Australia PR

acanthophis

lady Phd.... U claim ppl can pay off a house in Z yrs.. and have no idea how property works in OZ? don't have to be an expert just need to read around.
or cannot stand I know something??? if so, why don't U spend the time thinking how to hit the stay in the top taxable bracket for good.

as for US health care is best for the rich.. anywhere is good to U so long U are rich isn't it?
OZ if u wish to throw a few 100K down still need to wait in line meh???

welfare system on health care.. I just hope OZ system wouldn't screw up and be in the shape of Canada/UK.

as for amenities, aren't u forgetting OZ have land, SG don't???

anyway, each on their own.. some migrated to OZ/Canada. still return and pay to get operated.

deathcabforcutie, a Troll Phd grad... wow.. thats some character.. felt like she didn't earn your respects.. in your mind maybe "Phd big money so what!!"

Property market - I have 2 properties in Australia (60k left on the bank loan on one now ) . That is my qualification to speak. Forget the damn PhD thing for abit. The only thing you know is google and hearsay.

LOL are you in the top bracket? Why don't you show your income tax statement to me in Brisbane and I will respect your advice.

So if you have anything to add that you have personally experienced - please do. If people don't know how to pay off their loans in 15 years - well they deserve to pay more interest to the bank then.

lycans

Property market - I have 2 properties in Australia (60k bank loan on one) . That is my qualification to speak. Forget the damn PhD thing for abit.

So if you have anything to add - please do. If people don't know how to pay off their loans in 15 years - well they deserve to pay more interest to the bank then.

Any tips for buying properties in Australia?

acanthophis

Any tips for buying properties in Australia?

Where do you want to look at ? Sydney? Melbourne? Perth ? Brisbane? Rural? Urban? State?

Mine are in Victoria. 1 rural and 1 urban (5 minutes walk to the Melbourne CBD area)

acanthophis

both of u 2 from australia one right? why keep arguing? haha

Country of Origin : Singapore.

And I am not sure about the other person. Not sure if that person is even Australian based on the information given. Australians are usually nice enough to admit that they are wrong.

lycans

Where do you want to look at ? Sydney? Melbourne? Perth ? Brisbane? Rural? Urban? State?

Mine are in Victoria. 1 rural and 1 urban (5 minutes walk to the Melbourne CBD area)

Brisbane...

Basically I wanna know how much should I be earning annually to be able to afford my own home in Australia, specifically Brisbane and more specifically in the St Lucia area

acanthophis

Brisbane...

Basically I wanna know how much should I be earning annually to be able to afford my own home in Australia, specifically Brisbane and more specifically in the St Lucia area

If I were you, check out outer suburbs like Salisbury, Moorooka etc. They have some value for rental if you want to rent it out to Griffith Uni students.

But the St Lucia/Indooroopilly area is getting way too expensive. The city area (CBD/Fortitude Valley/Spring Hill) is still more worthwhile in terms of rental value and property value since Brisbane is expanding.

Rent first and save for at least 100k deposit (doable in 7 years if you have a 60k salary and live cheaply with no credit card loan, no holidays etc). I would say invest in bank shares when u can. And wait for the next economic crisis - all apartments and houses go cheap during that time because owners cannot afford to pay the mortgage (most Australians borrow 80% of the value). Just make sure that you yourself are secured . Personally I did some investments and got lucky.

If the first home owner's grant is around, take it if you are a pr or citizen.

That is how I would hypothetically do it.

perosoka

If I were you, check out outer suburbs like Salisbury, Moorooka etc. They have some value for rental if you want to rent it out to Griffith Uni students.

But the St Lucia/Indooroopilly area is getting way too expensive. The city area (CBD/Fortitude Valley/Spring Hill) is still more worthwhile in terms of rental value and property value since Brisbane is expanding.

Rent first and save for at least 100k deposit (doable in 7 years if you have a 60k salary and live cheaply with no credit card loan, no holidays etc). I would say invest in bank shares when u can. And wait for the next economic crisis - all apartments and houses go cheap during that time because owners cannot afford to pay the mortgage (most Australians borrow 80% of the value). Just make sure that you yourself are secured . Personally I did some investments and got lucky.

If the first home owner's grant is around, take it if you are a pr or citizen.

That is how I would hypothetically do it.

i wanna say that aca is giving great advice selflessly and wanna say shes a great contributor to the forums @ all aspects..
this type of advice is really priceless and comes out of someone who actually went through the system and experienced these things herself

Petrelli_83

Haiz, how i envy the people who can move on to a better place. Not like me, stuck in my birth country who treats me like a 2nd class citizen to the foreign talents.

yodatan

Haiz, how i envy the people who can move on to a better place. Not like me, stuck in my birth country who treats me like a 2nd class citizen to the foreign talents.

never try applying for PR meh?? if cant get, can always try going to new zealand, they wooing singaporeans now mah haha

lycans

Quick question

Say if I am in the last year of my education, ideally should I look for a job before I get my degree or do I need to wait until the paper is in my hand then I can look for a job?

Also from the point of graduation to getting a job, do I need to do anything about my visa?

If I get employed here do my employers need to pay more levy to the Aussie gahmen because I am not local?

perosoka

Quick question

Say if I am in the last year of my education, ideally should I look for a job before I get my degree or do I need to wait until the paper is in my hand then I can look for a job?

Also from the point of graduation to getting a job, do I need to do anything about my visa?

If I get employed here do my employers need to pay more levy to the Aussie gahmen because I am not local?

why dont u have pr yet?

Zetta83

Quick question

Look for a job before to complete your final semester of education

You will need to either apply for Grad (temp visa) or PR

No, your employer doesn't. But that doesn't mean that they will hire you over locals. 99% of companies hire citizens or PRs.

alvina87

now hard to get australia PR already?

sg really cant wait to get out of it

seems the new list of desired skills will be out on 1/7/2010, i also keeping fingers crossed that my profession will still be desired :) following which i can engage the immigration consultant liao haa..

i was told all in is S$11k including ielts, consultants' fees etc etc.. which is pretty steep considering all the other things eg. rent, car in AU

cosycatus

seems the new list of desired skills will be out on 1/7/2010, i also keeping fingers crossed that my profession will still be desired :) following which i can engage the immigration consultant liao haa..

i was told all in is S$11k including ielts, consultants' fees etc etc.. which is pretty steep considering all the other things eg. rent, car in AU

save on the consultantion fees la. These folks are not needed for migration. Your only cost should be

1. IELTS
2. Laywers/notary to verify your documents ( $50 for ten documents...)
3. Some documentation fees ( eg, police check, birth cert )
4. accredition fees( eg, professional engineer, probably the most expensive portion)
5. Health check ( hep B, HIV, etc)

and the application fee itself...which if i remember is $250.
i reckon total cost should not be more than 1.2K....image how much the " consultant" chop u .

xXboxXx

I read a couple of pages back and thanks it was informative. I would like to ask if I complete my ACCA last papers in dec 2010, and collect my results in feb, do you people think its possible/feasible for me to find a job in Australia while studying for a part time MBA or Masters ?

perosoka

I read a couple of pages back and thanks it was informative. I would like to ask if I complete my ACCA last papers in dec 2010, and collect my results in feb, do you people think its possible/feasible for me to find a job in Australia while studying for a part time MBA or Masters ?

really hard now unless u got PR..

alvina87

save on the consultantion fees la. These folks are not needed for migration. Your only cost should be

1. IELTS
2. Laywers/notary to verify your documents ( $50 for ten documents...)
3. Some documentation fees ( eg, police check, birth cert )
4. accredition fees( eg, professional engineer, probably the most expensive portion)
5. Health check ( hep B, HIV, etc)

and the application fee itself...which if i remember is $250.
i reckon total cost should not be more than 1.2K....image how much the " consultant" chop u .

'consultant' fees is already A$6k. actually i would love to go at it alone but i've had a couple of friends who has messed it up and never got a reply from immi AU. Furthermore, if i've got a 'skilled spouse', then its quite ok for both of us (bf & i) to go together.

accreditation fees to immi AU is about A$2552 or something like that. Hence, if i decide to go at it alone, the total cost would be about A$4k or so (incl. IELTS, CPA Australia migration assessment etc etc).

And unfortunately, i haven't had 3 years of working experience yet.. so that clearly is a drawback for me. I'm an accountant by the way.. studying CPA AU while working

alvina87

btw, has anyone here done the sums for Australia PR? i.e if i were to give up my job here and live in AU (perhaps Perth), would the incremental increase in pay be able to cover the incremental costs that would be incurred over there that I would not have to incur here. Eg. rent, taxes, food etc?

alvina87

i am taking CPA AU as well.

isn't it better to find a job overseas first before migrating out? more safe?

yea heard that before, but its like, no employer will offer a job to a potential 'PR/TR reject' right.. haa plus, i didn't get my degree in AU. Hence, i thought just get the PR first, after that there's still time to seek employment. After all, doesn't mean once I get PR have to move there immediately :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.