how can it be unauthorised source when even cervelo mention the bike shop on their website ?

12321_zps4a0bff1a.png

1. The 7% GST can siam one, just take your bike ride one block around waterloo road and come back.

2. I dont normally pay, since my maintanance fees for now are almost FOC.

3. woo jover chew here, iirc cervelo have international warranty. its "illegal" (correct me if im wrong) to charge for a fee if product has international warranty but you claim from another country, unless that is if the shipping is borne by the buyer

the company im mentioning is not a slash and buy company one of the biggest bike shop chain in hong kong , got one edmw bro when there to buy things, they stock lots of bike porn (they deal in pinarello,look,cervelo,bmc and time and a few more iirc)

FSC was the one who asked for local pricing which i am not so sure, but for me, if got lobang (and i think its good) i share

Thanks for the info. Of course will have shipping fee for the replacement frame. :) What we usually strive to do for customers who buy locally is to let them have their replacement frame from our existing stock - provided we have the correct size and year model - so that they can ride again with minimal downtime.

Jay Bee

weee, after putting on 5kg i starter to ride again....... but my tailbone injury is making me adopt a "sit-on-balls" position which is quite aggressive but damn tiring :s22:

SmilingDevil

Cause of swelling: Prolonged exertion of over-extended pedal stroke due to saddle position being too aft and too high for the most efficient pedal stroke. Resulting in inflammation of the area right below knee cap where doctors tap with a mallet to test for reflex.

Was too spent trying not to be dropped by 4 Boardmans & 1 Pinarello.
Still dropped to ulu fulu.

Me not wearing cycling shoes so not easy to locate the precise saddle position as my feet ain't locked onto pedals.

Dude, take care of yourself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.