Bangkok help...

can anybody recommend a good restaurant in BKK to celebrate a 40th Bday? Budget is like 150 SGD per head to incl wine

TakKiu

S__17440816.jpg

natas

Yea agree, spend a little money, cover your trip. Luggage problem, delay, sickness and many more.

I am on annual travel insurance. It is not expensive unless u choose the top end to insure. My insurance covers Asia travel for about 200++ per yr, as I always travel in Asia. 200++ u can also get cover worldwide but very basic.

dede1217

I am on annual travel insurance. It is not expensive unless u choose the top end to insure. My insurance covers Asia travel for about 200++ per yr, as I always travel in Asia. 200++ u can also get cover worldwide but very basic.

I would usually buy single plan ...
Unless if fly more than 12 trips, then might consider buying annual trips ...
Usually annual plan is 20% ... single can be up to 60% discount ...
So far, axa have 55% annual trip discount, for two pax minimum, on their most comprehensive plan ... seems worth, but price is on the higher side

natas

I would usually buy single plan ...
Unless if fly more than 12 trips, then might consider buying annual trips ...
Usually annual plan is 20% ... single can be up to 60% discount ...
So far, axa have 55% annual trip discount, for two pax minimum, on their most comprehensive plan ... seems worth, but price is on the higher side

dun worry, as long as it fits u.. just do it. there is no hard rule, who should buy what........ there will be long debate what insurance, what to buy...

dede1217

dun worry, as long as it fits u.. just do it. there is no hard rule, who should buy what........ there will be long debate what insurance, what to buy...

Yup agree ...
but still good to buy travel insurance for thailand trip ...
since sometimes might get food poisoning as we might not get used to the food there ...

flowerpalms

going in april havent buy insurance :(

looks quite peaceful now no ? :s13:

just buy insurance lah think so much for what?

also not buy for the elections. buy in case you see doctor there, or luggage missing etc all this. basic 1 will do like $20 only alot meh? dont save on such cost

Hamwichh

Hello, I'm planning a trip for 19th April to 22nd. May I know if this is the right place to ask some questions?

I've done a fair bit of research but now is the issue of arranging the places to go so i can do as much as possible. Will be going with mom, aunt and my husband.

dede1217

Hello, I'm planning a trip for 19th April to 22nd. May I know if this is the right place to ask some questions?

I've done a fair bit of research but now is the issue of arranging the places to go so i can do as much as possible. Will be going with mom, aunt and my husband.

You can post your itinerary, or read up people's itinerary online as a guide
For hotel selections, you can use third party websites to book, normally is cheaper than booking direct. For their hotel locations, you can check the map. Reviews from tripAdvisor or third party websites.

Hamwichh

Here's what we have currently:

We will reach around 9am Bangkok time on the 19th of April and Depart on the 22nd of April at 4pm.

4 adults, no child (2 adults are older than 55 years old).

Things already paid for:
Hotel: Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok (booked via Bookings.com)
Arrival and Departure via: Suvarnabhumi Airport (Thai Airways)
Total paid for this is 717 SGD per pax. It's on a high side but then again this was the
only time we can all be available.
Baht Exchanged: 1000 SGD~ per pax (Could be lower but I have people who haven't been on a holiday for 1,2 years so they went ahead to exchange before I could comment...)

Still deciding:
Transport to and from Hotel: Klook (72.58 SGD total both ways)
Communication: 4G DATA SIM via KLOOK (5.59 SGD each)
General Transport Budget: 3000 Thai Baht total (For Grab/Tuktuk/Taxi/BTS)

19th April 2019:

- Check in at Hotel
- Pratunam Market/Platinum Mall/Central World
- Rod Fai/ Mookata Restaurants

20th April 2019:

- Chatuchak Weekend Market
- Panpuri Spa/Let's Relax Spa/Healthland Asok/Yunomori Spa
- (Night) Yaowarat for Food

21st April 2019:

- Caturday Cafe
- Siam Area/ Jim Thompson Museum
- (Night) Asiatique/Iconsiam

22nd April 2019:

- Check Out of Hotel
- Or Tor Kor Market (Mom to buy fresh produce back)
- 12pm (To Airport)

Additional Recommendations (by other friends/google):

- Vertigo and Moon Bar
- Terminal 21 Mall
- sombunthai (restaurant serving beef hotpot)
- thip samai (restaurant)

Additional Feedback or suggestions are welcomed. This is my first time in Bangkok.
Here are some of the interests put forth:

- Spa or Massages (Aunt)
- Shopping (Mom and Me)
- Food (All)
- Souvenir, especially genuine silk products (Husband buying for his bosses)

Originally planned for a 1-1.5k per person budget trip but it's turned into a 2k budget trip (including Plane and Accomodations).

Andrew833

We will reach around 9am Bangkok time on the 19th of April and Depart on the 22nd of April at 4pm.

Things already paid for:
Hotel: Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok (booked via Bookings.com)
Arrival and Departure via: Suvarnabhumi Airport (Thai Airways)
Total paid for this is 717 SGD per pax. It's on a high side but then again this was the
only time we can all be available.
Baht Exchanged: 1000 SGD~ per pax (Could be lower but I have people who haven't been on a holiday for 1,2 years so they went ahead to exchange before I could comment...)

Still deciding:
Transport to and from Hotel: Klook (72.58 SGD total both ways)
Communication: 4G DATA SIM via KLOOK (5.59 SGD each)
General Transport Budget: 3000 Thai Baht total (For Grab/Tuktuk/Taxi/BTS)

19th April 2019:

- Check in at Hotel
- Pratunam Market/Platinum Mall/Central World
- Rod Fai/ Mookata Restaurants

20th April 2019:

- Chatuchak Weekend Market
- Panpuri Spa/Let's Relax Spa/Healthland Asok/Yunomori Spa
- (Night) Yaowarat for Food

21st April 2019:

- Caturday Cafe
- Siam Area/ Jim Thompson Museum
- (Night) Asiatique/Iconsiam

22nd April 2019:

- Check Out of Hotel
- Or Tor Kor Market (Mom to buy fresh produce back)
- 12pm (To Airport)

Additional Recommendations (by other friends/google):

- Vertigo and Moon Bar
- Terminal 21 Mall
- sombunthai (restaurant serving beef hotpot)
- thip samai (restaurant)

Additional Feedback or suggestions are welcomed. This is my first time in Bangkok.
Here are some of the interests put forth:

- Spa or Massages (Aunt)
- Shopping (Mom and Me)
- Food (All)
- Souvenir, especially genuine silk products (Husband buying for his bosses)

Originally planned for a 1-1.5k per person budget trip but it's turned into a 2k budget trip (including Plane and Accomodations).

SIM card if you haven't brought, can buy from changi recomemd $5 for 7 days unlimited data.
On 20th, after dinner can still go night market or street market at pratunam.
On 21st, morning can explore yawarot, there are wholesale market and wet market depend on yr interest.
Aisatique is mix of entertainment plus some shopping , Iconsiam is shopping mall with floating market at the ground floor.

addict951

Things already paid for:
Hotel: Courtyard by Marriott Bangkok
Good choice on the hotel!
I stayed there b4.
It’s just 100-200m from Erawan 四面佛. This hotel is just along the road after turning into the 四面佛junction.
The morning breakfast is sibei big international type spread.
Left & right of the junction are the major shopping Malls.

addict951

Hamwichh, or tor kor die die must go ah?
Your back-to-Changi airport is DMK or suvarnambumi?
Cos or tor Kor is near Chatuchak market and they are at northern Bangkok which is where DMK is.

Suvarnabhumi is at eastern part of the city.
From or tor kor go Suvarnabhumi can take up to 45 mins via car.

And then this or tor kor is under the patronage of the Queen, ie. expensive. Locals all avoid or tor kor one.
You want to buy 土产,go into any of The Central Malls, below TOP supermart, they have a 土产section.

Hamwichh

SIM card if you haven't brought, can buy from changi recomemd $5 for 7 days unlimited data.
On 20th, after dinner can still go night market or street market at pratunam.
On 21st, morning can explore yawarot, there are wholesale market and wet market depend on yr interest.
Aisatique is mix of entertainment plus some shopping , Iconsiam is shopping mall with floating market at the ground floor.

Thank you very much for the sim card recommendation! This one is better than the klook deal!

20th and 21st maybe see how the other 2 older people maybe tired then my husband and me considering to go out to some nearby sky bar and enjoy the view. My Mom and Aunt can't drink so we don't want to make them uncomfortable. We're looking for late night nibbles and sky bar recommendations :D

Good choice on the hotel!
I stayed there b4.
It’s just 100-200m from Erawan 四面佛. This hotel is just along the road after turning into the 四面佛junction.
The morning breakfast is sibei big international type spread.
Left & right of the junction are the major shopping Malls.

Thank you very much haha, I'm damm glad to know I picked well. I saw the numerous reviews on tripadvisor on both MoMo Cafe and the Hotel so I immediately booked it via Bookings.com. I'm a little nervous but one of my friends said since I'm going on a non peak period, can consider to ask for quiet rooms. Maybe when dates is slightly closer I will call the hotel to request :D

Plus, I think with the BTS nearby, we won't have to worry too much about the morning and night traffic jams. I think the Hotel have Tuk-tuk service?

Hamwichh, or tor kor die die must go ah?
Your back-to-Changi airport is DMK or suvarnambumi?
Cos or tor Kor is near Chatuchak market and they are at northern Bangkok which is where DMK is.

Suvarnabhumi is at eastern part of the city.
From or tor kor go Suvarnabhumi can take up to 45 mins via car.

And then this or tor kor is under the patronage of the Queen, ie. expensive. Locals all avoid or tor kor one.
You want to buy 土产,go into any of The Central Malls, below TOP supermart, they have a 土产section.

Arrival and Departure are both Suvarnabhumi Airport

Or Tor Kor is optional. Just looking for a good local market so my mom can buy all her fresh ingredients. She's Thai (from Chiang Rai) and makes some really good isan/northern thai dishes.

I think so far only one friend recommended me MK Restaurant. They say got the duck is good. If you got any food recommendations near the area please let me know! :D

turtlezhu

Hamwichh. Most important question for you are the 2 pax above 55 able to walk Long distance. As your hotel is inside a Soi and you are not 3 not 4 away from platinum etc. Which people usually walk there. But if you got to grab during peak hour you can jam for quite a while.

Unsure if they have shuttle bus or tuk tuk to the mall.

rrr2015

Or Tor Kor is nice, clean & convenient. yes price are higher there but some thai still shop there.

white flower factory is a restaurant serving good thai food & cakes. there one at siam square one, so you may like to give a try if around there.

Or Tor Kor is optional. Just looking for a good local market so my mom can buy all her fresh ingredients. She's Thai (from Chiang Rai) and makes some really good isan/northern thai dishes.

Hamwichh

Hamwichh. Most important question for you are the 2 pax above 55 able to walk Long distance. As your hotel is inside a Soi and you are not 3 not 4 away from platinum etc. Which people usually walk there. But if you got to grab during peak hour you can jam for quite a while.

I actually ask one of my friend who told me she stayed at the hotel before. She recommend us to take Tuk Tuk if jam because can navigate through the jam. I doubt I will have issues with negotiating prices. My mom knows how to bargain in both Thai and English and she's very good at making fair deals where both side is happy. I'm still learning this skill from her...

Or Tor Kor is nice, clean & convenient. yes price are higher there but some thai still shop there.

white flower factory is a restaurant serving good thai food & cakes. there one at siam square one, so you may like to give a try if around there.

I've added this to my itinerary. I got the eatigo app so if it pops up in my vicinity I'll be sure to stop by! :D
Edit: Nevermind it's not listed on the app but i'll refer to my itinerary whenever I'm in a new area. Thank you!

dede1217

yup , for platinum mall and Chatuchak. Lots of walking would be required. You might want to take note, since you are bringing two elderly along.

The jam could be very bad. You might take quite some time to get from your hotel to platinum mall .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.