Asus 290 r9 Ref

royfrosty

thank you this is what i have been looking for bro! I love the performance of this card @ 429.

All i found was water block editions of 290x.

Good luck to your card if you are going for g10. Many have reported is a failed product. And within a few months you will see yourself sending into service centre. Wanna go water cooling go the proper way. Dont end up like what shadow84 have mentioned.

shadow84

thank you this is what i have been looking for bro! I love the performance of this card @ 429.

All i found was water block editions of 290x.

Water block for 290x can fit in 290...

And hope u stay near asview service centre at kallang.... u r gonna need it...

shadow84

Put it in this perspective, all 290/x are designed to work till 95 degC, be it any brand, model, ref/non-ref design. The only difference is in the cooling. AMD designed it such that as long as there is a fan to push all the heat out, it is okay liao. But, brands take a step further by designing their own heatsink and fan to further cool the card, thus allowing it to push further and gain more performance.

Do not think of that $100 difference as a loss for 1 day when you buy the card. Think of it being worth the 2-3 yrs you r gonna use the card. Is it worth it for you to face the heat output and noise level of a ref card or just pay extra $100 now and need not worry so much about noise n heat output.

Note that if u r gonna watercool (it does not mean slapping an asetek AIO cooler and G10 onto it), then my comment above do not apply. By all means get the ref card as custom heatsink does not matter.

My 2 cents.

shadow84

How much is the sapphire and power color?

Sapphire used to be $449, then changed to $499. Powercolour used to be $499 also. But, both promo are nw gone as it was for the month of June.

Only the ASUS 290 ref @ $429 and MSI 290 gaming @ $529 is still running, while stock last.

royfrosty

$499 but sapphire already revert back pricing. Now left powercolor or msi

shadow84

Powercolour promo still on ah??? Though it shld b OOS in SLS by now...

52006106.jpg

royfrosty

I only saw 1 PCS+ 290 in sls this afternoon. I will not reveal where is it. Whoever needs it, you can try your luck and chiong.

shadow84

please dont say until like that leh. bo swee

hope can last lor.

Up to you to decide... not my problem though.. Can only give advice... With a gpu running at 95 degC most of the time during gaming, you think can last long?

royfrosty

please dont say until like that leh. bo swee

hope can last lor.

We arent trolling you. We are advising you not to take out the ref card cooler and use the g10 on it. You are talking to a experienced chao tah vrms expert. We have been thru a lot of verious techniques and solution it will not cool the vrms easily.

Not just us telling you that g10 is a total flop. Go ahead and do a quick google search on it.

The vrms at bare no heatsink heats up to a 105deg which will degrade further and faster. With vrms being dead you will have a super unstable card and also flickering screens. Not just that, it will even under perform.

Consider it as a fair warning that we have warn you. Proceed at your own risk.

Quest

ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme cooler seems like a better choice......

shadow84

We arent trolling you. We are advising you not to take out the ref card cooler and use the g10 on it. You are talking to a experienced chao tah vrms expert. We have been thru a lot of verious techniques and solution it will not cool the vrms easily.

Not just us telling you that g10 is a total flop. Go ahead and do a quick google search on it.

The vrms at bare no heatsink heats up to a 105deg which will degrade furher. With vrms being dead you will have a super unstable card and also flickering screens. Not just that, it will even under perform.

Lol, simi expert.. Only burn it once nia...

ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme cooler seems like a better choice......

That cost like US$100+ or S$200+? Might as well spend $100 more for non ref cooler? Summore gt warranty. U use the artc cooler, bo warranty on both sides.

Quest

The vrms at bare no heatsink heats up to a 105deg which will degrade furher. With vrms being dead you will have a super unstable card and also flickering screens. Not just that, it will even under perform.

ya, i saw a youtube on attach G10 on a 290, the vrms is only cooled by a fan :eek::vijayadmin:

shadow84

ya, i saw a youtube on attach G10 on a 290, the vrms is only cooled by a fan :eek::vijayadmin:

No matter the type of heatsinks i put on the VRMs or whatever methods i used, still can reach 100 degC...

But, the hype back then really pulled me in... haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.