Australia PR

cosycatus

Don't rule out Business migration as well

ok...bumping up this thread...

i'm a chemical engineer working for about 3 years
what's my chances of getting an australia PR??

Read bits and pieces all over past threads...

1. Basically, i have to apply online.
2. Sit for ITELs. Get a decent score ( 7 every section ?)
3. Overall points must get >120 ( my occupation gives me 60, so what makes up the rest of the points? Age, gender ? where can i get the info)
4. How long does it take?

justinmicoud

ok...bumping up this thread...

i'm a chemical engineer working for about 3 years
what's my chances of getting an australia PR??

Read bits and pieces all over past threads...

1. Basically, i have to apply online.
2. Sit for ITELs. Get a decent score ( 7 every section ?)
3. Overall points must get >120 ( my occupation gives me 60, so what makes up the rest of the points? Age, gender ? where can i get the info)
4. How long does it take?

Have a look into this website. You should be in this subclass: Skilled – Independent (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 175). More information here.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/175/eligibility-applicant.htm

You'll need to get ITELS result of >7 for each section (Listening, reading, writing and conversation) Any section less than 7 is not sufficient. You can apply for this test with RELC. I've personally taken the test, it's not that hard to get >7 for each section.

I think the immigration website will tell you everything that you wish to know.

Hope it helps

camerah

my aunt and uncle(2 families) are australians.
I plan to study thr after my NS and get a PR.
So will it be easier?

cosycatus

Have a look into this website. You should be in this subclass: Skilled – Independent (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 175). More information here.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/175/eligibility-applicant.htm

You'll need to get ITELS result of >7 for each section (Listening, reading, writing and conversation) Any section less than 7 is not sufficient. You can apply for this test with RELC. I've personally taken the test, it's not that hard to get >7 for each section.

I think the immigration website will tell you everything that you wish to know.

Hope it helps

wooo..thanks, i find myself with 130 points!! hahaha...how long does it take from start of application?
what u doing in assuie now?

justinmicoud

wooo..thanks, i find myself with 130 points!! hahaha...how long does it take from start of application?
what u doing in assuie now?

There are 2 kinds of PR you can look into. On-shore PR requires you to be in Australia once you lodged in your application. You are not allowed to leave Australia unless it's for an emergency situation. They will issue you a bridging visa which is like a temporary status so that you can stay in Australia for an extended period of time whilst waiting for your PR application to be complete. You can start applying for jobs once you get your bridging visa. Onshore PR application will take anywhere between 2 months (very rare) to 8+ months to be complete.

Off-shore PR, as the name implies means that you can stay in Singapore while lodging an application for PR in Australia. The procedure is almost similar, but you are not issued a bridging visa upon application. The whole application might take >1 year. Once you've been issued with PR status, you are free to stay in Australia indefinitely.

Make sure that you are extremely meticulous in filling up the application. Incomplete applications might further delay the application process. You don't have to look for specialized agents to help you fill up the forms (cost a lot, not sure whether they offer such services, but in Australia they might cost anywhere from 1-2K aud.)

I am back in Singapore now. Due to a number of reasons, mostly financial issues, I am unable to prolong my stay in Australia. You have a PM by the way, hope you can help me out there.

Cheers

seianko

hair dressing n cooks are not in the list early last year....but it comes with a condition. u hv to study in their tafe. now it is totally out. economy is affected there as well.

seianko

sounds complicated.....surprise to see u on this forum dude....i came back from mel 3 yrs ago gg back there next yr i hope. i hv filed for my pr..last yr =)

Dear cosycatus:

it is cheper to do PR there.....with an agent.

to do it here, it is diff story entirely unless u are grad from uni within6 mths..ELSE..u MUS hv 2 years degree related working experiences.

process is 6 to 24 mths. depends on ur occupation piority status.
PR is a compliacted issue....as far as i am concern, apply is simple it is the process and the after getting PR compliacted.

PLS dun apply jus bcos u like that place.....there are alot of hidden things u might hv missed. For instance, their TAX system can be v complicated. As long as u hv properties in other parts of the world, u r liable for tax. i am not sure if inheirtance/ funds/share is considered. am still "studying".

none of my local frds does their own tax...they pay ppl to do it. This shows....its complexity comapre to sg.

To conclude, pls do some study be4 doign PR. To secure an job is another problem....=)
I hv frds whu giveup PR after applying it.....

chem engine....mmmm hv a frd went there in apr secure a job. i can tell u the pay is not nice at all. if u work for company like exxon, teh pay there is nicer than my frd is getting.....right now is jus a bad time.
----

business migration is getting harder. u hv to be darn loaded. the trade of business matters as well.
-----------

Marrige or de facto comes with responsiblilty. u dun wan to b blacklisted. so dun give such a lousy idea.

-------------

alot of singaporeans / msian go aus with a burden....word of advice is accept understand dun compare. tat wil make ur life easier.

seianko

No Reduction in Skilled Migrants for 2009

Friday, 19 December 2008
they will nvr reduce the no of migrants....they cant do that for many reasons. i wun state it here.
BUT what they will do is to continual tighten the requirement for it...

============

saintsu,
I had a frd who wrote letters to recuitment agency to y not accept non PR. 1 agent was kidn enuff to reply. In short, the coy generally dun wanna risk retrianing the staff. they wan loyal ppl ....they dun wan trouble doing paper work n stuff. Yes even being a pr might resign. but they dun hv the asian culture of job hopping; so i can say ppl there stay in 1 job for as long as they can unless they switch path. IMO, they prefer to give oppunities to ppl whu r aussies and/or 2nd tier citizen then "outsiders"....
====

I can safely say enginee (mech/elec/comps) will b in demand .... y? long sty and i dun wan to "attack" the ossies.

seianko

and also remind u that a university degree in Aus will give u a better chance of gaining PR as the locals do not have high number of degree grads.
yes n no. aus deg gets u a job ...not becos locals mostly arent grads. they take care of their products n highly pride their products....even if u are harvard...u r = a speck of dust to them. cos it aint aussie degree.

to take a degree in aust for a local is CHEAP.

patryn33

yes n no. aus deg gets u a job ...not becos locals mostly arent grads. they take care of their products n highly pride their products....even if u are harvard...u r = a speck of dust to them. cos it aint aussie degree.

wow! that much pride!
no wonder when I met oz ppl from curtin doing exchange in UK, USA.. 1st thing they say is coursework in OZ so much harder!

lycans

wat is the current PR requirements for maintaining PR?

cosycatus

Dear cosycatus:

it is cheper to do PR there.....with an agent.

to do it here, it is diff story entirely unless u are grad from uni within6 mths..ELSE..u MUS hv 2 years degree related working experiences.

process is 6 to 24 mths. depends on ur occupation piority status.
PR is a compliacted issue....as far as i am concern, apply is simple it is the process and the after getting PR compliacted.

PLS dun apply jus bcos u like that place.....there are alot of hidden things u might hv missed. For instance, their TAX system can be v complicated. As long as u hv properties in other parts of the world, u r liable for tax. i am not sure if inheirtance/ funds/share is considered. am still "studying".

none of my local frds does their own tax...they pay ppl to do it. This shows....its complexity comapre to sg.

To conclude, pls do some study be4 doign PR. To secure an job is another problem....=)
I hv frds whu giveup PR after applying it.....

chem engine....mmmm hv a frd went there in apr secure a job. i can tell u the pay is not nice at all. if u work for company like exxon, teh pay there is nicer than my frd is getting.....right now is jus a bad time.
----

business migration is getting harder. u hv to be darn loaded. the trade of business matters as well.
-----------

Marrige or de facto comes with responsiblilty. u dun wan to b blacklisted. so dun give such a lousy idea.

-------------

alot of singaporeans / msian go aus with a burden....word of advice is accept understand dun compare. tat wil make ur life easier.

I intend to study there actually, not work, so taxes etc all dun come into play. Obtaining PR is a cheap way for me to pay for studies and not bounded by the work max 20 hours a week rule.
And the exxon pay there is nowhere near the exxon pay in singapore. though the hours are more humane...lol

seianko

lolz....u hv to nego the benefits n pay package.....there are alot of underlyings things. I dun wan to spell it out down here. but i can hint u...it all abt taxes. =)
N the locals will nver tell u wads their remunation package....even if they do i doubt the creditbility. once again it is culture differences. =)
Engine base pay over in aus is way higher than SG even after tax. I can afford to buy house n car but i will never able to do that in sg. unless i am doing sales in sg.
====

I am not sure if u enjoy the benefits of local study fee once u get ur pr. many benefits only kciks in after 2 yrs being PR. not sure if it means 2 years staying in aust. U have better to chk it out. there are alot of things they dun put it offical in webby.

lycans, eh the systems changes alot for maintianing a PR. for instance john apply in 2001 Jan...they change the ruling in apr, but it dun affect john cos he has throw in b4 apr....so i cant exactly tell u wads the new thing cos i dun care..i still fall under the old system. 2/5 yrs in aust.

There is a catch here....i do not necessary stay in aust to maintian PR.....which is wad everyones knows abt. Again this is law loop hole. be my guest to figure it out.

jialat i seems to looping holes like a rabbit. BTW dun buy in too much on 20 hr work week. its BULL shyte. cos i seen many mnay mnay many ppl 40hrs a week or more...basically they slp 4 per day....skip classes too. XD....

oh ya patyn33, yes they are prideful like a COCK.....=P...i am so bad.....even their AFL logo is CHICKEN....
if u stay there long enuff....u will realise..they even take pride in their accent...which can be told from the speaker when u landed in aus in quantas ariway....and their commercial
[HOLDEN gives the best deals in Australia] in the typical unmistakenable aussie accent. My aussie frds always joke abt it over beers.

schwork there is hard depends which uni u r in and wad faculty. in melb rmit, mel U n montash is pain in the neck. i had lotsa fun there too...so i din do that well.....BUT end of the day i still hv a job=) they do hv higher requirement on courseworks...for instance, i had to submit lab report...written like a masters thesis quoting 8 books n 1 journal n 1 net refernece as minimum everyweek starting from 3rd week...imagine when i hv 4 modules which has lab....plus bi-weekly mini assignemnt and 1 major assignemnt. plus my FYP....i was drained. If ur command of english is weak....habeis.....my graduating class has this game going....whu wrote the most...pressure sia
libraries was my 2nd home..those were the days.....=) but i nvr regret....it was FUN

patryn33

lolz....u hv to nego the benefits n pay package.....there are alot of underlyings things. I dun wan to spell it out down here. but i can hint u...it all abt taxes. =)
N the locals will nver tell u wads their remunation package....even if they do i doubt the creditbility. once again it is culture differences. =)
Engine base pay over in aus is way higher than SG even after tax. I can afford to buy house n car but i will never able to do that in sg. unless i am doing sales in sg.

really cool! going as expat man! can afford a house and a nice car.

maybe U can help out this dude
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=37547488#post37547488
Is UK a better place to work and earn more $$ than Aussie??

lycans

====

How much is engineer base pay?

seianko

in sg? average is 3.2k with exp for oil n gas....this excludes ot n othr benefits.
in oz...=) i loev this part...annual leave ...XD 20 days..wahahahhaa.......before tax..u can get a min giv n take 5k min. but they dun do it mthly...they do it annual..abt 60k annual.....but this is on the v low end. (2 yrs exp)

on peak enconomy, can nego 70k. for 3 yrs exp.
=========================

i cant comment on UK salary. but UK is a chionging plc...morehappening more fun than oz. =)

for banking n finance, work in UK...for engine...ermm....i cant comment for all. wad i can say is wad in learn in sg may not b applicable...unless u are a v experienced engineer.
cos u will hardly get a few hundred million proj whilst working in SG.

diff proj scale require a total diff set of skill in project managing, designing n planning. knowledge required on equipemts is a challenge. for example, in uk itis not uncommon to see EHT 132kV..in sg only some places hv 66kV.....and u dun get a chance to "experiment" on that from scratch.

civil too.... it is a diff weather climate. calculations can be different.

plus england SNOW so.....i say it is a diff set of knowledge

but UK need alot of health care personnel.
==================================

when i say u can afford car n house in oz...cos in sg it is way too ex....even food is ex.
few things ex ex ex in aus is transport n rent. er...makan out is one fo them too; lastly telco bills. but to homecook it is CHEAP. v v CHEAP. ermmm, utilities, is cheper when u hv > 2 ppl in teh same house. diff from sg is, it is v transparent...i roughly pay 30-44 aud per mth. in sg....service tax is 25sgd per mth excluds alot of other things.

patryn33

in sg? average is 3k with exp for oil n gas....this excludes ot n othr benefits.
in oz...=) i loev this part...annual leave ...XD 20 days..wahahahhaa.......before tax..u can get a min giv n take 5k min. but they dun do it mthly...they do it annual..abt 60k annual.....but this is on the v low end.

on peak enconomy, can nego 70k.

thats just SWEET low end its already AUD$60K (thats with 2yr of experience?), peak Econ can go AUD$70K thats strange (peak Econ only AUD$10K diff)! b4 tax still can bring home AUD$5K min! after tax we are looking at what? OZ is big, even in ulu places like TAS pay scale is the same?
mortgage on housing and loan on car tax deductible?
with that kind of $$ can afford what kind of house?
a AUD$300K easy? big like 2000sq ft and pool? The mortgage terms there like what? zero down, can finance all.

even hawker centre food is more ex than OZ! waliao! screwed man!
do U mean grocery is cheap, cooking at home is cheaper than SG?
can compare some prices OZ prices vs price our mummy get at wet market.

U mentioned transportation is ex. I bet U mean public transport. since U are getting your own ride, cost of car and gas, everyone know its cheaper than SG. what about cost of keep the car like Insurance, oil change/repairs etc.

ermmm, utilities, is cheper when u hv > 2 ppl in teh same house. diff from sg is, it is v transparent...i roughly pay 30-44 aud per mth. in sg....service tax is 25sgd per mth excluds alot of other things.

this I don't get. how is SG not transparent? some hidden charges?
http://services.spservices.sg/cs_services_new_utitlity_bill.htm
in SG if I was to rent, don't we split Utilities with housemate? I stay with parents no idea how that work in SG.

seianko

70k..is sweet cos 2 yrs exp for engineers is still consider as junior entry patyn.

I am not gd wif their tax, am meetin a finacial planner from aus for 1st time free consultation. BUT there is a general way of accounting their tax system which can be found in internet. I dun wan to comment on their tax cos it is v complicated according to a frd doing CPA. I do sorta knw sth but sorta is not v v confident so i dun wan to misled ppl over here....their tax can be as high as 45%-50% i THINK...

I am oni lookin at 300k house in faraway suburb =) step by step slowly....housing loan is another set of knowledge too long to write here. basically u hv to go to bank to get them assess what is ur MAX borrowing pwr, unlike in sg we pay 1% deposit for condo den look for loans...for aust they can ask for 20% deposit....some houses oni require 5% in generall 10% is the common. BUT 300k can get u a nice townhouse and its freehold. good deal...u never get anything 300k in sg if u r a single....=( i dun wanna get married jus becos i wan my own place.

i dun drive. so i cant say much. there are many categories for car insur in aus and speaking of rules n regulation they can be v strict. thier version of vicom is as pain in the ass -- my sg pal say so....this i canot confirm cos i dun own a license YET. BTW license there is easier n cheaper to get it.....say 800aud =)
petrol price ovr there changes everyday. long shot notmuch diff from SG. cos the dist is FAR.....vic state drive from city to zone 3 is like orchard road drive out 1 hr. avergae drive tehre is 20 - 30 mins.
i can only est 100 dollars u save oni average 2-3% compare to sg...so i dun find it that chepo.
imagine every wkend u drive to msia....like KL.....petrol drink like water.

in aus, the more u buy from wetmkt the cheaper. how so..? 1 sack of potation/onion =$2. u buy a few is 1.50aud....BUT if u stay alone u wun buy a sack.
i can get these:
12aud 1 kg of green prawns
8aud 12 oysters
10 aud 2.5 piece of fish fillet...(weighs abt 1-2kg)took me near 2 weeks to finish it solo
10aud a tray of rump steak....(thats 5 pieces...2 cm per piece)
1 aud 1 HUGMONOUS white lettuces
2 aud 1BOX of fruits ( u mus go at right timin)[my best bargin was a box full of nice green grapes seedless =D]
5aud 1 kg of button mushroom(but can only keep for 3 days)
1aud 1 HUGMONOUS white carrot
last time 3.98aud can get 1 kg for drumlettes at chinese grocer now i dunno how much....
but i know sometimes i buy cooked drumsstick (3qty) for 1aud. only in city cos its closing time...reduced price.=)
2aud 6 cloves of garlics....
1 pumkin 1 aud....
sat special's 3 stack of ham 5 aud. and i always get extra stack....dun ask me y the boss like me.

to be cont.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.