Better read this if you are planning to live or migrate to Japan: 10 Problems

jeepers

Thanks for your tips!

I'm not just going for the tourist attractions but also spend some time just chilling or reading & writing at various locations. I wont be able to complete this journey in 1 go, as believe my S-N travel project will take me ~ 4.5 yrs, due to max 6mths/yr visa restrictions.
All good, dude. Good luck with your trip! I would love to take 6 months off work lol.

sinkie886

@sinkie886
think japan will be more gaijin friendly in a decade time? :o

i read all these stories see all this videos hor, go there holiday sure. live there unless i got enough money to never work again then ya sure.
if go there be salary man stay singapore sua :s22:

hard. Cannot speak/write Japanese in Japan = handicap :(

slashershot

hard. Cannot speak/write Japanese in Japan = handicap :(
Of course la this one no nid say. If u gaijin but fluent in Japanese think will hab better future?
I hear now they still discriminate you if u don't look japanese :o

kimsix

i think only singapore open legs.

my youtube always got ads teach me how to be singapore PR in the shortest time :o

Ironside

My sister married a japanese and had been staying in Japan under spouse visa for more than 10yrs liao...

I think most of the problems are true and real... but i think this is true to most other foreign language countries as well... like lack of support of interpreters in gahment agencies, discriminations... even opening a bank account is a challenge etc...

but the very basic requirement when u want to live in a foreign land is to learn their language... even if u move to a English speaking countries... u still need to learn their local slang/dialects/accents... and once u learned their language and is fluent in it... a lot of the problems will be solved or minimized...
She need to wear socks for her husband and be very obedient.

krikering

Of course la this one no nid say. If u gaijin but fluent in Japanese think will hab better future?
I hear now they still discriminate you if u don't look japanese :o
i think only singapore open legs.

my youtube always got ads teach me how to be singapore PR in the shortest time :o
Singapore's immigration standards are one of the most lenient in my opinion, especially when compared to how strict it is to migrate to countries like Aus/Japan, etc. Not to mention that new citizens are easier to get same welfare as locals compared to those countries.

In Japan/Aus, it is more difficult to gain their PR or even citizenship. The welfare that their local receive e.g education/healthcare subsidies, foreigners are unable to get it so fast and hence to work harder, which is the opposite of SG imo. Their safety nets for local citizens are well-developed.

Bigbird00

Singapore's immigration standards are one of the most lenient in my opinion, especially when compared to how strict it is to migrate to countries like Aus/Japan, etc. Not to mention that new citizens are easier to get same welfare as locals compared to those countries.

In Japan/Aus, it is more difficult to gain their PR or even citizenship. The welfare that their local receive e.g education/healthcare subsidies, foreigners are unable to get it so fast and hence to work harder, which is the opposite of SG imo. Their safety nets for local citizens are well-developed.

Sg aim is just to get headcount!

Japan/Aus aim is to get quality.

hwarzoner

when i said i sinkie they quite ok one , but from outside they cannot tell if u r prc or not. lol

FrogGreen

Quite a number. But I don't speak Chinese and with my waifu, we blend in very well. I fully agree most of the points will apply if the accent is different, dressing is out of place, etc.

My waifu is from a clan of 600 years. My name is in her family register Koseki Tohon. I am a PR. Honestly, we are in a world of our own. The people we meet are not the sort Nobita described. We don't mix with the average Japanese. Also the police patrol our house often (I'm a kendo volunteer, haha. But also because of her family). As such, our Japanese neighbours look us very up. We are the elite of the Japanese elites.

If I did not marry a Japanese, I will not migrate there even if I had studied since HS. It is a homogeneous population and prejudice against outsiders is prevalent and to me, understandable. I found this common in Korea and China where I had also stayed before.

If not a PR, if not married to a Japanese, if can't speak Japanese fluently. Don't go there to work, migrate or live.

A 4-6 day tourist will do. Zip in and out and retain the positive image of JP mm, onsen, ryokan, sushi, etc.

The stress of being a Japanese or living in Japan for the average is tremendous.
wow, words of wisdom.

m1kid85

True.. the hatred towards Chinese exacerbated due to XJPnand recent China's aggressiveness.

I'm not seen as Chinese. I said I'm a Singaporean, my waifu is Japanese and I studied at Gakushuin High School and University.

Response: "then you are elite, you are Japanese"

Hahaha.

No problem for me moving around in Japan.

Now in Taipei. My waifu can speak broken Hokkien.. she even sang a TW song in broken Mingnan. TW politicians say she is a Formosan. A native Taiwanese.

Heehee.
Sound csb

fishbuff

My sister married a japanese and had been staying in Japan under spouse visa for more than 10yrs liao...
I think most of the problems are true and real... but i think this is true to most other foreign language countries as well... like lack of support of interpreters in gahment agencies, discriminations... even opening a bank account is a challenge etc...
but the very basic requirement when u want to live in a foreign land is to learn their language... even if u move to a English speaking countries... u still need to learn their local slang/dialects/accents... and once u learned their language and is fluent in it... a lot of the problems will be solved or minimized...

my china colleague had been living and working here for 30 years and he still can't speak English at all. good programmer though.

Muggie

not sure why jap girls want to stay home after married, not bored meh?
Still got to "serve" their father in law when their husband is at work.. that's what most if the Jap documentary I watched says .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.