Australia PR

nikobell

They're more racist towards indians (especially in melbourne). From personal experience, I have seen the Australian war veterans say bad things to asian people because they think they're Japanese. Also, there are so many PRCs international students in Australia. I do tend to get annoyed at them even in Singapore because they are generally quite rude, e.g. eating in libraries, talking loudly in chinese in lectures. Most aussies think we are all from China, hence there is some hatred/racisim which is quite understandable from their point of view.

i also think SG cannot make it. i am migrating out in future too.

most likely i will go places like hk / or shanghai , at least same skin color , not that bad.

or maybe canada...haha

most likely i will go places like hk / or shanghai , at least same skin color , not that bad.

or maybe canada...haha

SG is still good, I like it. You get paid well if you do a professional job. Why so down about SG?

patryn33

or maybe canada...haha

cannot survive in SG go HK or Shanghai? those places isn't more competitive?
Shanghai tons of elite PRC flock there. Around shanghai so many Elite Uni. even our local ivy grads may not be able to compete with those Jiao Da, Zhejiang Uni grads. If U expect expat compensation U think ppl hire U? esp they can easily hire the next PRC dude for lower rate.

HK, I know ppl who went to to do sales/finance.. SG cannot make it.. there.. if U cannot make it U are weeded out.. dog eat dog world. not like HK can make ppl kind joes there lend U a helping hand.

Zetta83

Than rest assured you will hate HK and Shanghai even more. You will have nobody to depend on, no friends, no family and probably no network. You look like one of them but your sg accent gives you alway. The cost of living is much higher in these cities (even beijing is lower). The laws are tighter and you maybe treated as their "AT".

But if you are fine with that, then go with your guts.

wonder how's working in darwin like..

My mum and dad worked in Darwin before. It's really hot and desert-like. There are also a lot of aboriginals there. Many of them are aggressive when drunk (which happens even at day time). I don't know much about the working environment. But it is certainly very boring compared to Sydney.

patryn33

u cannot make it , does not means i cannot make it mah....
i will try my best.
survive in SG? is not say cannot survive but dun like SG.

u dun liks SG... u sure u'll enjoy HK or Shanghai?
SG don't like why?
Politics here? u think there better?
weather? not as if there is any better..
cost of housing? u think there cheap meh?
tax? sure HK is extremely low... china can learn to siam..

in bold... how u know I cannot make it? ppl like u pt fingers like that without much though.. go china behave this way just get beat up and still don't know what hit u.

Going to Shanghai or HK is like a small fish in a big ocean. It's ok if you work in Singapore and your company transfers you there. But if you intend to just get a job there, GG for you. Better brush up on your cantonese or shanghainese.

If you want a less stressful working environment, work in Australia.

Anyway,working in Singapore is great if you have a professional job (lawyer, doctor, civil engineer). Low taxes and cheap food. The only expensive expenses are houses and cars. As long as you don't commit crimes, working in Singapore can work to your favour.

u cannot make it , does not means i cannot make it mah....

i will try my best.

survive in SG? is not say cannot survive but dun like SG.

Dont accuse patryn of not being able to 'make it'. He was just helping you. He's just correcting how naive you are. Shanghai is definitely more stressful, more populated and there is more pollution. The PRCs can work harder than you and at a cheaper rate. To each his own, you don't have to point the finger.

Zetta83

Ok... lets get back to the topic. I have recently applied for PR, but must wait for aleast 2 years for assessment as I do not have any work experience. I'm mentally prepared to wait, but cannot leave the country in the meantime abit sian (no valid reason to leave). Anyone in the same situation as me? Haha.

After a year of work, should I:
1) Continue waiting?
2) Spend money to reapply PR with my new work exp status?

Really wonder, how would it be like 1-2 years from now. :)

perosoka

Ok... lets get back to the topic. I have recently applied for PR, but must wait for aleast 2 years for assessment as I do not have any work experience. I'm mentally prepared to wait, but cannot leave the country in the meantime abit sian (no valid reason to leave). Anyone in the same situation as me? Haha.

1) Continue waiting?

why dont u have any work experience at 27 years old? u doing phd?

villan

1) Continue waiting?

you found a job without PR?

Zetta83

Got some, but free-lancing not counted (36.25hours aleast). And no, just completed my masters, but may consider phd or EMBA down the road.

patryn33

Got some, but free-lancing not counted (36.25hours aleast). And no, just completed my masters, but may consider phd or EMBA down the road.

EMBA? that much further down the road right? ppl doing MBA on avg do have 5yrs of working experience. those doing EMBA generally have more than 10yrs under their belt.

patryn33

SG need to knock down NS liability..
OZ Phd isn't 3-4yrs? if one is A level.. 20yrs fresh out of NS.. go Uni.. 4yrs.
around 27yrs old clear Phd loh... getting PR with a Phd in OZ i reckon much easier.

ppl with Poly Dip.. 21-22yrs out of NS.. go Uni.. lucky 2yrs clear liao! else maybe another 4yrs.
research masters 2yrs, otherwise maybe 1yr. so 27yrs old is about right too..

jacqqq

u dun liks SG... u sure u'll enjoy HK or Shanghai?
SG don't like why?
Politics here? u think there better?
weather? not as if there is any better..
cost of housing? u think there cheap meh?
tax? sure HK is extremely low... china can learn to siam..

in bold... how u know I cannot make it? ppl like u pt fingers like that without much though.. go china behave this way just get beat up and still don't know what hit u.

actually i think i will enjoy hk/shanghai.

i am ok with hk/shanghai. just dun wan to be in SG thats all.

i can survive anywhere one lah , i holding professional job. relax...

and i know hk/shanghai is competitive...

jacqqq

Than rest assured you will hate HK and Shanghai even more. You will have nobody to depend on, no friends, no family and probably no network. You look like one of them but your sg accent gives you alway. The cost of living is much higher in these cities (even beijing is lower). The laws are tighter and you maybe treated as their "AT".

But if you are fine with that, then go with your guts.

no friends , no family, no one to depend on? actually quite ok for me lah.

network sure have de.

its a price to be paid for migrating to overseas anyway.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.