Australia PR

luckyboi

sgpeasant said:
u sure??

why do i feel like worse than a FT??
u are just too pampered by government, so u lose the courage to fight with someone who is better than u...

so u will feel the same wherever u are...not only here...

seianko

The last time i understand that having a abv B Grade O gce english is better than IELTS so meaning do i need to take IELTS again?

seianko

International students who are unable to meet the new requirements for a permanent skilled visa will have an opportunity to apply for an 18 month Skilled-Graduate (subclass 485) to build on their skills and work experience. This visa will have unrestricted work rights.

from the website.

angst22

seianko said:
The last time i understand that having a abv B Grade O gce english is better than IELTS so meaning do i need to take IELTS again?
Yes, all applicants who are not having english as their first language and am native speaker or english, native speaker meaning holding passport of UK, USA, Canada, NZ or Ireland, have to take IELTS.

Hence, regardless of singaporeans who have B3 for english at O Levels, we have to take IELTS.

patryn33

seianko said:
International students who are unable to meet the new requirements for a permanent skilled visa will have an opportunity to apply for an 18 month Skilled-Graduate (subclass 485) to build on their skills and work experience. This visa will have unrestricted work rights.

from the website.
any quota for this VISA? does the quota sub divide among different nationality?

fishbuff

brainbird said:
now the aus PR thingy is a bit tricky...

i wonder for this case:
studied in brisbane, degree for 1yr8mths.
came back to work for a while
now going to melbourne for a 1.5yrs masters course...

qualified for PR based on study points?
meaning adding the 1.5yrs to 1yr8mths... although in between a break.

if so, when can start applying and usually how long it takes to qualify?.. in order to have lower tuition fees and able to start working over there...?

i learned from this taiwanese young chap that this is how he did it;

- we all know that chefs is one of the MODL skill set.
- he went to study pastry, hoping to graduate and apply for PR.
- then use the PR and apply to a local uni and get much lower fees.
- teach tennis on the side lines.

and he is barely 16 years old.

Zetta83

fishbuff said:

A young dude with abit of cash and knows what he wants. To study pastry and live in aussie you still need abit of capital.

patryn33

fishbuff said:

he doing it now? or he did that already? then it is b4 the change isn't it?

patryn33

so nice, paying fresh grad no experience FT higher rate than Ang Mo.
Ang Mo no complain? here ppl go siao liao..

lycans

PR can get lower school fees than international students rite?

currently i am studying vet science, and i'm 23 yrs old...any way to get PR here ? :o

the voice at the back of my head says no, but i'm an eternal optimist :s22:

silviachef

fishbuff said:
Similiar to what I'm doing, cept I I find study a degree for me now is not really that impt, unless, I do hopitality courses and try my luck in the hotel side.

Zetta83

patryn33 said:
comparable higher than local?
No not comparing to the locals but sg. Higher pay naturally means higher tax. :) I can live with that.

patryn33

Indeed, much higher than SG. can drive nice car!

http://www.gradcareers.com.au/careers_in_business_finance_management/banking_and_finance

Graduate salaries
Graduate salaries have increased significantly over the last three years, and they continue to rise. Salaries for finance graduates vary depending on the industry. The 2007 AAGE Survey reported a 4.4% increase in the median salary for finance graduates from $45 700 in 2006 to $47 000 in 2007. The survey also reported that positions in investment banks, mining companies and energy, water or utility firms have the highest starting salaries for 2007. According to the 2006 Hays Accountancy and finance salary survey, salaries for finance professionals are rising, and range from $37 500 for entry-level / graduate positions to $200 000+ for finance executives depending upon the industry and the specific role.
anyone know how to get PR while still at School? Which major is best?

saintsu

Hi all, I had just lodged my PR application about 1 month ago.
I was rushing to get the application lodged before 1st Sep because as of then, graduates won't be able to get PR directly. Graduates will require a graduate work visa for 2 years but provided you have a sponsor (employer) to give you that. It won't be easy because personally I had tried looking for a decent job without PR, its quite a bitch.

I had a confrontation with the immigration officer about this issue, not a violent one but just a commenting on the change. The officer claimed that the change is good for us as it allows us to blend into the work culture, tax and pay system in Aust but I slapped him with the fact that I, being a BachIT(Hon I), was having difficulty to find a job. How is it helping us when we can't find a sponsor? He kept quiet and told me to try harder and lower my expectation. How low can I get when I applied for graduate entry position? It was kinda sucky feeling. I got turned down my companies because of having no PR.

With a work visa, worker has to pay at least 30% tax upfront. And on top of that, there will be super contribution (CPF). That will amount up to 40%. I definitely won't be too glad with that.

saintsu

patryn33 said:
Indeed, much higher than SG. can drive nice car!

http://www.gradcareers.com.au/careers_in_business_finance_management/banking_and_finance

anyone know how to get PR while still at School? Which major is best?

Basically being engineer, accountant (CPA), doctors help alot. While at school, its quite hard to apply unless you are in graduate school and you base your application on your undergrad degree. If you are doing finance, banking and biz, you can almost forget about applying unless you have other factors that would warrant you to more points. To apply for PR, one requires 115 points for offshore application or 120 for on shore application. I have friends in commerce, he only had 115 by the time he has completed his masters. He required sponsorship from his relative in australia to get the extra 5 points.
One can buy AUD100,000 bond from the government to get an additional 5 points as well. There are other factors for the additional 5 points.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.