Ask A Headhunter!

yukari_san3

I have a question on first advantage.

Cleared my screening when I first joined banking. No problems. But I had a colleague who was fired for reasons unknown few weeks into her job.

If First Advantage can dig up information like CPF, police records?--isn't it a breach of privacy?

How do they do it?

If you don't know nvm

TopGun

One last question, is it true the HR will thrash the resume when they see such a lousy qualification?

Experience then pay then qualifications.

Usually is in this order even for freshie though for freshie, pay and qualifications are swapped.

Ask A Headhunter

What if, your bosses are partners/shareholders, then.....

1) it is wise to put them as reference?

2) then how sia???

It is fine to put them as references. Unless you got something to shameful to hide or are lying about certain things.

then in this case, for a non degree holder with good working experience, will getting a degree actually help to negotiate a better pay rise be it internally or externally?

Internally, No.
Externally, Yes.

Cleared my screening when I first joined banking. No problems. But I had a colleague who was fired for reasons unknown few weeks into her job.

If First Advantage can dig up information like CPF, police records?--isn't it a breach of privacy?

How do they do it?

If you don't know nvm

I don't know how First Advantage does it, but i know they are the market leader and they can literally dig up anything. :s12:

rommellee

No. HR will almost always see work experience first, then salary then qualifications (most of the time)

Thanks so much for answering all my questions. I asked this because I am not getting any interviews although the jobs I applied are very relevant... and I don't wish to stuck in this company for so long.

Oh ya another question is, at what stage do they do the back ground check?

Jay Bee

It is fine to put them as references. Unless you got something to shameful to hide or are lying about certain things.

I am asking becos, if they do call up the boss (owner of the company)

then the boss knows that this person is :

1) finding another job
2) which company/industry this person is going to

and is excepted to give feedback?

this is really perplexing becos .... i duno how to explain, it just feels wrong?

any advise???

JollibeeSG

How do they do it?

If you don't know nvm

thats why when im joining any MNC where the First ADV form is included i make it sure i declare everything whether good or bad, at least you cum cream first.. hence, any EDMWer who KPKB that FT's working in banks are fakers are just jelly and bitter..

Kcusts

thats why when im joining any MNC where the First ADV form is included i make it sure i declare everything whether good or bad, at least you cum cream first.. hence, any EDMWer who KPKB that FT's working in banks are fakers are just jelly and bitter..

What does this form look like?

Ask A Headhunter

I am asking becos, if they do call up the boss (owner of the company)

then the boss knows that this person is :

1) finding another job
2) which company/industry this person is going to

and is excepted to give feedback?

this is really perplexing becos .... i duno how to explain, it just feels wrong?

any advise???

References are always people from your previous company. Not your current company.

They will also not disclose which company the person is potentially going.

I'm not in the finance industry, am in the Sales/Marketing function in the oil industry and moved from principal (Fortune 500 companies) to distributor (local SME).

Reason for moving was to get more general management experience and regional exposure as big MNCs are very silo and limited progression up the ladder.

Currently am drawing about 8K/mnth and am wondering if it would be difficult securing a job back in SG after my overseas stint.

Not necessarily looking at the same industry but hoping to enter mid/senior management back with an MNC or a listed local company (no more SMEs).

Any opinion on whether my path is feasible?

I would think that it is feasible, but i don't know the oil industry in Singapore enough to comment.

TopGun

For referees, indicate as provide upon request and make sure you ask that your consent is sought and obtained before reference check is done.

Jay Bee

References are always people from your previous company. Not your current company.

oh crap! all my previous coy closed down :(

on a serious note, if even previous company are owners of the company???

pai seh arh, i can only get into ultra small companies where i work under owners :(:(

Ask A Headhunter

oh crap! all my previous coy closed down :(

on a serious note, if even previous company are owners of the company???

pai seh arh, i can only get into ultra small companies where i work under owners :(:(

But the people are still around and contactable right? :s11:

BrOwnTeddy

Emphasize on your importance to the team.

Eg: Act as the Head when he is absent, etc.

Make executive decisions on behalf of the head.
I need to work on this.

Unfortunately, no chance. Rank too low. :s13: And I am probably seen as too aggressive and a wheel reinventer. :s22:

samloi

Yes. But only if you apply for higher level positions.

If you apply for lateral positions MBA might be a disadvantage

Yes. But only engineering people who have top academic results (especially in the finance sector)

Yes. But usually only for the local banks. But most are based in Changi

Not sure. I am not a salary expert.

Yes. References are important. A lot of employers will not offer you if no reference check is done.

Define break up a match? :s11:

Company is happy with me and i happy with the company. But my asking is lower than wat the coy is willing to offer. So recuirter might be taking less commission if i join the coy.

Ask A Headhunter

Company is happy with me and i happy with the company. But my asking is lower than wat the coy is willing to offer. So recuirter might be taking less commission if i join the coy.

Yes the recruiter is taking less commission if your salary offer is lower.

Magickiller9

If i choose to skip local uni and went ahead with private uni (night class) as someone is willing to offer me a salary almost similar to what uni grad are getting?

Will the next company look at my salary and ask why the company is paying so much more for a diploma (at the time of employment) despite able to produce the pay slip and recommendation letter by the previous boss?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.