Bad case experience

Guanjin Peter

honestly it would be interesting to know what caused it....
By car? not possible... it would be only 1 major dent, not even if you go forward and reverse a few times!
by SAF 5-Ton? Not possible....flattened likely
by mike Tyson boxing? more likely the gloves will break?

in conclusion. I think the Hulk did it, or Iron Man's Hulk Buster

Piezoq

Haha, chill bro.

Not trying to make a case (pun intended) for consumers or retailers or distros, but for things like casings, very hard to justify warranty. Coz how to tell distro that it's manufacturer's fault, not users' fault?

"Casing was damaged already during shipping, I discovered it when I opened it at home."
"Then why didnt you highlight to retailer earlier? Did you manage to physically witness the manufacturer damage the product while packing into the box? Any proof that it is not your fault, not your carelessness during transporting the casing home that caused the damage?"

I can imagine such a conversation going on during RMA.

Cant really blame distro lah. Reason why I say on compassionate grounds is coz distro really has no reason to give 1-1 exchange. No proof whatsoever that casing got damaged during packing or shipping. Even if wanna claim Lemon Law also need to have proof on the part of the consumer that it is the seller's fault that the product is damaged. Now no proof to blame any party, no need to talk about Lemon Law, even if u to court against retailer or manufacturer or distro, high chance will lose coz no evidence. Even if u submit to CASE, after they investigate for like 1 month to 6 months, they may end up telling u no point also since no evidence. Purchasing from retailer cannot be used as evidence since it was by mutual consent that the seller (retailer) agreed to transfer ownership of the product to the buyer (consumer) over a certain price. So no fight over there.

Hence if TS can get Convergent to do 1-1 exchange, best, case (pun intended again) closed. Else there's nothing much he can do about the current plight of the case.

First world retail huh?

I'll agree with this line of reasoning if it were a discount merchant. But the margins are fat in Singapore, more than HK's, where rent is as high or higher.

Singapore prices are one of the highest in the world, and I expect world-class service standards to go along with it. Shop in Taiwan, HK, Japan, even Chinese cities like Shanghai, Beijing and you'll agree most of our retail staff just CANNOT MAKE IT.

This kind of wet-market ah-beng retail just doesn't cut it.

(Don't worry, I don't EXPECT this kind of service when I shop locally. I'm just annoyed at the lack of progress for the past two decades. This is soooooo 20th century!)

ahjunz

PCT personally came my place collected the case (Probably want to examine the case) and drop off a new one. Non the less excellent service. Thumbs up

trento

for my Corsair 250D, distro took quite long to respond so i contacted Corsair directly. I could not exchange with the shop as it was more than 1 month.

The case had uneven standoff height causing mobo to warp. It's a small problem but when i wrote to Corsair, they were quick to respond and covered all my shipping charges, even my efforts as UPS was the shipper. I'm not saying the distro won't bother but point is, all else fails, there's always the manufacturer to fall back on. Same goes for Fractal. They stated in their website don't panic, but contact them for any problems.

Phen8210

I think u received the case that was thrown out. first 15 sec of vid..

Ark Law

@ those ppl saying one should check casing before leaving like checking mobo/gpu. Really? Really? Smh :s22:

This is an ultra rare/damage-in-shipping/Fractal QC boliao situation lah. If distro can't do 1-1 exchange, then in my books they auto-relegate below Asus mobile products division liao & deserve to kena flame like Asus.

The dents' impact, not even WP's hammer can do until like that

enenyi

@ those ppl saying one should check casing before leaving like checking mobo/gpu. Really? Really? Smh :s22:

This is an ultra rare/damage-in-shipping/Fractal QC boliao situation lah. If distro can't do 1-1 exchange, then in my books they auto-relegate below Asus mobile products division liao & deserve to kena flame like Asus.

Still need to check la. Buyer's habit. At least open packaging got fault change on the spot. No need go one big round lug back home, complain online, complain to distro, arrange with distro for new one. Newer check new one again, process repeats.

Okay lor. If u dun wanna check then dun check lor. No one forcing u mah. Just that if got problem like this dun flame distro flame brand flame retailer until jialut jialut.

Wonder which company will be the new Ark-sus (Asus flamed by Ark Law until jialut jialut :s13:).

localITguy

thread waiting for u at sus sub forum take a look:s13:

t258jgn

In the same company, different Product Managers do things differently.
Some approve RMA faster & some take their own sweet time.

koroshiya8

Another possibility is that at the very last part of the packing process the packer intentionally damage the product and just pack it in cos he scared kana reprimanded...

Ark Law

Still need to check la. Buyer's habit. At least open packaging got fault change on the spot. No need go one big round lug back home, complain online, complain to distro, arrange with distro for new one. Newer check new one again, process repeats.

Okay lor. If u dun wanna check then dun check lor. No one forcing u mah. Just that if got problem like this dun flame distro flame brand flame retailer until jialut jialut.

Wonder which company will be the new Ark-sus (Asus flamed by Ark Law until jialut jialut :s13:).

Thing is, case damage rarely if ever happens, less a company like fractal. One reason being that a chassis box is never opened until it reaches the customer. Unlike mobo/gpu where distros open them to paste warranty stickers and what not. Unlike mobo/gpu where their boxes can be opened at shops in SLS for customer to ssrr & molest

That's why no one ever checks them. Even so, it doesn't warrant a flame. Like I said, it's a one-off event, not a recurring theme like Burn Rd/Somerset 313

trento

i'm one of those who don't check casing. it's just too bulky for me to bother. i suppose most shops will oblige if u ask the staff to unseal the box. agree it's really no big deal. the reasons don't matter. big or small, im sure TS will still want an exchange.

The bigger problem is if the shop, distro or manufacturer refuse to bother. i think we can see from this episode PC themes has really good customer service. But tbh, even if PC themes don't bother, i think the Distro, or even Fractal would help. After all, it's not worth gaining a bad reputation for just hundred odd dollars.

on a personal note, i still won't bother to check casing. but i also won't come forum to share this kind of problem if it arises.

NMSS_2

R5 is a decent case but decent only loh. Very easy to get dings and dents.

koroshiya8

it's fair to 'check' for things you buy but it's more of the extent which you do so.. i cant imagine if every of my customer when buy MOBO will check every pin and make sure it's not bend.. that will be a real nightmare.

jarred1223

i don't check casing when buying at SLS.

my personal experience buying Silverstone TJ08 from CM (easy to guess what shop)

front USB doesn't work. i asked distro they say go back to shop for 1-1 exchange.

LLST cost me petrol + parking to do so.. but what to do?

but i do check motherboard when buying at TP. I just open and see the seal is intact, accessories all inside box.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.