Australia PR

patryn33

actually i think i will enjoy hk/shanghai.

i am ok with hk/shanghai. just dun wan to be in SG thats all.

i can survive anywhere one lah , i holding professional job. relax...

and i know hk/shanghai is competitive...

nikobell is U???
my comment is to him...

looking to just survive? thats easy....
my uncle is in finance with a good 4-5yrs of experience in SG choose go shanghai to work. in the day work in bank and at nite teach English tuition also can make rmb$8-10K. according to him he was bringing home less in HK. survival is definitely not an issue here.. ppl leave for many reasons, maybe $$, career prospects etc.

professional job as in medicine, law?

2wiremodem

nikobell is U???
my comment is to him...

looking to just survive? thats easy....
my uncle is in finance with a good 4-5yrs of experience in SG choose go shanghai to work. in the day work in bank and at nite teach English tuition also can make rmb$8-10K. according to him he was bringing home less in HK. survival is definitely not an issue here.. ppl leave for many reasons, maybe $$, career prospects etc.

professional job as in medicine, law?

Seems like he got 3 accounts?? haha

8th feb, australian had some news right? bout changing the SOL list and some changes to PR application or something. I heard from a friend that accountant will be taken out of the SOL list, anyone can confirm?? thanks!

lycans

8th feb, australian had some news right? bout changing the SOL list and some changes to PR application or something. I heard from a friend that accountant will be taken out of the SOL list, anyone can confirm?? thanks!

I hope they dont take out veterinarian from SOL

alvina87

Yes accountant will be taken off the list come 1/7/2010. But what the new list will comprise of nobody knows as yet.. so if u're an accountant like me, you have till 1/7/2010 for the immi AU to receive ur application! which i intend to do.. :)

yodatan

I read somewhere australia still got shortage of accountants? Apparently all the immigrant accountants lack the necessary language skills for workplace communication.. So they need accountants who can speak and write good English.. Anyone knows about this?

edit: i found the news article! this is quite recent, last week only...

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100208/ap_on_re_as/as_australia_immigration

Quote: Australia continues to have a shortage of accountants, partly because many of the 40,000 accountants who immigrated in the past five years did not have the professional or language skills to find work, Evans said.

amerell

i think they are jus gonna tighten on the english proficiency tests. Wait for the new list in July then we can see what happens next.

patryn33

freshie wouldn't be able to qualify.. good news for ppl who did their Dl here in SG.. work 2-3yrs and apply for such VISA.

http://www.cpaaustralia.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/SID-3F57FECB-B0551CF7/cpa/hs.xsl/1019_32087_ENA_HTML.htm

CPA Australia today warned that any restrictions on the number of skilled accountants migrating to Australia had the capacity to cause long-term damage to the nation's economy.

CPA Australia president Richard Petty said the Federal Government should ensure accountants remain on the Critical Skills List for skilled migrant intake as there is still a significant shortage in the accounting profession.

'The Government has indicated the Critical Skills List will remain under constant review and it will remove occupations from the list if demand for those skills can be satisfied by local labour,' Professor Petty said.
'However there is, and is likely to be for many years, a shortage of qualified and skilled accountants. There are thousands of accounting positions being advertised across Australia today and the latest industry forecasts* are predicting growth in the profession this year despite the downturn, he said.
'Independent projections also estimate the profession will continue to grow in many areas, particularly work related to insolvency, corporate restructuring and mergers and acquisitions.

Zetta83

EMBA? that much further down the road right? ppl doing MBA on avg do have 5yrs of working experience. those doing EMBA generally have more than 10yrs under their belt.
Yup... Very very very... Maybe in my late 30s or early 40s.

Zetta83

SG need to knock down NS liability..
OZ Phd isn't 3-4yrs? if one is A level.. 20yrs fresh out of NS.. go Uni.. 4yrs.
around 27yrs old clear Phd loh... getting PR with a Phd in OZ i reckon much easier.

ppl with Poly Dip.. 21-22yrs out of NS.. go Uni.. lucky 2yrs clear liao! else maybe another 4yrs.
research masters 2yrs, otherwise maybe 1yr. so 27yrs old is about right too..
Yup.. I'm in the second catergory and I did one extra year (normal academic) :)

Zetta83

No matter what, if you are interested in getting PR, do put in your application before 1st July 2010 if the current SOL benefits you.

acanthophis

SG need to knock down NS liability..
OZ Phd isn't 3-4yrs? if one is A level.. 20yrs fresh out of NS.. go Uni.. 4yrs.
around 27yrs old clear Phd loh... getting PR with a Phd in OZ i reckon much easier.

ppl with Poly Dip.. 21-22yrs out of NS.. go Uni.. lucky 2yrs clear liao! else maybe another 4yrs.
research masters 2yrs, otherwise maybe 1yr. so 27yrs old is about right too..

Australian PhD 3-4 years full time

Poly people who do nursing in Singapore can apply for PR in Australia if they have 3 out of 4 years experience.

other countries standard of living may be high , but their salary are also similarly higher.

Yes, their salaries may be higher but their taxes are higher too. In Australia, the top tax bracket is approx 46%-48% of your taxable income applicable to that bracket. Singapore has really low tax even if you even 100k and beyond. My uncle only paid 14% as a whole of his total income.

I'm not trying to convince you that Singapore or the overseas country is better, it's just the grass is always greener at the other side. It's pays to dig deeper, do more research and not take everything surface deep.

patryn33

thats so true.

if U are heading to HK, the tax is lower than SG. Salary is higher, but U trade it off with stress and smaller living space. the cost of sending your kids to childcare maybe high too.

SG U can walk in to see a doc for cold/flu.
OZ, I doubt U can do that. Need to call early in the morning to make arrangement else head to ER. I have heard med care is free, so ppl can abuse ER?

there are plus/minus in every country no matter where u wanna go. So long U are comfortable with their rules and not complain about it later and say this I also dun like. GREAT!

acanthophis

Yes, their salaries may be higher but their taxes are higher too. In Australia, the top tax bracket is approx 46%-48% of your taxable income applicable to that bracket. Singapore has really low tax even if you even 100k and beyond. My uncle only paid 14% as a whole of his total income.

I'm not trying to convince you that Singapore or the overseas country is better, it's just the grass is always greener at the other side. It's pays to dig deeper, do more research and not take everything surface deep.

Worked in Australia - benefits (i.e. salary packaging) can bring it down to 27%, first AUD$ 6000 free for residents who reside in Australia for taxation purposes . 46 -48% applies to those who do not declare their tax file number.

Of course, if you migrate to Australia to be a dishwasher, don't expect much.

If you come in professionally , the taxes may be high but if you have the right financial smarts, you can pay off your own home within 15 years.

patryn33

If you come in professionally , the taxes may be high but if you have the right financial smarts, you can pay off your own home within 15 years.

the same thing can be said about SG. in 15yrs without touching your take home also can pay off a flat and still see all that savings in the bank. ya flat is tiny, only 99yrs, cannot install a pool etc, at least no one here pay property insurance, low property tax only a few hundred tops and mortgage rate is at low 2-3% for the entire term.

landed property better don't forget much to do. Need to mow the lawn, pay home insurance. pay ppl to maintain the garden and it can cost U AUD$100 a mth. lets not forget the high mortgage rate.
iirc OZ is interesting, its not a fix interest rate. now is like 5-6% for some 3-5yr fixed term. there after can be up or down. good thing is no annual property tax!

Buying a big landed property in countries with big land isn't really investment. Japan housing bubble burst many many yrs ago till this date it has not recover. latest news today is USA. of course China, Thailand, Canada are looking at the same issue.

patryn33

yup i understand every countries got its own pros and cons lah.

but to me , i just dun like to be in SG. i rather go out and explore, the world is so big.

i know the grass is not always greener on the other side one.

thats good! met a lady from Poland, she lived in UK, Italy, Netherlands, OZ, today in USA. every time she move she had the idea that green is always greener!
although she is married to a British Prof in US, though she has much to complain with this and that, she is telling me the 1st place she moved to, which is UK is the best!

Worked in Australia - benefits (i.e. salary packaging) can bring it down to 27%, first AUD$ 6000 free for residents who reside in Australia for taxation purposes . 46 -48% applies to those who do not declare their tax file number.

The 46-48% tax rate applies to highest salary bracket, it does not just apply to those who do not declare their TFN. If you ever do reach that tax bracket then you would know what I'm talking about.

yodatan

thats so true.

if U are heading to HK, the tax is lower than SG. Salary is higher, but U trade it off with stress and smaller living space. the cost of sending your kids to childcare maybe high too.

SG U can walk in to see a doc for cold/flu.
OZ, I doubt U can do that. Need to call early in the morning to make arrangement else head to ER. I have heard med care is free, so ppl can abuse ER?

there are plus/minus in every country no matter where u wanna go. So long U are comfortable with their rules and not complain about it later and say this I also dun like. GREAT!

what is the cost of healthcare like ther?? comparable to singapore?

singapore also can go A&E for free if u NSF, LOL

anw i guess its all in the mindset, as long as u dun compare and regret/blame this and that when u r there, shld be fine...

i know grass is not always greener on the other side lah.

but i got intentions to move out.

cannot meh?

got say cannot meh?

what is the cost of healthcare like ther?? comparable to singapore?

singapore also can go A&E for free if u NSF, LOL

anw i guess its all in the mindset, as long as u dun compare and regret/blame this and that when u r there, shld be fine...

If you are a PR/citizen, you can go to the non-private GP and not pay a cent through bulk-billing (govt subsidised). You only need to pay for your medicine from a pharmacy; but medicine from the pharmacies in Australia is quite expensive. You need to apply for a medicare card to qualify for bulk-billing. OR you can see a private GP and pay around $50, and get a $15+ refund from Medicare (not sure about the exact refund, been a long time since I've seen a doc).

Regarding the hospitals/surgery operations there, I cannot quite comment. But I have heard there is a long waiting list for certain surgeries (up to 2 years wait). It is also recommended to get private insurance to cover medical expenses. Singapore's healthcare is definitely world class and beats Australian healthcare hands-down when it comes to hospital/medical efficiency and subsidization.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.