Brownstone EC

balagan

Sharing personal opinions/views is fine and most welcomed.

Sharing is appreciated as another person's thoughts may enlighten another and help to see from another angle.

No need for big wall as it is just that particular poor chap who has yet to justify/convince himself with his purchase.

He keeps trolling in other's EC thread to "bian" just to re-assure himself.

Be happy with one's own choice!

p00p00

Argue for what sia... Meanwhile ppl staying in sentosa cove laughing at us peasants buying EC :s34:

grix17

Argue for what sia... Meanwhile ppl staying in sentosa cove laughing at us peasants buying EC :s34:

Well, many of those foreigners are the cause of the problem. Jacking up the prices that we have to put up with. Those who got the earlier ECs got the best deal.

chiamt02

without rich foreigners and their taxes paid, how to accumulate the wealth in our reserves?
you think small dot like SG could have this kind of wealth if we only depended on our own organically spawned citizens?
Foreign talents are a necessary evil.
So you enjoy what they bring, got to tahan what they cause as well.

Well, many of those foreigners are the cause of the problem. Jacking up the prices that we have to put up with. Those who got the earlier ECs got the best deal.

grix17

without rich foreigners and their taxes paid, how to accumulate the wealth in our reserves?
you think small dot like SG could have this kind of wealth if we only depended on our own organically spawned citizens?
Foreign talents are a necessary evil.
So you enjoy what they bring, got to tahan what they cause as well.

I'm referring to foreigners buying property only. So what if they contribute tax? They affect all other property buyers. What is their tax compared to the income tax, COE, road tax, etc that we pay? The government reacted too slowly to foreign investment. The so-called necessary foreigners hardly buy property here - they rent it. So I'm referring to those who don't stay here but buy our SG property to earn money for themselves.

chiamt02

Globalization.
Aussie market also driven up over the years with many sg buyers I know.
Most major cities have similar Sky high prices. We have only ourselves to blame why we didn't buy houses earlier to ride the wave.

I'm referring to foreigners buying property only. So what if they contribute tax? They affect all other property buyers. What is their tax compared to the income tax, COE, road tax, etc that we pay? The government reacted too slowly to foreign investment. The so-called necessary foreigners hardly buy property here - they rent it. So I'm referring to those who don't stay here but buy our SG property to earn money for themselves.

Minkie

I have been following hardwarezone for a while and this forumer named "Cherish" -or some version of this name- person criticised BS alllllll the way from his own VS forum thread and now to BS forum thread. Somemore his tone really super critical and angry one. If you go to the VS thread, some friendly VS buyers really gave objective views and not aggressive one-sided views (super respect VS buyers like Grix, Asky and some others, good thing for purchasers of VS is to have nice, good-natured neighbours like them heh:) ). This Cherish person his tone machiam really wanna convince the whole world to dislike BS. If you reread the whole VS and BS thread, this Cherish person is one of the earliest person to 扇风点火, started the VS and BS comparison in a much harsher manner unlike most other forumers. Since this is an open forum he can come back to criticise BS if he wants. But, really, as much as he loves his VS purchase, we really love our BS purchase too. I can list down so many good points about BS. But above all, for some unknown reason, my fiance and I are really excited to stay in a CDL property. This is BS forum, anyway. If he wants to criticise without people writing something to criticise him back, do it back at the VS thread. If he enjoys dishing reactions from BS residents, then by all means continue to bash BS here (but given his intensity, he wouldn't be able to take it if someone were to bash VS in the VS thread). Think about it.

He really stood out in this friendly forum.

"The more aggressive, rude, unfriendly a forumer is, the less credible he becomes." -unknown

aiyo...again the same VS owner going to other EC threads to justify why his choice is superior as compared to others.

y feel so insecure ah?

jcgenesis

Oh dear..cool down ppl...keep the peace. We will be staying close to each other soon. Can't be throwing tomatoes at each other right?

Both projects have their pros and cons. Design is subjective. No one project is more "superior" than the other. And I am sure we, the buyers, have put in effort to do our own research and come out with the list of things we ourselves look for before we bought our units.

No need for comparison/competition here la..BS is a nice property and I like the distance it is from MRT. CDL is also an established name. The finishing inside looks solid and colour scheme is nice. V happens to have the layout that I prefer despite the largely grey scheme for cupboards (which I dun really prefer). So I chose V.

Anyway...no more talking about MSCP, rubbish chutes or windows since they have been mentioned before leh...quite bored with these topics liao. New topics are welcome :p

grix17

Thanks, minkie, for your kind words.

My story could have been different if I had paid attention to the raised income ceiling in Aug 2015. There would have been more choices of unit for BS back then and I may not have had to wait for the launch of PL and V (direct comparison at the time) later. I might have chosen BS for the developer and the distance to MRT. I think having to walk to the MSCP is less of a problem for me than the difference in size of alternate balconies as some stacks are nearer to it. I just don't feel comfortable with it.

So many 'what if' questions pop in my head and I'm not 100% convinced of my choice but I think it still represents the best fit option for my family.

Minkie

Welcome Grix. You've always been a great help to forumers!

Yeah there are so many subjective pros and cons to each EC. I had the luxury to choose between vs and bs because a couple was not eligible to buy and backed out of a pretty good bs unit. To some the mscp is a bad idea, but it is really a saving grace for me.

I stay above an lrt and I can hear it whiz by everyday. Can't really sleep well with noise but staying near a station would mean so much convenience. I'm really glad the carpark is there to reduce the noise impact.

Again it might not matter to some others but I'm also glad the mscp is there to block the line of sight from the people in the mrt to the interior of the development, esp the pool. Not that people in the mrt carriages can see the details of the swimming suit I wear when I'm swimming lol, but if possible I prefer that people who don't hold a bs key cannot see the pool.

Being a hdb peasant now, I have to travel to a public pool every week and I want to know that I swim an exact 20x50m every session. So, I absolutely need a regular, rectangular lap pool to count that.

And being someone who hates walking, I prefer if I can walk the leastttt possible distance to the mrt as possible. Even regarded the stacks furthest away from mrt in BS as too far.

My fiance is very concerned with the track record of the developer, which I'm less concerned about, but still somewhat excited because Cdl mostly develops private condos which we can't afford. So somehow can't quite believe I can get the chance to stay in one of its developments.

Just sharing some reasons that motivated us to buy BS! We also noticed the alternate balcony designs but not really concerned about it. I don't think we would spend much time on the balcony.

I think when both BS and VS are up, both will look very nice with its own "feel", so exterior architecture like paint/windows didn't affect the decision. I kinda like the brown now that it's up, though. :)

Bigafeet

I actually like the three quarter height windows of Brownstone because I am installing platforms for storage which will flush very nicely with the bottom part of the window. With full Bay windows that would actually look very awful.

I think it doesn't matter what others like or dislike but go down to the showflats to make a decision for yourself.

I contemplated for a long time before deciding on BS as I found the location to be the best amongst the ECs. To me, that is important as I do not drive.

Stick to something that satisfy your personal needs I Guess.

chiamt02

It's like, you chose the wife / husband based on what you valued most. We all like different things that's why not everybody may the same person. Don't go around telling others, "hey I don't like your wife. / husband coz he or she is so ugly...." Learn to keep quiet if nothing nice to say.

blue83xyz

hi peeps, BS is left with limited units.. anyone has any comments for
stack 10, 28, 56, 55? any comments are appreciated.. thanks =)

balagan

Stack 10 is 2 bedrooms units and facing the function room.

Personally, stack 28 is best among the 4 stacks mentioned.....all being low floors but stack 28 is inside unit with pool view. Not much worry about west sun as low floors end earlier.

Happy house hunting and good luck.

flame2000

Tier balcony is not my liking. Also dun like MSCP. U shld take a look at Parc Life.

bluerr

Tier balcony is not my liking. Also dun like MSCP. U shld take a look at Parc Life.

Actually I was pretty much sold by the size and layout of Parc life until I saw the huge industrial building flanking it... and the park in front of Parc Life isn't that big after seeing the actual site. Currently a new set of hdb blocks are being built on the once large empty space.

kelvinangsw

Anyway, BS already 85% sold. I saw just one 4 rooms and 2 or 3 3 bedroom premium left... Most of the high units of 3 bedroom also gone le... Very limited units left to choose from le...

grix17

Actually I was pretty much sold by the size and layout of Parc life until I saw the huge industrial building flanking it... and the park in front of Parc Life isn't that big after seeing the actual site. Currently a new set of hdb blocks are being built on the once large empty space.

I think you pretty much summarized the main reasons for Parc Life's slow takeup rate. Add the west sun to the pool/park-facing units and you have a big problem.

kelvinangsw

I think you pretty much summarized the main reasons for Parc Life's slow takeup rate. Add the west sun to the pool/park-facing units and you have a big problem.

One more factor is its neighbours, Sky park, is priced lower and its location is better. Sky park no resale levy too. So they stand to gain from Parc Life. Unfortunately, that mean Parc Life will be harder to sell next time...

balagan

Anyway, BS already 85% sold. I saw just one 4 rooms and 2 or 3 3 bedroom premium left... Most of the high units of 3 bedroom also gone le... Very limited units left to choose from le...

Just to share, the last 4-bedroom unit taken and only one 3-bedroom premium unit available.

The rest are 2 & 3 bedrooms unit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.