Budget IEM (Chit Chat)

BlackWing1977

I have this, bought on taobao, cheaper by a bit iirc... Long time already
It is either something like this or those small one like USB thumbdrive type.... if not your PC is probably useless in transmitting any kind of lossless audio to any wireless audio devices...

Mila Azul

Since this thread is about budget IEMs, would it be a good idea to use my broken screen S20, install a music app like Poweramp, and then use the phone as a DAP?

tuckloong

Since this thread is about budget IEMs, would it be a good idea to use my broken screen S20, install a music app like Poweramp, and then use the phone as a DAP?
Ya using old phones and giving them a 2nd life is great :)

Me still using my LG G6 and LG V30, V40, V50 as DAPs :)

However not all phones have a great DAC/Amp unit to drive demanding IEMs/Headphones without using an external DAC

For S20, it doesnt come with a 3.5mm output...hence u need select IEMs, Earphones and headphones with Type C interface or use external DACs to pair with any 3.5mm or balanced 4.4mm output IEMs and headphones :)

S20 support LDAC codec over bluetooth so can support some nicely tuned wireless earbuds and headphones too :)

BlackWing1977

Sure why not? As long as your phone can power the IEM can liao.. anyway most IEM are quite sensitive and easy to power.

Just read that S20 dun have 3.5mm so just buy a small dongle to use with it lor.

tuckloong

ok just opened the package of QCY H3s :p

WIll test if the ANC got pop pop when walking :p

Edit: ok jump around a bit :p Ya got ANC pop pop sound....need reduce ANC from max to low level to reduce popping....(Select indoor/commuting ANC modes and slide the ANC to min instead of using noisy room, windy or adaptive ANC)

Soundwise buay pai for something below $50...Me felt its on par with Ugreen Studio (Treble and Bass is better here than in Ugreen Studio without ANC, however mids are recessed and feel distant. Ugreen is miles better with ANC on) and slightly less than Kiwiears Ardor (Ardor is better for treble sensitive buddies. Ardor has weaker ANC than H3s)

However, Ugreen Studio bo pop sounds in ANC modes....

Ok end of 10 min quick review :p

Mila Azul

Sure why not? As long as your phone can power the IEM can liao.. anyway most IEM are quite sensitive and easy to power.

Just read that S20 dun have 3.5mm so just buy a small dongle to use with it lor.
Ya using old phones and giving them a 2nd life is great :)

Me still using my LG G6 and LG V30, V40, V50 as DAPs :)

However not all phones have a great DAC/Amp unit to drive demanding IEMs/Headphones without using an external DAC

For S20, it doesnt come with a 3.5mm output...hence u need select IEMs, Earphones and headphones with Type C interface or use external DACs to pair with any 3.5mm or balanced 4.4mm output IEMs and headphones :)

S20 support LDAC codec over bluetooth so can support some nicely tuned wireless earbuds and headphones too :)

To begin with, I plan to purchase either the Moondrop CHU II DSP or the QCY Melobuds Pro(has LDAC), and in the future, I intend to gradually explore higher quality IEM.

BlackWing1977

ok just opened the package of QCY H3s :p

WIll test if the ANC got pop pop when walking :p

Edit: ok jump around a bit :p Ya got ANC pop pop sound....need reduce ANC from max to low level to reduce popping....(Select indoor/commuting ANC modes and slide the ANC to min instead of using noisy room, windy or adaptive ANC)

Soundwise buay pai for something below $50...Me felt its on par with Ugreen Studio (Treble and Bass is better here than in Ugreen Studio without ANC, however mids are recessed and feel distant. Ugreen is miles better with ANC on) and slightly less than Kiwiears Ardor (Ardor is better for treble sensitive buddies. Ardor has weaker ANC than H3s)

However, Ugreen Studio bo pop sounds in ANC modes....

Ok end of 10 min quick review :p
fbcuteboy.gif

BlackWing1977

It is either something like this or those small one like USB thumbdrive type.... if not your PC is probably useless in transmitting any kind of lossless audio to any wireless audio devices...
Did a check... really not many products out there that covers a wide range of codecs except those from FiiO... even Creative support AptX mainly... FiiO small dongle looks quite decent.. but Shopee like dun have.. amazon also like dun have.. maybe too new.. the only one comprehensively covers all type is the BT30A that one basically get connected to your PC permanently if you intend to use it as a stream platform for all your wireless devices...

Sometimes I wonder when all the wireless bluetooth earbuds and headphones so popular... anybody notice the drop in audio quality when not using the correct codecs or not... like connect to PC... or older phones without those codecs.

BlackWing1977

The alternative is to use a special driver on your PC.... but need to pay to continue using after trial.. and there is no telling if this software will get into any legal trouble or not thought... surely those audio codecs have to be licensed before adding it to your hardware right...

BlackWing1977

Did a check... really not many products out there that covers a wide range of codecs except those from FiiO... even Creative support AptX mainly... FiiO small dongle looks quite decent.. but Shopee like dun have.. amazon also like dun have.. maybe too new.. the only one comprehensively covers all type is the BT30A that one basically get connected to your PC permanently if you intend to use it as a stream platform for all your wireless devices...

Sometimes I wonder when all the wireless bluetooth earbuds and headphones so popular... anybody notice the drop in audio quality when not using the correct codecs or not... like connect to PC... or older phones without those codecs.
sg-11134201-8259h-mgesfq0orh8t8b.webp

Okay found it on Shopee... not too bad $70++ the other desktop one like double... and more. But same like the other BT 5.4 version BT11 and desktop BT30A... it cannot transmit AAC... dunno why also..

dev_stg_prd

I got this KZ EDC Pro for below $10.
What's the next best if I like more bass? The former has more mid bass only IMHO.
Budget not too far off from EDC Pro if possible

tuckloong

What's the next best if I like more bass? The former has more mid bass only IMHO.
Below $10 a bit hard...u can try the Salnotes Zero 2? But must try and see if it fits well before buying..cannot do blind buy

BlackWing1977

KZ Castor Pro (Bass edition which is black lor), less than $20.

Mila Azul

Another question: Which is better?

IEM w/ type C

or

IEM 3.5mm + DAC dongle Type C To 3.5mm

I am looking at these few IEMs.

7Hz X Crinacle Zero 2
KZ Caster Pro
GK KUNTEN

BlackWing1977

Another question: Which is better?

IEM w/ type C

or

IEM 3.5mm + DAC dongle Type C To 3.5mm

I am looking at these few IEMs.

7Hz X Crinacle Zero 2
KZ Caster Pro
GK KUNTEN
IEM with 3.5mm + DAC Dongle Type C you got more options on how to use the IEM or the Dongle... the cable is fixed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.