Buy computer at Sim Lim

Blank7

A bit risky is an understatement. Not for first-timers or inexperienced builders.

Bought my entire build from Fuwell 3 years ago, the service & place is nice but it's not the cheapest.

Bought my Internal HDD & CPU case from Tradepac a month ago. It's the cheapest in the whole shopping centre and my products have no issues. Whats' wrong with the place?

Ark Law

Bought my entire build from Fuwell 3 years ago, the service & place is nice but it's not the cheapest.

Bought my Internal HDD & CPU case from Tradepac. It's the cheapest in the whole shopping centre and my products have no issues. Whats' wrong with the place?

Newbies tend to succumb to pressure from TP's henchmen to buy different model that costs a bit more. Somestimes chut pattern say dun have/OOS when it's right behind/beside/below/above their heads.

Still, I'll say Fuwell has higher chance of chopping newbies than Tradepac these days.

royfrosty

Tradepac is a place for cheap stuffs BUT on a few conditions.

1. Definitely not a place for newbies.

2. Newbies can go, but with an experience buyer, or with a strong mindset of what they plan to buy and stick to the plan.

3. A place whereby you can hack care their service standard. Is buy and FO.

4. Its a place where you can buy and DIY at home.

5. Definitely can bargain lower than SRP and also might get furthermore discounts if you are a reg customer.

There are also a few cons of the shop.

1. Mobo + CPU is at different pricing. The listed pricing is ONLY for full rig. Else you will need to top up up to $30 more which imo it is still cheaper than other store by a couple of bucks.

2. Never let them fix the com for you. They will always find ways to makan all your spares that are given to them. Things like extra screws, extra cable ties, expansion slot covers, even some have reported missing cables from PSU. If you wanna take a leap of faith in them, you can always stand there and monitor them what they are doing.

3. They love to steer customers away from buying what they initially planed. So be strict with what you want.

Blank7

Newbies tend to succumb to pressure from TP's henchmen to buy different model that costs a bit more. Somestimes chut pattern say dun have/OOS when it's right behind/beside/below/above their heads.

Still, I'll say Fuwell has higher chance of chopping newbies than Tradepac these days.

I guess I got lucky as I got one of the *good-guy* types that was serving me at tradepac. He was really nice; not the type to "chu stunt" and sidestep my inquiries.

I guess you really have to know your stuff at SLS then haha

Ark Law

did FW sell above their advertised price? I doubt.

They don't. It's their service which is more detrimental. Try acting like a tech noob, walk-in and ask for a build with your budget to see what parts you are given. And one more thing, they suck for not using full size A4 receipt.

Maeda_Toshiie

They don't. It's their service which is more detrimental. Try acting like a tech noob, walk-in and ask for a build with your budget to see what parts you are given. And one more thing, they suck for not using full size A4 receipt.

I concur.

However, personally I don't care much about the receipt size. You don't need it for warranty purposes and all receipts fade, so I record the purchases elsewhere.

shadow84

Erm, so much talking here and there, but where is TS??? Create thread then zao?? wait for him to give a more defining answer then continue from there bah.

kjke1986

Erm, so much talking here and there, but where is TS??? Create thread then zao?? wait for him to give a more defining answer then continue from there bah.

Hi all, many thanks for the replies.

I do not intend to buy from branded companies like Dell etc cause I think it would be more expensive. Previously, when I made my purchase from Bell I ordered one of their standard models off their catalogue and did not customize anything.

My budget is about $1,200. Is it possible to get a decent gaming computer at that price? Or is my range too low? Paiseh I am a PC Noob.

ykgoh

I do not intend to buy from branded companies like Dell etc cause I think it would be more expensive. Previously, when I made my purchase from Bell I ordered one of their standard models off their catalogue and did not customize anything.

My budget is about $1,200. Is it possible to get a decent gaming computer at that price? Or is my range too low? Paiseh I am a PC Noob.

Your budget can get something decent for sure.

My impression of those standard models and "set meals" offered by shops are usually a mixed bag of good and bad parts or worse highly marked-up for the average or below average parts given. I have a feeling they are used to offload slow-moving unpopular parts thru bundling with other more popular parts.

First-time PC DIYer or customers who desire convenience and are not concerned with stretching their dollars would go for them. Standard models are offered to customers who do not have something firm in mind, and it provides a rough template, not that they're totally useless.

In any case, you will almost always get better value for your money with a customized build recommended by the experienced DIYer seniors, mentors and emeritus here.

I think safer for you to go PC Themes, and definitely not TradePac if you're noob and unsure at the moment. Asking for recommendations in SLS shops is always a dangerous thing to try except at PC Themes. At least their guys I believe would recommend you something good that fits your needs w/o ripping you off.

Maeda_Toshiie

Monitor? Keyboard? Mouse? OS?

If you are not buying a new monitor, what is the resolution of your current one? Do you foresee yourself getting a new one in the near future? If yes, what resolution do you intend to get?

What games do you play, and what level of graphics do you desire?

kjke1986

Your budget can get something decent for sure.

My impression of those standard models and "set meals" offered by shops are usually a mixed bag of good and bad parts or worse highly marked-up for the average or below average parts given. I have a feeling they are used to offload slow-moving unpopular parts thru bundling with other more popular parts.

First-time PC DIYer or customers who desire convenience and are not concerned with stretching their dollars would go for them. Standard models are offered to customers who do not have something firm in mind, and it provides a rough template, not that they're totally useless.

In any case, you will almost always get better value for your money with a customized build recommended by the experienced DIYer seniors, mentors and emeritus here.

I think safer for you to go PC Themes, and definitely not TradePac if you're noob and unsure at the moment. Asking for recommendations in SLS shops is always a dangerous thing to try except at PC Themes. At least their guys I believe would recommend you something good that fits your needs w/o ripping you off.

Thanks for the advice. I am a PC noob and have no idea how to construct a computer even if experienced members here provide me with parts I should buy. Would head for PC Themes to get a standard model then.

Monitor? Keyboard? Mouse? OS?

If you are not buying a new monitor, what is the resolution of your current one? Do you foresee yourself getting a new one in the near future? If yes, what resolution do you intend to get?

What games do you play, and what level of graphics do you desire?

Nope, I intend to just buy the CPU. Would I need a new monitor? My monitor is about 18 inches. I do not foresee getting one in the future, believe my current one is fine?

I would like to play games like FIFA and Assasin's Creed. I am perfectly fine with basic graphics as long as it runs smoothly.

Thanks.

Maeda_Toshiie

There is no "standard" model, so to speak. Since you are not getting a new monitor, and looks like you are not going for >1080, $1200 can get you some very nice stuff.

i5-4450 + Msi b85m g43
Crucial 4gb ddr3 x 2
Wd blue 1tb
Seasonic g550
Samsung oem drive
Win8 64 oem
CHASSIS?
GPU? AMD 270X?

Some other forumite more familiar with PCTheme's price list can fill in the blanks.

When going to PCThemes, ask for Yilong yandao.

royfrosty

Can try mynextcomonline.com if you want.
Else you can give tradepac a try. Just be strict with what you want. But you need to diy.

Or

Alternatively if you dont mind paying a bit more can go for pcthemes.

I will quote you tradepacs pricing. You can try pcthemes with the list. Just about $50-80 more.

And your monitor isnt full HD for sure.

Msi b85m g43 + i5-4570 ~ $347
Crucial 8gb 1600mhz ~ $89
WD blue 1tb ~ $75
Crucial m500 120gb ~ $115
Powercolor r9 270 2gb ~ $260
Seasonic g550 550w 80+ gold semi modular psu ~ $105
Sharkoon Bd28 ~ $77
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM ~ $110
Dell s2340L 23inch eIPS panel ~ $219

Total ~ $1418. Buy at tradepac. Diy

For pcthemes it will be slightly more expensive. This will be decent enough for your needs. And probably you can try tradepac and be stern with what you need. Then go over to Nigel Shop at level 2 and pay him a small fee to fix it.

shadow84

I believe his 'standard' model that he was refering to was those that the shop had ownself decided on parts and pre built liao. Ready for consumer to take home on the spot (maybe).

Maeda_Toshiie

I believe his 'standard' model that he was refering to was those that the shop had ownself decided on parts and pre built liao. Ready for consumer to take home on the spot (maybe).

Those are almost always mismatched with weak GPUs or some other strange config.

kjke1986

Hey yeap Shadow84 you are right, I am looking for those pre-built models. Is PC Theme known for such stuff?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.