betaunknown
Not the cheapest but good: PC Theme.
Cheap but a bit risky: TradePac.
A bit risky is an understatement. Not for first-timers or inexperienced builders.
Not the cheapest but good: PC Theme.
Cheap but a bit risky: TradePac.
A bit risky is an understatement. Not for first-timers or inexperienced builders.
Bought my entire build from Fuwell 3 years ago, the service & place is nice but it's not the cheapest.
Bought my Internal HDD & CPU case from Tradepac. It's the cheapest in the whole shopping centre and my products have no issues. Whats' wrong with the place?
Newbies tend to succumb to pressure from TP's henchmen to buy different model that costs a bit more. Somestimes chut pattern say dun have/OOS when it's right behind/beside/below/above their heads.
Still, I'll say Fuwell has higher chance of chopping newbies than Tradepac these days.
did FW sell above their advertised price? I doubt.

They don't. It's their service which is more detrimental. Try acting like a tech noob, walk-in and ask for a build with your budget to see what parts you are given. And one more thing, they suck for not using full size A4 receipt.
Erm, so much talking here and there, but where is TS??? Create thread then zao?? wait for him to give a more defining answer then continue from there bah.
Hi all, many thanks for the replies.
I do not intend to buy from branded companies like Dell etc cause I think it would be more expensive. Previously, when I made my purchase from Bell I ordered one of their standard models off their catalogue and did not customize anything.
My budget is about $1,200. Is it possible to get a decent gaming computer at that price? Or is my range too low? Paiseh I am a PC Noob.
Hi all, many thanks for the replies.
I do not intend to buy from branded companies like Dell etc cause I think it would be more expensive. Previously, when I made my purchase from Bell I ordered one of their standard models off their catalogue and did not customize anything.
My budget is about $1,200. Is it possible to get a decent gaming computer at that price? Or is my range too low? Paiseh I am a PC Noob.
Your budget can get something decent for sure.
My impression of those standard models and "set meals" offered by shops are usually a mixed bag of good and bad parts or worse highly marked-up for the average or below average parts given. I have a feeling they are used to offload slow-moving unpopular parts thru bundling with other more popular parts.
First-time PC DIYer or customers who desire convenience and are not concerned with stretching their dollars would go for them. Standard models are offered to customers who do not have something firm in mind, and it provides a rough template, not that they're totally useless.
In any case, you will almost always get better value for your money with a customized build recommended by the experienced DIYer seniors, mentors and emeritus here.
I think safer for you to go PC Themes, and definitely not TradePac if you're noob and unsure at the moment. Asking for recommendations in SLS shops is always a dangerous thing to try except at PC Themes. At least their guys I believe would recommend you something good that fits your needs w/o ripping you off.
Monitor? Keyboard? Mouse? OS?
If you are not buying a new monitor, what is the resolution of your current one? Do you foresee yourself getting a new one in the near future? If yes, what resolution do you intend to get?
What games do you play, and what level of graphics do you desire?
I believe his 'standard' model that he was refering to was those that the shop had ownself decided on parts and pre built liao. Ready for consumer to take home on the spot (maybe).