Audio Technica Appreciation Thread

Haonan

Now thinking of upgrading my RCA cable, USB cable, Optical cable and power strip. Was wondering if anyone has any recommendation.

Was thinking of the following:

RCA: AT-RA5000
AT-RA5000 | ???????? | ???? | ?????????

USB: AT-EUS1000
AT-EUS1000 | ???????? | ???? | ?????????

Optical: AT-SDP2000
AT-SDP2000 | ???????? | ???? | ?????????

bro @Haonan and @Randius got any suggestions? :)

Uh, I have no specific recommendations for you in regards to audio interconnects/cables. In all honesty, one of the few reasons why I went for that inevitable upgrade of the HP-A8 DAC and some of the various expensive interconnects from makers such as Oyaide/Zonotone were that I have been playing with my Fostex HP-A3 for abt a year and had quite a pleasant experience with their DAC setups so far, and I was also trying find a synergy/striking balance for my upcoming W5000 headphones when I was planning to buy them late last yr. If I did not plan on purchasing the W5000 'Raffinato', I probably won't go that far and spending upwards of ard 4k on doing upgrading of my DAC source/headphone/interconnect and power cables.

I do agree with Randius bro, in terms of AT interconnects while they are very likely to have gd matching synergy with AT DACs/amps, it isn't necessarily to swear by them or try to be such a hardcore diehard fan. In this hobby, pairing synergy and what kind of headphones u usually use is more important to me than anything else, so unfortunately unless you own the same kind of headphones/IEM setups as me, I have no other further advice for you. Even though I have alrdy heard Randius' pair of A900X LTD personally myself as well as trying them once @Stereo couple mths back, to my ears while these are indeed a pair of pleasant headphones, in terms of female vocals rendition I still greatly prefer my own pair of AD1000PRM/W5000 with my own setup rig.

As usual, our listening genre preferences and setup rigs do differ irl so YMMV. I can however give a short tip that it's probably worthwhile to spend aliittle bit more on your USB digital interconnects as well as power cables/strips, as more often than not these gradual upgrades would considerably improve your DAC/amp output quality by having quite a substantial margin of improvements. And I have not even started or venture into other topics such as USB power conditioners such as the iFi iUSBPower/iPurifier devices which according to my own experience does give an improvement (I'm using another brand by RATOC Labs), as well as USB-DDC converter devices which you can find some of the well-regarded models mentioned on this page.

Make no mistake, this hobby can be quite a deep rabbit hole so exactly not a very pleasant hobby for just anyone or for one's wallet to be more specific. Just choose your interconnects based on published reviews and yr own budget, also try to get down to listen to the cables yourself if possible you ever have the chance, if not you will just have to make the leap of faith and trust your own gut feeling.
:o

Haonan

Sian the wire near the heatshrink of the L side of my ck10 loose/exposed riaos :(

I think if you're lucky, you may see my CK10 up for sale on the Electronics Bazaar later this mth. I did mentioned to Randius awhile ago after moving on the IM02 I might wanna try cutting down on my IEM collection so I may consider selling my CK100PRO or CK10. But after going back and forth btw these 2 IEMs with some focused listening sessions, there's no doubt for me right now to say I still greatly prefer CK100PRO in terms of genre versatility/overall SQ.

While the CK100PRO in my own words does not compare to the CK100/FI-BA-SS in terms of female vocals rendition/midrange sweetness, it is still a pair of very excellent triple-BA IEM in my own words and can still put up a decent fight against W4R/UE900 easily as concured by someone else on my Head-fi impressions thread. The CK10 is however much easier to wear irl and has almost no wearing fatigue and is especially great for bedtime listening sessions due to its small housings, so I can totally understand and acknowledge the fact why there are still people out there who dearly likes this pair of IEM.

weng

You can compare stock and modded configuration of AT-HA22Tube Amp, as well. Try them both with the stock Wall Plug, and with an Audiophile Grade Linear Power Supply. E1 got the cables and players and headphones.

It is recommendable to audition with your favorite player and playlist, IEM and/or Headphone, as well. Yeah, the AT-HA22Tube does both at a flick of a switch.

We all know that HE6's, HD800, and Audezes require very capable amps. If you got these flagships, or other hard-to-drive,it would be interesting to know if the AT-HA22Tube, Alo Pan Am, and the Schiit, CAN.
ohh so that modded ha22tube is yours! i was there few days ago to try out the stock ha22tube, hdc5 cable and some others, but unfortunately didn't have time to try modded one. how long will the unit be there?

Siggy1

ohh so that modded ha22tube is yours! i was there few days ago to try out the stock ha22tube, hdc5 cable and some others, but unfortunately didn't have time to try modded one. how long will the unit be there?

Yes Bro. Thanks for your interest. I was thinking today, or tomorrow the latest.

bangdoll

Alamak, sorry Siggy.

I'll be very busy with my schedules thus no time to pop by to try out your creation. Next coming meet will definitely have a good hands on.

Siggy1

Alamak, sorry Siggy.

I'll be very busy with my schedules thus no time to pop by to try out your creation. Next coming meet will definitely have a good hands on.

Totally Cool, No Worries. Greatly Appreciate all that dropped-by E1 the past week, auditioned, and gave their valuable feedback (good & the bad). Cheers!

Haonan

Just tried guan gong's esw10jpn. welli faps

Not Guangong's one lah, it belongs to one of his friend's. Just met him up for coffee session only recently and had a gd chit-chat with him.

How's chiu CK10 now? Seems to be suffering from same fate as yr prev CK100 somehow hor?
:crazy::crazy:

iAHBEE

Not Guangong's one lah, it belongs to one of his friend's. Just met him up for coffee session only recently and had a gd chit-chat with him.

How's chiu CK10 now? Seems to be suffering from same fate as yr prev CK100 somehow hor?
:crazy::crazy:

Huai chiu no let moi sensationalize his esw10 :(

Actually this dmg still better than the ck100. The quality of ath items under me seems to slowly improving the earlier the item is :s22: :s22:

Time to look for my v first srs iem, the ck7. If find tio confirm can last welli long :o

Haonan

Huai chiu no let moi sensationalize his esw10 :(

Actually this dmg still better than the ck100. The quality of ath items under me seems to slowly improving the earlier the item is :s22: :s22:

Time to look for my v first srs iem, the ck7. If find tio confirm can last welli long :o

Still can find meh? Wah lao the CK7 sho nong nong ago product model liaos. Find from Nigeria or Tiongland? Not scared of fakes ah.
:s22::s22:

iAHBEE

Still can find meh? Wah lao the CK7 sho nong nong ago product model liaos. Find from Nigeria or Tiongland? Not scared of fakes ah.

When hab will, will hab way. Tiagong chiu ghosting nippon soon. If gootman willing maybe ask chiu keep eye out for used ck7 :o

Haonan

Jaben and Headphone Gallery should still have the CK7

:eek::eek:

tumblr_mozkop3oD31r31n4zo5_400.gif

Anyway CK7's signature isn't to my personal liking anyway, I won't be hunting up and down for one. If there's anything abt dynamic IEMs that attracts my attention from ATH, it will def be the upcoming CKR10. Apparently on the day itself (March 31st) when ATH released their CKR product series press info to each various A/V japanese websites such as AV Impress Watch/Phile-Web, Mr. Yamagishi-san founder of Ocharaku (who was also an ex-Sony engineer) made a blog post abt the CKR series although he did not make any reference to the CKR series explicitly under his post, as well as mentioning the industry's involvement in DD-drivers found in consumer IEMs in recent times.

From what I understand from his post, he was actually explaining on the fact that what his company does in concept/philosophy in regards with the Flat-4 series (based on Twin Tornado Element concept, or what he refers to as a 2-element 4-way effect sys) are totally different from ATH's latest CKR series offerings. Basically what the Flat-4 series tech does is they have 2 dynamic drivers facing opposite against each other outwards, with the LCP-based aluminium cabinet tubing providing as a sort of phase-correction and to suppress mechanical vibrations and also helps to curb acoustic resistance due to the distance of a typical IEM's bore tip opening to one's eardrums. (issues such as sibilance can indeed be caused by acoustic resistance due to inability to reach a proper insertion depth with eartips in typical wearing scenarios)

According to what I'm seeing from CKR10's product webpage, ATH's concept is quite different here as both drivers are facing directly against each other, but they have the same philosophy in that using this method, it helps with dealing phase correction in terms of handling high frequency regions as well as acting as a solution to curbing mechanical vibrations/resonance issues (the Titanium housing plays a part here too). Another reason why I'm particular interested in the CKR10 was also due to reading Phile-Web's preview article that I saw once previously, it was mentioned its based on a monitor-like sound signature and not of those bassy kind like HA-FXZ100/200 series of JVC Kenwood, so shd be quite an interesting IEM to keep a lookout for.

Haonan

When hab will, will hab way. Tiagong chiu ghosting nippon soon. If gootman willing maybe ask chiu keep eye out for used ck7 :o

You sure have alot of reliable and sekretive informants ard chiu, at the rate you are going you can open your own CIA agency liaos.

Maybe when I'm flying liao then I will try drop ya a PM agn, but don't put yr hopes up as it's been quite awhile since I have spotted a CK7 ard the japanese used market.

iAHBEE

You sure have alot of reliable and sekretive informants ard chiu, at the rate you are going you can open your own CIA agency liaos.

Maybe when I'm flying liao then I will try drop ya a PM agn, but don't put yr hopes up as it's been quite awhile since I have spotted a CK7 ard the japanese used market.

Fwah, make moi gian raters ask chiu ssrr for hibino r10 :s22:

iAHBEE

:s13::s13:

Chiu wanna overtake Guangong ah? Or izzit you wanna be Rubrick's loyal fanclub follower? Lols just joking.
:crazy:

No totl customs like roxanne and miracle and totl daps like 901 and ak240, buay sai 称霸武林 :(

Btw gootman when fly? :o

Just tried guan gong's esw10jpn. welli faps

This statement very poisonous leh. :s22:
I think my ES10 and ESW11LTD looking for a companion. :(

Uh, I have no specific recommendations for you in regards to audio interconnects/cables. In all honesty, one of the few reasons why I went for that inevitable upgrade of the HP-A8 DAC and some of the various expensive interconnects from makers such as Oyaide/Zonotone were that I have been playing with my Fostex HP-A3 for abt a year and had quite a pleasant experience with their DAC setups so far, and I was also trying find a synergy/striking balance for my upcoming W5000 headphones when I was planning to buy them late last yr. If I did not plan on purchasing the W5000 'Raffinato', I probably won't go that far and spending upwards of ard 4k on doing upgrading of my DAC source/headphone/interconnect and power cables.

I do agree with Randius bro, in terms of AT interconnects while they are very likely to have gd matching synergy with AT DACs/amps, it isn't necessarily to swear by them or try to be such a hardcore diehard fan. In this hobby, pairing synergy and what kind of headphones u usually use is more important to me than anything else, so unfortunately unless you own the same kind of headphones/IEM setups as me, I have no other further advice for you. Even though I have alrdy heard Randius' pair of A900X LTD personally myself as well as trying them once @Stereo couple mths back, to my ears while these are indeed a pair of pleasant headphones, in terms of female vocals rendition I still greatly prefer my own pair of AD1000PRM/W5000 with my own setup rig.

As usual, our listening genre preferences and setup rigs do differ irl so YMMV. I can however give a short tip that it's probably worthwhile to spend aliittle bit more on your USB digital interconnects as well as power cables/strips, as more often than not these gradual upgrades would considerably improve your DAC/amp output quality by having quite a substantial margin of improvements. And I have not even started or venture into other topics such as USB power conditioners such as the iFi iUSBPower/iPurifier devices which according to my own experience does give an improvement (I'm using another brand by RATOC Labs), as well as USB-DDC converter devices which you can find some of the well-regarded models mentioned on this page.

Make no mistake, this hobby can be quite a deep rabbit hole so exactly not a very pleasant hobby for just anyone or for one's wallet to be more specific. Just choose your interconnects based on published reviews and yr own budget, also try to get down to listen to the cables yourself if possible you ever have the chance, if not you will just have to make the leap of faith and trust your own gut feeling.

You may wanna take a look at the cables listed under this category as well

?????????????? | ???? | ?????????

Although AT cables are likely to have better synergy with AT DACs and amps but you may also wanna take a look at cables from Furutech and Oyaide. Haonan bro should be better versed in cables than I am, since I don't play with cables that much.

Thanks so much for the good advice! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.