AX router recommendations?

xiaofan

and tplink recent scandal its sending all traffic to their servers.
Only can buy asus?

Not so sure why you call it a scandal. That will happen if you use the "Home Shield" feature which is powered by Avira that ships with newer TP-Link routers

Ref:

Quite some Asus router features are powered by Trend Micro, so your information will be collected by Trend Micro if you use those features. Personally I do not use those features. But many do, like AiProtection and Adaptive QoS.

Asus website has more info:
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/10...mmitted to protecting,with ASUS at all times.
For AiProtection, Traffic Analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS/Game boost, Web history:

By using AiProtection, Traffic analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS/Game boost, Web history, you agree to the Trend Micro End User License Agreement.

Please note that your information will be collected by Trend Micro through AiProtection, Traffic analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS and web history. You also acknowledge and agree that ASUS is not responsible for neither the agreement between you and Trend Micro nor any content of the service provided by Trend Micro. If you may have any inquires about how Trend Micro collects, processes and uses your above information, please refer to the privacy- related statement issued by Trend Micro or contact Trend Micro for more details.

TrendMicro Privacy Policy

Privacy and Personal Data Collection Disclosure

If you would like to disable sharing your information with Trend Micro through the above functions, please go to: Router web GUI > Advanced settings > Administration > Privacy.

xiaofan

and tplink recent scandal its sending all traffic to their servers.
Only can buy asus?

If you are really serious about privacy and security, then probably you need to look at OpenWRT and pfSense (with a wireless AP as pfSense does not really support wireless).

Consumer routers typically use 3rd party for improved protection, then the info will be sent to the 3rd party.

Asus AIprotection -- Trend Micro
Netgear Armor -- BitDefender
TP-Link Homecare -- Trend Micro
TP-Link Home Shield -- Avira

I got two seperate home networks. One is using Asus RT-AX82U and I do not use the Asus router features which require Trend Micro. I use Pi-Hole instead. On the other home network, I use a mini PC running pfSense (or OpenWRT, I switch between the two from time to time just to play with both, even though I feel pfSense is better), with a wireless AP.

Hailgod

Not so sure why you call it a scandal. That will happen if you use the "Home Shield" feature which is powered by Avira that ships with newer TP-Link routers

Ref:

Quite some Asus router features are powered by Trend Micro, so your information will be collected by Trend Micro if you use those features. Personally I do not use those features. But many do, like AiProtection and Adaptive QoS.

Asus website has more info:
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/10...mmitted to protecting,with ASUS at all times.
For AiProtection, Traffic Analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS/Game boost, Web history:

By using AiProtection, Traffic analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS/Game boost, Web history, you agree to the Trend Micro End User License Agreement.

Please note that your information will be collected by Trend Micro through AiProtection, Traffic analyzer, Apps analyzer, Adaptive QoS and web history. You also acknowledge and agree that ASUS is not responsible for neither the agreement between you and Trend Micro nor any content of the service provided by Trend Micro. If you may have any inquires about how Trend Micro collects, processes and uses your above information, please refer to the privacy- related statement issued by Trend Micro or contact Trend Micro for more details.

TrendMicro Privacy Policy

Privacy and Personal Data Collection Disclosure

If you would like to disable sharing your information with Trend Micro through the above functions, please go to: Router web GUI > Advanced settings > Administration > Privacy.

read the thread, the user doesnt have home shield on and isnt subscribed to it.

xiaofan

read the thread, the user doesnt have home shield on and isnt subscribed to it.

Looks like a bug then, from the thread:

Update: TP-Link says the network activity is due to “the Avira cloud data base [distinguishing] whether [the network request is] secure data or malware.” A firmware update is in the works that will turn this functionality off if no Avira network features are enabled in the app, but there is no estimated timeline for that yet.

keenklee

Looks like a bug then, from the thread:

Update: TP-Link says the network activity is due to “the Avira cloud data base [distinguishing] whether [the network request is] secure data or malware.” A firmware update is in the works that will turn this functionality off if no Avira network features are enabled in the app, but there is no estimated timeline for that yet.

IMHO.
Alamak, get router is tough work.
@xiaofan - Thank you for the leg work. 🤣

xiaofan

xiaofan

Some interesting info about Router security. Asus is actually the better one among consumer router vendors as they keep updating their router FW.

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...sed-by-millions-were-vulnerable-to-226-flaws/
translated-table.jpg

kimsix

MGeaR356

Indeed Huawei AX3 Quad-core global version at S$58 offer was indeed a very good offer. I paid S$53 by applying a Shopee S$5 voucher.

That being said, AX routers are pretty cheap now, including the current promotion at S$59 for TP-Link AX10 (AX1500) from Courts and Challenger, which is a decent offer.

Asus RT-AX55 from M1 users are selling at around S$110 to S$120, which is a pretty good deal as well, even though I will recommend to spend a bit more to get Asus RT-AX56U.

The wireless router is the most important component for the home network, I tend to think it is perfectly okay to spend S$200 to S$500 depending on the budget. I myself use the Asus RT-AX82U.

Hey can I ask I have a hua Wei ax3 pro China version quad core.. Then likely to get m1 free ax55 router. Which one is better in terms of coverage?

xiaofan

Hey can I ask I have a hua Wei ax3 pro China version quad core.. Then likely to get m1 free ax55 router. Which one is better in terms of coverage?

Just get the M1 free RT-AX55 as it has local warranty and long term firmware support.

The China version of Huawei AX3 Pro is not cheap now (quick search shows above S$100) and no local warranty and unlikely to have long term FW support like the Asus RT-AX55. So I think it is no longer worth buying. I have it as well (bought in 2020 for RMB329) and its coverage is okay but not great.

BTW, the quad core version of AX3 Pro (WS7200, using quad-core Huawei HiSilicon CPU) is no longer produced due to chip shortage. The new version WS7206 is powered by Qualcomm dual core CPU.

1l92041H

is the TP-Link EX221-G2u from myrepublic the same as TP-Link ARCHER AX20 AX1800?

I can use this for other isp such as singtel?

xiaofan

is the TP-Link EX221-G2u from myrepublic the same as TP-Link ARCHER AX20 AX1800?
I can use this for other isp such as singtel?

Most likely this will not work for Singtel ONT users as it is a customized version for telecom operators with TR-069 remote monitoring support. So most likely it will not support SingTel VLAN.

As for SingTel ONR users, it should work as long as you can configure it as an AP.

1l92041H

Most likely this will not work for Singtel ONT users as it is a customized version for telecom operators with TR-069 remote monitoring support. So most likely it will not support SingTel VLAN.

As for SingTel ONR users, it should work as long as you can configure it as an AP.

i have a couple of wifi6 devices at home, I notice the ax10's 2.4Ghz is only n with speed 300mbps.

I should spend abit more to get ax20 or ax23?

MGeaR356

Just get the M1 free RT-AX55 as it has local warranty and long term firmware support.

The China version of Huawei AX3 Pro is not cheap now (quick search shows above S$100) and no local warranty and unlikely to have long term FW support like the Asus RT-AX55. So I think it is no longer worth buying. I have it as well (bought in 2020 for RMB329) and its coverage is okay but not great.

BTW, the quad core version of AX3 Pro (WS7200, using quad-core Huawei HiSilicon CPU) is no longer produced due to chip shortage. The new version WS7206 is powered by Qualcomm dual core CPU.
Thanks Xiao fan, actually I am already using China version ax3 pro also bought in 2020, quite okay with the performance..

Wanna compare with the free ax55 to see which one better cause if ax55 is not as good, I would like to carousell it brand new..

Most importantly, which one the wifi 5ghz coverage best?

xiaofan

Thanks Xiao fan, actually I am already using China version ax3 pro also bought in 2020, quite okay with the performance..
Wanna compare with the free ax55 to see which one better cause if ax55 is not as good, I would like to carousell it brand new..
Most importantly, which one the wifi 5ghz coverage best?

I see. It is hard to predict but I think both will be similar in terms of 5GHz wifi coverage.

I have the China version of Huawei AX3 Pro and global AX3 Quad Core version. I would only say the coverage of Huawei is okay but not great for my 4 room HDB (older type with thick walls).

In your case, since you have already the Huawei AX3 Pro and you are okay with it, you can always sell the free RT-AX55 and get another Huawei AX3 Pro China version to form a mesh.

xiaofan

i have a couple of wifi6 devices at home, I notice the ax10's 2.4Ghz is only n with speed 300mbps.
I should spend abit more to get ax20 or ax23?

In reality I would not care much about the 2.4GHz being WiFi 5 or Wifi 6. Most of the 2.4GHz clients are not using wifi 6 anyway.

However I would suggest spend more budget on your wifi router if you can. Or you can buy more cheap units to run as APs if you have LAN ports in the rooms.

So if you are going to use single router, get the better one like Archer AX72. If you are into multiple APs, get two units of Archer AX10 now that it is really cheap.

MGeaR356

I see. It is hard to predict but I think both will be similar in terms of 5GHz wifi coverage.

I have the China version of Huawei AX3 Pro and global AX3 Quad Core version. I would only say the coverage of Huawei is okay but not great for my 4 room HDB (older type with thick walls).

In your case, since you have already the Huawei AX3 Pro and you are okay with it, you can always sell the free RT-AX55 and get another Huawei AX3 Pro China version to form a mesh.
Thanks! One last question, can our China ax3 pro mesh with global ax3 pro or die die need to buy back same 2020 version - saw that current China version uses a different chip set?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.