Asus PADPHONE 2

amarawi

wahhh... really thanks so much. learn alot of things from u kennyboy.
As for the awake chart, i dun use a watch so i count on my phone for the time. so as and when i will just press the on button to check the time. dun know will this affect the phone?

As for the phone signal. wat can i say bout starhub ^^

I think pressing it on and off for time check shouldn't be the reason for a significantly shorter battery life.

The signal problem might not be because of starhub per say.. like kennyboy said, it's commonly due to LTE connection... especially draining if you work in an area where there is weak LTE signal, your phone will continuously toggle between a weak LTE signal and a stronger 3G...

Because all the singapore telcos are still incrementally updating the LTE infrastructure, this has been a common problem..

if this is the case, it might be advisable to turn of LTE when you're at your workplace..
can be found at:
Settings -> More -> Mobile Networks -> Network Mode
change to GSM/WCDMA auto.

kennyboy

wahhh... really thanks so much. learn alot of things from u kennyboy.
As for the awake chart, i dun use a watch so i count on my phone for the time. so as and when i will just press the on button to check the time. dun know will this affect the phone?

As for the phone signal. wat can i say bout starhub ^^
Nope, that usage won't affect the phone. Something else is causing the wakelock when the screen is off.

Joekeai

does anyone feel laggy when using the default keyboard of the phone?
When i type the word the phone will lag awhile before the wording appear.

zalina

does anyone feel laggy when using the default keyboard of the phone?
When i type the word the phone will lag awhile before the wording appear.
Yes I felt that too. Well I was comparing it with iPhone. IPhone keyboard felt much more smoother.
But I guess it was just a matter of adapting to the new device.

Btw, anyone knows how to make video calls on Pf2 without using external apps? I mean iPhone has facetime...

killkyo

Yes I felt that too. Well I was comparing it with iPhone. IPhone keyboard felt much more smoother.
But I guess it was just a matter of adapting to the new device.

Btw, anyone knows how to make video calls on Pf2 without using external apps? I mean iPhone has facetime...

You are referring to the ASUS keyboard? That's software problem, only can hope for ASUS to improve that, I'm using Android default keyboard for English, only Chinese then I use ASUS.

kennethtbh

You are referring to the ASUS keyboard? That's software problem, only can hope for ASUS to improve that, I'm using Android default keyboard for English, only Chinese then I use ASUS.
This may sound noob but how to change? Im getting more n more irritated by the Asus keyboard.

killkyo

This may sound noob but how to change? Im getting more n more irritated by the Asus keyboard.

You can enable it in the settings, "Language & input" then when you have something to type, hold the globe on the ASUS keyboard and when the keyboard selection pop up appears, choose the Android keyboard.

kennethtbh

You can enable it in the settings, "Language & input" then when you have something to type, hold the globe on the ASUS keyboard and when the keyboard selection pop up appears, choose the Android keyboard.
Oh need to hold. No wonder. Thanks!

benthian89

Oh need to hold. No wonder. Thanks!

Try out SwiftKey.
You will love it.

It is the best keyboard for Android(without chinese).

The algorithm for prediction is good.
Now the new version can swipe also.

After you have used the keyboard for some time.
You don't even need to look at the screen to type. Cos they will correct for you based on what you have typed before

benyee90

i probably the suay-est padfone 2 owner. speaker defects , now camera. rmb last time one guy mentioned here abt the dust trapped in the camera lens? nows its affecting my picture:(

going asus tml flip table:(

P_20130221_183902_1_zps16b1e44a.jpg

picture taken on a white surface. can see the dust sooooo clearly.

XcoldstarX

Oh me lor... I still haven't go Asus there to bang table. No other phones to use if I send my Padfone 2 in.

kennethtbh

Try out SwiftKey.
You will love it.

You don't even need to look at the screen to type. Cos they will correct for you based on what you have typed before

Thought must pay?

Anyway, any idea what Asus is launching on 25th Feb? I hope its not padfone 3 sia. But it says pad and fone..

BluEyeWold

I think pressing it on and off for time check shouldn't be the reason for a significantly shorter battery life.

The signal problem might not be because of starhub per say.. like kennyboy said, it's commonly due to LTE connection... especially draining if you work in an area where there is weak LTE signal, your phone will continuously toggle between a weak LTE signal and a stronger 3G...

Because all the singapore telcos are still incrementally updating the LTE infrastructure, this has been a common problem..

if this is the case, it might be advisable to turn of LTE when you're at your workplace..
can be found at:
Settings -> More -> Mobile Networks -> Network Mode
change to GSM/WCDMA auto.

Thanks amarawi for the info. i will try it out.

Nope, that usage won't affect the phone. Something else is causing the wakelock when the screen is off.

Thanks kennyboy for the info

benyee90

If you are adventurous enough, can diy one.

since its still under warranty, let them do it loh. any idea how long would it takes to repair? i think once repaired, i probably find dust cover or tape to cover the headphone jack and sim tray to prevent dusts from entering.:o

kennethtbh

Try out SwiftKey.
You will love it.

anyway i just rmb signing up for beta of some new keyboard app which supposedly provides typing on touch screen phones w/o looking at the keyboard.. but havent receive any news from them yet.. think they have the ios version out alr though.. its called fleksy i think.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.