Bad case experience

Guanjin Peter

Is this matrix ??

sorry hijack and sidetrack abit...

I recognize the game on your profile pic! I played that when I was a kid! I love to drag the round until I surround the enemy base with the most expensive base defence, so that they can never run away.....

koroshiya8

sorry hijack and sidetrack abit...

I recognize the game on your profile pic! I played that when I was a kid! I love to drag the round until I surround the enemy base with the most expensive base defence, so that they can never run away.....

What a way to OT. Lol. Ya its Herzog.. Surround enemy base with missile head then they will keep dying but will take a lot of time to setup haha.

MoneyFace =p

Actually I should but I don't.. Given this incident I think.I will check next time. If shop is too cramped just check outside the shop bah.
Yeah chassis is the only thing i don't check. But after this incident would probably reconfirm before leaving shop to prevent any possible trouble ahead. :(

royfrosty

Imagine buying a 900D. Gosh. Lol. Prolly need 2 people to help unpack infront of the shop.

enenyi

Imagine buying a 900D. Gosh. Lol. Prolly need 2 people to help unpack infront of the shop.

Actually dun really need la. Just use penknife to open top flap of box, flip the entire box over so that the opened flap is resting on the tabletop/floor, slide the box up and out to reveal the casing. Usually casings are protected by just top and bottom styrofoams, so remove box packaging can see chassis alrdy, with exception of cube cases like Corsair Air 540 that has another layer of cloth protection. 1 man can settle liao, dunnid so many pple.

Piezoq

U shld have requested the shop to open the cardboard packaging to check for any defects in casing before u pay money. Coz now the distro can use SAF-style reply to u: "When u purchase from retailer, it is consumer's responsibility to check the product for defects before purchase. Distro is not responsible for defective goods that the consumer has accepted upon purchase." In short, they can easily push blame to u as consumer since u didnt check, and it is not the shop's responsibility to check (their responsibility is to sell the product and RMA to distro if defective goods are found), nor is it the distro's responsibility to check since most distros are not allowed to open final packaging.

The only thing u can rely on is that Fractal's distro (Tech Dynamic I think) has compassion for your case and willing to exchange 1-1 on goodwill terms. Can try to argue on the grounds of DOA, though not easy to fight for it, but if u can talk ur way through it, it may be possible. At least now u noe need to check through products before paying for them.

What about the recently vaunted lemon law? Or CASE?

This is a crazy argument against the customer's interest. How many of us actually open up packaging to check for damage?

I've been shopping at Ikea for more than a decade. I've never seen a single customer open the packaging for inspection at the self-collect counter. They have a liberal return policy.

Stuff like MB and PSU, HDD etc... Which shop allows you to plug in and test before bringing home? Run RAM test, chkdsk yada yada yada overnight before you're satisfied?

This whole argument for inspection, I just don't buy it. Almost everything we buy today is in tamper-proof packaging and retail just doesn't have the time or manpower to deal with this "inspection" criterion.

And now we have to depend on compassion because it's the customer's fault? Gimme a break.

ahjunz

Dont forget, r5 and many casing are avaliable online from lazada etc. You will ask the delievery guy wait while you open the box and check?

enenyi

What about the recently vaunted lemon law? Or CASE?

This is a crazy argument against the customer's interest. How many of us actually open up packaging to check for damage?

I've been shopping at Ikea for more than a decade. I've never seen a single customer open the packaging for inspection at the self-collect counter. They have a liberal return policy.

Stuff like MB and PSU, HDD etc... Which shop allows you to plug in and test before bringing home? Run RAM test, chkdsk yada yada yada overnight before you're satisfied?

This whole argument for inspection, I just don't buy it. Almost everything we buy today is in tamper-proof packaging and retail just doesn't have the time or manpower to deal with this "inspection" criterion.

And now we have to depend on compassion because it's the customer's fault? Gimme a break.
Haha, chill bro.

Not trying to make a case (pun intended) for consumers or retailers or distros, but for things like casings, very hard to justify warranty. Coz how to tell distro that it's manufacturer's fault, not users' fault?

"Casing was damaged already during shipping, I discovered it when I opened it at home."
"Then why didnt you highlight to retailer earlier? Did you manage to physically witness the manufacturer damage the product while packing into the box? Any proof that it is not your fault, not your carelessness during transporting the casing home that caused the damage?"

I can imagine such a conversation going on during RMA.

Cant really blame distro lah. Reason why I say on compassionate grounds is coz distro really has no reason to give 1-1 exchange. No proof whatsoever that casing got damaged during packing or shipping. Even if wanna claim Lemon Law also need to have proof on the part of the consumer that it is the seller's fault that the product is damaged. Now no proof to blame any party, no need to talk about Lemon Law, even if u to court against retailer or manufacturer or distro, high chance will lose coz no evidence. Even if u submit to CASE, after they investigate for like 1 month to 6 months, they may end up telling u no point also since no evidence. Purchasing from retailer cannot be used as evidence since it was by mutual consent that the seller (retailer) agreed to transfer ownership of the product to the buyer (consumer) over a certain price. So no fight over there.

Hence if TS can get Convergent to do 1-1 exchange, best, case (pun intended again) closed. Else there's nothing much he can do about the current plight of the case.

Mikiberry

Haha, chill bro.

Not trying to make a case (pun intended) for consumers or retailers or distros, but for things like casings, very hard to justify warranty. Coz how to tell distro that it's manufacturer's fault, not users' fault?

"Casing was damaged already during shipping, I discovered it when I opened it at home."
"Then why didnt you highlight to retailer earlier? Did you manage to physically witness the manufacturer damage the product while packing into the box? Any proof that it is not your fault, not your carelessness during transporting the casing home that caused the damage?"

I can imagine such a conversation going on during RMA.

Cant really blame distro lah. Reason why I say on compassionate grounds is coz distro really has no reason to give 1-1 exchange. No proof whatsoever that casing got damaged during packing or shipping. Even if wanna claim Lemon Law also need to have proof on the part of the consumer that it is the seller's fault that the product is damaged. Now no proof to blame any party, no need to talk about Lemon Law, even if u to court against retailer or manufacturer or distro, high chance will lose coz no evidence. Even if u submit to CASE, after they investigate for like 1 month to 6 months, they may end up telling u no point also since no evidence. Purchasing from retailer cannot be used as evidence since it was by mutual consent that the seller (retailer) agreed to transfer ownership of the product to the buyer (consumer) over a certain price. So no fight over there.

Hence if TS can get Convergent to do 1-1 exchange, best, case (pun intended again) closed. Else there's nothing much he can do about the current plight of the case.

TS already mentioned no signs of dent on the external box. Everything was in good faith from the TS that the casing is good and solid. This is a straightforward case that distro must honour. I don't Tthink S is so boliao to intentionally bang the case to get a replacement. Think of time, effort and cost spend to resolve this. If Convergent doesn't want to fulfill RMA obligations for TS then I would know what brands to avoid in the future liao.

enenyi

Dont forget, r5 and many casing are avaliable online from lazada etc. You will ask the delievery guy wait while you open the box and check?
I never bought from Lazada before, so I dun really noe how it works. Is the distro (or Lazada?) acting as the seller in this case? If distro is the seller, then if u receive a defective product (irregardless of deliveryman present or not), u can go back to seller to do 1-1 exchange. The deliveryman is only delivering the goods, he/she cannot act on behalf of Lazada/distro to do 1-1 exchange of goods. Of course, if u actually check before he/she leaves and u find defective goods, can tompang him/her to send back to distro mah :s13:.

But if u buy from retail shops, seller is the retailer not the distro. Need to find back seller, which is retail shop, to claim RMA. Of which retail shop may push blame back to distro. That's where the taiji starts, when retailer push to distro ("go distro exchange, I dont have stock here"), distro push to retailer ("go retail shop exchange, he agrees to sell to you, retail shop handles the defective product"). And u as consumer eventually get tired of this tug-of-war. Sad to say, unlike other PC parts that u can claim DOA (retail shop cannot test out part before selling mah, so push blame to distro), this casing thingy is considered physical defect, so unless got evidence, very hard to push back to distro. But u can still try and see whether distro allows or not.

Mikiberry

I never bought from Lazada before, so I dun really noe how it works. Is the distro (or Lazada?) acting as the seller in this case? If distro is the seller, then if u receive a defective product (irregardless of deliveryman present or not), u can go back to seller to do 1-1 exchange. The deliveryman is only delivering the goods, he/she cannot act on behalf of Lazada/distro to do 1-1 exchange of goods. Of course, if u actually check before he/she leaves and u find defective goods, can tompang him/her to send back to distro mah :s13:.

But if u buy from retail shops, seller is the retailer not the distro. Need to find back seller, which is retail shop, to claim RMA. Of which retail shop may push blame back to distro. That's where the taiji starts, when retailer push to distro ("go distro exchange, I dont have stock here"), distro push to retailer ("go retail shop exchange, he agrees to sell to you, retail shop handles the defective product"). And u as consumer eventually get tired of this tug-of-war. Sad to say, unlike other PC parts that u can claim DOA (retail shop cannot test out part before selling mah, so push blame to distro), this casing thingy is considered physical defect, so unless got evidence, very hard to push back to distro. But u can still try and see whether distro allows or not.

All the while you have the option to go back to distro direct. The 7-14 days of RMA-ing from store is due to good faith between customers and retail store. End of the day the RMA will still be lodged, but instead it will be the store instead of the customer as a first gate.

enenyi

TS already mentioned no signs of dent on the external box. Everything was in good faith from the TS that the casing is good and solid. This is a straightforward case that distro must honour. I don't Tthink S is so boliao to intentionally bang the case to get a replacement. Think of time, effort and cost spend to resolve this. If Convergent doesn't want to fulfill RMA obligations for TS then I would know what brands to avoid in the future liao.
Hence, depends on how TS argues his case. I'm just pointing out the case (pun intended) that distro can make against TS. If TS can talk his way through (e.g. "how can a user badly damage the chassis while the protective styrofoam and box packaging stay intact?"), I believe TS can still get the 1-1 exchange.

I hope I'm actually helping TS rather than demoralising him. :) If I demoralised him to the point that he doesnt even wanna go to Convergent to exchange, then I apologise. :(

ahjunz

Currently in the process of exchanging with PCThemes. They have agreed to deliver another case to my place. Kudos to them and convergent (apparantly they got wind of this case from this thread). I am not faulting either of them nor shipping (as there isnt any visible dents on the box) and give credit to them for honoring the exchange as well as solving my inconvenience.

Rather would say its fractals QC fault and will bring it up to them. This isnt any kind of minor defects or quality they should be sending to their consumers as a flagship.

koroshiya8

I think the condition of the casing actually help TS.. who in the right mind will destroy it until like that LOL.. I've bought a number of cases before.. they are packed properly and sturdily, with Styrofoam protecting the case.. in the event if say drop also will not damage until like what TS encounter.. its damn poor QC imo.. the person who pack the case inside the box should be shot.

mib500

Currently in the process of exchaning with PCThemes. They have agreed to deliver another case to my place. Kudos to them and convergent (apparantly they got wind of this case from this thread). I am not faulting either of them nor shipping (as there isnt any visible dents on the box) and give credit to them for honoring the exchange as well as solving my inconvenience.

Rather would say its fractals qc fault and will bring it up to them. This isnt any kind of minor defects or quality they should be sending to their consumers as a flagship.

good for you... kudos to our distro....:deg::deg:

localITguy

i think TS should tag FD, for them to investigate, kudos for distro and shop for the replacement

Maximus_XXVIII

Currently in the process of exchaning with PCThemes. They have agreed to deliver another case to my place. Kudos to them and convergent (apparantly they got wind of this case from this thread). I am not faulting either of them nor shipping (as there isnt any visible dents on the box) and give credit to them for honoring the exchange as well as solving my inconvenience.

Rather would say its fractals qc fault and will bring it up to them. This isnt any kind of minor defects or quality they should be sending to their consumers as a flagship.

Yilong FTW:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.