Ask A Headhunter!

Ask A Headhunter

How is working as a recruiter?
Are there always sales targets and are they hard to achieve?

Highly dependent on which company you work in.

Also determines what type of recruitment business model they have because different companies have different models.

Sales targets are not too bad if you are hardworking

Velana

I think edmw once had a saga where someone who was hired by one of these unethical agencies had the same problem.

Then it went to court and that guy won against the agency.

By right if i recall, these clauses are not enforcable in Singapore (or at least so far i have never heard of it being enforced)

Ok, you like that say i will take chance liao.

don't worry i won't refer back to you.

desiresale

I had my 2nd interview with a global FI on 16 Apr. As the hiring manager would be coming to Singapore on 16 -20 Apr, he requested to see me for the 2nd time. After the interview, I asked the interviewer (who is the hiring manager and is stationed in HK) how I fared. He replied pretty well (but positive response could be out of courtesy). But he also told me he would be seeing a few more candidates.

Till now I have not received any updates. I've login to their candidate portal, also no update to the application status on my account. The role is still on their own job portal.

Should I email them to do a followup? Or I can assume I'm dropped?

Thanks!!!

Sent from Samsung GT-I9305 using GAGT

Litmuss

What's the latest "hot jobs" for 2nd quarter and going forward?

tom_kkh

im not talking bout company lah, im talking about the use of the word "headhunter".

few yrs back when an angmoh call me citing himself as a hh, get f by me for the pay package of the offers he have on table for wasting my time.

if u r local, normally i quite nice.

well, many recruitment agency loves to use the word head hunter.

My head hunter charged my company one year of my pay as commission.

Recruitment agencies usually charge one month pay as commission..

there u go................ a good example is Mchael Page, they are not exactly head hunters if you ask me

Velana

there u go................ a good example is Mchael Page, they are not exactly head hunters if you ask me
Why you say Michael page is not a head hunter?

Sent from Your anus using GAGT

akimoto_emi

Hi HH, I have submitted my info for background check n they have commenced since 13th April. I have heard from my recruiter that this IB is well known for taking some time. The recruiter told me the estimated date to start and yet he keep postpone the date. This is the 4th week and there is no status update. He called yesterday to say no red flags So far But Im worried cause you never know what my ex bosses may say. I was thinking should I go back into finding a job while waiting. It's taking too long

If i were u, i will go for plan b....

Ask A Headhunter

I had my 2nd interview with a global FI on 16 Apr. As the hiring manager would be coming to Singapore on 16 -20 Apr, he requested to see me for the 2nd time. After the interview, I asked the interviewer (who is the hiring manager and is stationed in HK) how I fared. He replied pretty well (but positive response could be out of courtesy). But he also told me he would be seeing a few more candidates.

Till now I have not received any updates. I've login to their candidate portal, also no update to the application status on my account. The role is still on their own job portal.

Should I email them to do a followup? Or I can assume I'm dropped?

Thanks!!!

Sent from Samsung GT-I9305 using GAGT

1) Did you apply directly?
2) If it involves a regional manager, they might take longer sometimes due to scheduling of interviews, etc.
3) Can email out of courtesy if you feel its too long, but like you said, it might be a case where they already offered someone

What's the latest "hot jobs" for 2nd quarter and going forward?

Any specific industry segments?

even if the company hire you directly, doesn't mean you will get a higher salary, because that "one month salary charged" does not go to your offer consideration.

Because most companies, have 2 separate financial budgets.
1) To pay agencies
2) To pay the person's salary

Both of them are independent.

Ask A Headhunter

Hi HH, I have submitted my info for background check n they have commenced since 13th April. I have heard from my recruiter that this IB is well known for taking some time. The recruiter told me the estimated date to start and yet he keep postpone the date. This is the 4th week and there is no status update. He called yesterday to say no red flags So far But Im worried cause you never know what my ex bosses may say. I was thinking should I go back into finding a job while waiting. It's taking too long

1) It is possible that, even if you have joined the company, the background check is still ongoing.

I had a case once, the person start the job on 1st May, the background check was only completed in 1st July. Because there was "problems", his employment was terminated.

Because, the background check company will never tell you if you pass or not pass the check.

2) There is no harm attending interviews because, who knows, you might like the other job better, or the salary is better, etc.

chowchow77

A hh called me recently, and she say she got an opening that I will be interested. She say over the phone until very exciting, drop names all. Then kept bugging me for CV. I gave updated CV then she radio silent. Why ah? Waste my time

ruixiang92

Hi sir,

Would like to ask about the prospect for business analytics. Is there demand for graduates with this skill in the financial industry?

Ask A Headhunter

A hh called me recently, and she say she got an opening that I will be interested. She say over the phone until very exciting, drop names all. Then kept bugging me for CV. I gave updated CV then she radio silent. Why ah? Waste my time

Well thats where you differentiate between the good and the bad HH.

As with every single industry, there are bad apples and good apples.

Hi sir,

Would like to ask about the prospect for business analytics. Is there demand for graduates with this skill in the financial industry?

Business analytics is slowly growing in demand, but yet companies often don't need a lot of people to do it.

It might even be the case where 1 or 2 people are doing it for the whole company (depending on the size of the company)

Litmuss

1) Did you apply directly?
2) If it involves a regional manager, they might take longer sometimes due to scheduling of interviews, etc.
3) Can email out of courtesy if you feel its too long, but like you said, it might be a case where they already offered someone

Any specific industry segments?

even if the company hire you directly, doesn't mean you will get a higher salary, because that "one month salary charged" does not go to your offer consideration.

Because most companies, have 2 separate financial budgets.
1) To pay agencies
2) To pay the person's salary

Both of them are independent.

Financial services.. What are the hot jobs going forward for 2nd quarter and beyond.

Ask A Headhunter

Financial services.. What are the hot jobs going forward for 2nd quarter and beyond.

sanctions - corporate and private banking
regulatory compliance - private banking
operational risk (group and non group level) - all business segments
credit risk
Investment suitability
client due diligence related

DSmith

Hi HH, I'm currently studying a BA in Logistics and Supply Chain Management. I'm looking into a career in procurement/purchasing after I graduate, what is the best industry to enter if I intend to eventually attain a role in strategic sourcing?

Litmuss

Can I ask if it's normal for a recruitment consultancy firm to ask for 2 reference checks even before any interviews are scheduled? It's an ang moh firm and I'm not comfortable providing 2 references.

Ask A Headhunter

Can I ask if it's normal for a recruitment consultancy firm to ask for 2 reference checks even before any interviews are scheduled? It's an ang moh firm and I'm not comfortable providing 2 references.

1) Possible. Because sometimes it is requested by their client for the consultant to do a reference check prior to any interviews.

However, this also usually means they have already shown you a job description of the role which their client is offering

Hi HH, I'm currently studying a BA in Logistics and Supply Chain Management. I'm looking into a career in procurement/purchasing after I graduate, what is the best industry to enter if I intend to eventually attain a role in strategic sourcing?

No specific industry, but best to avoid manufacturing, semiconductor.

You can possible try either freight forwarding or third party logistics companies

Div1ne

1. How does one connect to a headhunter? Through places like LinkedIn? Or through networking? Or are there any agencies that people register their presence?

2. Does headhunting occur primarily in finance or management? I don't hear brilliant people in STEM fields getting headhunted

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.