Australia PR

saintsu

personally I have tried Seek. But I didn't send out alot of applications. I stopped after I had decided to return to Sg. Basically, just my personal feel, its pretty hard to find an entry job in Aust unless its graduate program, or linking back to university. And i also, I had been turned down too many times because of the no PR status. I have a mate whom I did honours with, he managed to get a system admin job in UQ which is fairly well paid for entry job at 55k and he is still waiting for his PR. Many others are still waiting for a job and PR.

Zetta83

Wonder if things will change with the 18 months graduate visa. If with that also cannot get a job, then veri sian liaos. Thats why it's also important for me to know the needs of the market, then I can get a job in aussieland.

silviachef

IMHO, I find that abt 50% of jobs out there are die die must be Aussie or PR...

THere is still 50% of available jobs.

Just try lor. No harm at all.

Zetta83

Times and tides will change. By the time I grad 2 yrs from now, who knows what will happen. Try lor, aleast I will know after I try.

patryn33

http://au.news.yahoo.com/a/-/latest/5070281/rudd-rolls-migrant-welcome-mat/
October 10, 2008, 11:43 am

Prime Minister Kevin Rudd has flagged a cut in immigration because of the global financial crisis, faltering economic growth and a rise in unemployment.

Mr Rudd said the current immigration rate was an increase on the previous year.

He said that increase was to meet employer demands for more skilled workers, particularly in mining and resource intensive Western Australia and Queensland.

"As with all previous governments, and mine's the same, whenever we set immigration targets we will adjust them according to the economic circumstances of the day," he told the Fairfax Radio Network in Melbourne.

The 2008-09 Migration Program is set at 190,300 places, representing a 19.8 per cent increase on the 2007-08 program. The figure includes 56,500 places for family migrants sponsored by people already in Australia and 133,500 places for those with special skills.

But that's now been criticised as excessively large in a period of economic turmoil.

Mr Rudd said immigration was not one-size-fits-all across the country and the government would take advice on where skilled workers were needed.

Monash University researcher Andrew Markus has estimated that of the 21 million Australians, a quarter were born abroad - twice the proportion of the population in the United States and three times that of Britain.

Britain and New Zealand are still the largest source countries, but almost every country is represented.

hellfire190

Prime Minister Kevin Rudd has flagged a cut in immigration because of the global financial crisis, faltering economic growth and a rise in unemployment.

Mr Rudd said the current immigration rate was an increase on the previous year.

He said that increase was to meet employer demands for more skilled workers, particularly in mining and resource intensive Western Australia and Queensland.

"As with all previous governments, and mine's the same, whenever we set immigration targets we will adjust them according to the economic circumstances of the day," he told the Fairfax Radio Network in Melbourne.

The 2008-09 Migration Program is set at 190,300 places, representing a 19.8 per cent increase on the 2007-08 program. The figure includes 56,500 places for family migrants sponsored by people already in Australia and 133,500 places for those with special skills.

But that's now been criticised as excessively large in a period of economic turmoil.

Mr Rudd said immigration was not one-size-fits-all across the country and the government would take advice on where skilled workers were needed.

Monash University researcher Andrew Markus has estimated that of the 21 million Australians, a quarter were born abroad - twice the proportion of the population in the United States and three times that of Britain.

Britain and New Zealand are still the largest source countries, but almost every country is represented.

wah there's a mini-UN here~ on the other hand, i actually saw on WinTV's ACA that there are more Aussies moving to NZ now cos it's cheaper to stay there~ time for sg ppl to holiday down under too, with the crashing exchange rate of AUD & NZD~

patryn33

Seem like OZ econ not as bad a European or US, considering US rescue package is at US$700B and Europe is at US$2.3T. Oz is just AUD10B. then again, whats the size of Oz Econ vs Europe/US.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/a/-/latest/5079897/rocky-road-ahead-despite-104b-pump/

The federal government's $10.4 billion economic rescue package will take a while to stimulate the economy, Treasurer Wayne Swan admitted.

A "rocky road" still lay ahead, he said.

"That's one of the reasons why the government has moved immediately, to strengthen our economy," he told the Fairfax Radio Network on Wednesday.

He added that a significant cut in interest rates announced by the Reserve Bank a week ago "would take some time to feed through the system".

Pensioners, families and first-home buyers will benefit most from Tuesday's $10.4 billion announcement.

A $21,000 first home owners grant for people purchasing newly built homes was only "a temporary measure" to stimulate the housing market, Mr Swan said.

"It's not there forever ... (it) will give the housing market an immediate boost in a situation where around the country its pretty flat," he said.

Swan says a reform of national credit laws will prevent banks lending to people with no credit worthiness.

The laws had not been nationally consistent to date, he said Wednesday.

"We've already had in planning for some time, reform of national credit laws. Whether there has been lax lending, we're going to put in a stricter profile," he told Macquarie Radio.

He also said the lower Australian dollar would increase the price of imports, but would have overall benefits to the economy.

"It does have some impact on domestic prices but the government takes that into account.

"It means our tourism industry is much more competitive.

"It means all our export industry is much more competitive," he said.

Commenting on the $1,000 per child bonus Prime Minister Kevin Rudd awarded low and middle-income families Tuesday, Mr Swan denied taxpayers were funding too many handouts to people who might spend the money on non-essentials such as plasma televisions.

"I'm a strong defender of family payment systems for kids because really parents out there that are bringing up young ones are bringing up the next generation of Australians."

"We are never going to forget people who are on modest incomes and many of the people who get family payments are on modest incomes."

"Most families have to have one or one and a half incomes just to do the basics of life," he said.

He added the extra income would help repair financial markets.

"The real problem here is in the financial markets, where credit has been choked."

"We are trying to get through this temporary phase..." he said.

Meanwhile Opposition leader Malcolm Turnbull says that Australians deserve to know what "grim" financial forecast had prompted the federal government to hand out its emergency spending package.

"There's no question that the ... government must have received forecasts which were fairly grim, otherwise they've turned on a dime, let's face it," he told ABC radio in Melbourne .

"It's only a couple of weeks ago that they were castigating us ... for daring to suggest that pensioners should get an extra $30 a week on the single aged pension, which would have cost about $1.5 billion.

"That was cheap populism and profligate, and all of those things, a week ago. Now the government's spending $10.4 billion.

"The government's changed its rhetoric completely, it's done a 180-degree turnaround and what the question really has got to be is, what is the advice on which that was based, and I think the public is entitled to know that.

"I think they should make that public because this is a matter of most intense public interest and I'm sure everyone ... would like to know why the government chose to have a stimulus this large."

Mr Turnbull said the government was now using the economic turmoil to get the Senate to pass its tax on alcopops.

He said the government initially justified the tax on health grounds, and when that "spurious justification" was discredited, it said it was necessary to help fight inflation.

"In other words they said we've got to be raising taxes to pull money out of the economy, so as to take a bit of steam out so that inflation doesn't run away," he said.

"Now the government says the tax that was important to slow down the economy, to fight inflation, they now say it's important as part of stimulating the economy. It's completely contradictory.

"The fact is if you want to stimulate the economy you would be cutting taxes."

Meanwhile, former Treasurer Peter Costello says that the best way to protect the economy from a dramatic slowdown is through aggressive interest rate cuts.

"I actually think the response to a potential downturn in the Australian economy is aggressive interest rate cuts," Mr Costello told the Fairfax Radio Network.

"We had one per cent this month, and there will be future interest rate cuts and I think that's right and I think they have to be aggressive."

But he said any cuts would have to be reversed once the economy passed through the crisis.

patryn33

No Reduction in Skilled Migrants for 2009

Friday, 19 December 2008

Immigration Minister Chris Evans has announced that the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) will not reduce the number of skilled migrant visas for the 2009 programme.

This comes as good news as there was increasing concerns that a cut would severely impact on Australia’s economic situation, and would stagnate the economy at a time where it needs to be pushed.

The cap of 133,500 skilled migrants will remain for the 2009 year, although the option to cut the programme will stay on the table.

Changes to the programme include permanent migrants with a job offer and those whose skills are critically needed will be given priority entry into Australia. This will eliminate the current supply-driven system that the programme operates on, and will put more emphasis to a more demand-driven system where occupations that are on the critical shortage list will be given priority processing.

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry Chief Executive Peter Anderson welcomed the changes and stated:

"It reflects a sense of realism about the skills needs of Australian industry being supplemented by a targeted migration programme".

The programme will prioritise more on medical, IT, engineering and constructions skills, which will be applauded by business.

callingmedog

Australia to cut immigration
Mon, Feb 23, 2009
Reuters

CANBERRA - Australia will cut its annual immigration intake for the first time in eight years due to the slowing economy and weakening demand for labour, Immigration Minister Chris Evans said on Monday.

Australia is a nation of immigrants and has been enjoying a boom in new arrivals for the past decade to help meet labour shortages as a China-fuelled mining boom drove unemployment rates to 30-year lows.

But six of Australia's major trading partners are now in recession, economic growth has stalled, and unemployment has started to rise with the government expecting unemployment to hit 7.0 percent by mid-2010 from 4.8 percent currently.

"I expect the numbers of our programme to drop next year ... as a reaction to the economic circumstances," Evans told reporters.

"It is fair to say that we expect the demand in the economy for labour to reduce. As it is a programme very much linked to the demand for labour, we expect to run a smaller programme."

Australia has been accepting immigrants in record numbers in recent years and set a target for 190,300 immigrants this year, up 20 percent on the 2007-08 financial year and higher than the post world war II record of 185,099 in 1969-70.

About one in four of Australia's 21 million people were born overseas, and Australia has been actively trying to attract skilled workers, with immigration fairs targetting university graduates and people with trades in Europe, Britain and India.

At the same time, Australia has begun a trial programme to bring in thousands of seasonal workers from Pacific islands nations to help farmers pick fruit crops in country areas that have suffered acute labour shortages.

Australia's planned immigration intake has increased every year since 1997, although the number actually settling in Australia fell by about 20,000 in 2001-02.

Evans said the final number of immigrants that Australia would accept has yet to be determined. The government would decide that in the lead-up to the national budget to be delivered on May 12.

But he said the government would continue to target immigrants with skills for sectors where there is continued high demand, including the nursing and health sectors.

"We've been focused very much at the high-skill end over the years, and we will continue to be focused on the skills we need," he said.

Evans said about half of the skilled settlers in Australia come as temporary workers and then decide to stay permanently.

Australia has accepted nearly 7 million immigrants since the end of World War II. -REUTERS

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Asia/Story/A1Story20090223-123925.html

patryn33

Skills shortage persists
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/business/story/0,,25166802-5018008,00.html

THE number of international technology professionals seeking Australian permanent residency has increased by about 20 per cent.

Meanwhile, while their local counterparts are fighting tooth and nail to hang on to their jobs.

The IT industry has not escaped the retrenchments affecting other sectors, as most companies tighten their belts and lay off staff.

Thousands employed in Australia's technology sector have lost their jobs in the past 12 months. Last week, SAP Australia said it slashed almost 40 local jobs in line with the demands of its parent company.

Other major players including Telstra, Hewlett-Packard and EDS, have also reduced their workforce.

Technology sector organisations warn that any attempt to reduce the number of skilled migrants could be detrimental to the country's future, but pressure is mounting on the Government to tighten its migration program because of the global financial crisis.

Leading demographer Peter McDonald has called on the Government to be conscious of the likely contribution of migrants over the next 20 years as millions of baby boomers retire.

In mid-December, the Rudd Government revised the migration program for the second half of 2008-09 so employer-sponsored skilled migrants, or those with critically needed skills, would be prioritised for permanent visas.

The changes, applying from January 1, would ensure the migration program was more responsive to the needs of the economy, Minister for Immigration Chris Evans said.

Skills such as SAP, PeopleSoft, Siebel, network security and Java continued to be sought after, according to the department.

Precise statistics for technology professionals on permanent residency visas for the 12 months ending January 31 are not available from the department.

According to early findings by the Australian Computer Society, the number of applications for technology skills assessment increased by about 20 per cent in January-February this year, compared with the same period last year.

The ACS is approved by the Department of Immigration to assess the skills of IT workers prior to lodging a migration application.

ACS chief executive Kim Denham said it was too early to call a long-term trend, but the figures indicated there was still some optimism on job opportunities in the local technology sector.

She said demand for ICT professionals was in specific areas, including "banking and commerce, the minerals processing and mining sectors, agriculture, primary, secondary and tertiary education, business, the environmental and energy sectors, manufacturing and media and entertainment".

"Career opportunities in these areas range from purely technical roles through to those requiring a strong business development focus," Ms Denham said.

The gap in technology sector unemployment was predicted to reach an estimated 25,000 jobs by 2020 and it was vital that migration numbers be maintained -- not reduced -- because of the skills shortage.

"Since 2004 there has been consistent and strong growth in ICT employment, with more than 280,000 technical and professional ICT workers now employed across all Australian industries, making a vital contribution to Australia.

"Results indicate that in order to ease the growing skills gap and maintain economic prosperity, we must maintain 2007-08 inward and outward migration levels, increase local graduate numbers by 12.5 per cent per annum from 2007 figures and reduce the brain drain of ICT professional migrating for overseas employment," Ms Denham said.

The ACS's views were echoed by the Information Technology Contract and Recruitment Association (ITCRA).

"We support the view that there is indeed a skills crisis in the ICT industry in Australia and believe that it does not make sense to put an end to a skilled migration program when there are occupational needs evident in the workplace," ITCRA chief executive Danika Bakalich said.

"We would advise the Government to rethink its plan to cut the number of overseas skilled workers coming into Australia.

"It cannot afford to apply a knee-jerk reaction on this matter and it is important that supply and demand of labour is met with little constraint from government.

"This will become important when the economy does return. We don't want legacy policies that remove options for the industry," Ms Bakalich said.

A spokesman for Immigration Minister Chris Evans said the Government would continue to adjust immigration targets according to the economic circumstances.

"The overwhelming message from business and industry is that we need to maintain a skilled migration program but one that is more targeted," he said.

"The list of skills in critical shortage focuses on medical and key IT professionals, engineers and construction trades. The occupations on the critical skills list are the ones most frequently sought by employers through sponsorship."

As a result of the changes, the skilled migration program may come in below the planned level of 133,500. The Government would set the 2009-10 migration program "in the context of framing next year's budget" and a smaller program had been foreshadowed, he said.

The Government would ensure that overseas workers were not employed ahead of local workers or used to undermine Australian wages and conditions, the spokesman said.

Shiok!

just let me contribute. Sometimes u take a course just because they offer PR for it is not worth it. By the time u finish the course, the course may be no longer in demand. Unless it is the scenario which u just finishing your course and that particular field of work has been removed from the shortage list. Then there could be a chance the immigration could be more lenient.

As of current date , those chef, pastry and plumber has been removed from the most wanted list.Just 1 1/12 years since they announced.

In fact the most wanted skills on their emigration list often changes every year or sometimes every 6 months. Sometimes the same occupation will reappear again few years later as a shortage

Its like a gamble, either u are lucky or not....

Wise thing to do is apply as a skilled migrant with expereince from singapore in watever field u studied in your degree...This is one of the most guaranteed ways which u can land a PR

Shiok!

As for landing a job while studying in Australian university is all depends on yr grades and luck.
I think if yr grades are good, there will companies headhunting Uni graduates over there.

Another thing is building yr local networks while in univerisity. This depends a lot on yr shrewdness, tenacity and mental capacity to talk , behave and act accordingly ( streetsmart).

another way is to marry someone there and get a citizenship. On eof the most easiest way but u have to wait a few years to get it as they need proof that yr marriage of alliance is a genuine one

Shiok!

and also remind u that a university degree in Aus will give u a better chance of gaining PR as the locals do not have high number of degree grads.

vendetta22

just let me contribute. Sometimes u take a course just because they offer PR for it is not worth it. By the time u finish the course, the course may be no longer in demand. Unless it is the scenario which u just finishing your course and that particular field of work has been removed from the shortage list. Then there could be a chance the immigration could be more lenient.

As of current date , those chef, pastry and plumber has been removed from the most wanted list.Just 1 1/12 years since they announced.

In fact the most wanted skills on their emigration list often changes every year or sometimes every 6 months. Sometimes the same occupation will reappear again few years later as a shortage

Its like a gamble, either u are lucky or not....

Wise thing to do is apply as a skilled migrant with expereince from singapore in watever field u studied in your degree...This is one of the most guaranteed ways which u can land a PR

pastry cook no longer on the list? which site did u get ur info from?

patryn33

Australia slashes immigration as recession looms
http://www.reuters.com/article/lifestyleMolt/idUSTRE52F1HM20090316
CANBERRA (Reuters) - Australia will cut its intake of migrants for the first time in a decade, the government said on Monday, amid concern that skilled foreign workers could stoke resentment by taking jobs at a time of rising unemployment.

With a recession looming and the center-left government expecting unemployment to reach 7 percent by mid-2010, Immigration Minister Chris Evans said the intake of skilled migrants would be reduced by about 14 percent.

Australia goes to the polls in late 2010 and immigration has been a charged issue in past polls, particularly following economic downturn.

A leading migration expert, former government official Bob Kinnaird, said record recent migrant arrivals in a fast shrinking job market were leading to "highly combustible" conditions in regional areas, where many new arrivals had settled.

Australia is a nation of immigrants and has been enjoying a boom in new arrivals for the past decade to help meet labor shortages as a China-fueled mining boom drove unemployment rates to 30-year lows.

But six of Australia's major trading partners are now in recession and economic growth has stalled. The country moved a step closer to recession this month with the first contraction in eight years and the economy shrinking by 0.5 percent.

Australia's jobless rate spiked to 5.2 percent from 4.8 percent last month with the biggest impact felt by full-time workers. Some economists fear unemployment levels could go as high as 10 percent.

Evans said the immigration intake next year would be cut to 115,000, from 133,500 in 2008-09.

"MADNESS REIGNS"

In major resource states Queensland and Western Australia, retrenched mine workers returning to their home towns found that jobs there had been filled by foreign workers, sparking resentment, Kinnaird said.

"You could say in those last few months that madness has reigned," he told the Brisbane Times newspaper.

The ruling Labor Party, with its roots in the workers' movement, should have acted sooner to cut migration as economic conditions cooled to lance any voter backlash and ease tensions in critical country voting areas, he said.

But the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry said the government needed to be wary of tinkering with immigration, as many skilled employment areas still faced a worker shortage and lack of workers could crimp an economic recovery.

"We would have preferred a status quo position," chamber Chief Executive Peter Anderson said.

Evans, who removed hairdressers and cooks off Australia's critical occupation shortage list at Christmas, said he was now also deleting foreign bricklayers, plumbers, carpenters and electricians from the list that guides skilled migration intake.

Further cuts were likely in the May 12 budget, he said, leaving only health occupations, engineering and information technology skills as needed skills.

"What we'll look to do is run a smaller program and keep the capacity to make sure we can bring in any labor we might need as the year develops," Evans said.

The government hopes its recently announced A$42 billion ($27.5 billion) stimulus package, including cash handouts and infrastructure spending, will help the economy through the downturn.

Shiok!

let me make it simple

if u want to get PR in Australia , u just need 2 things

degree + stated work expereince

there is also the other route

Expereinced in a Trade related field.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.