BYD sealion 7

batniss

What are your thoughts on charging best practices ?

They say NMC battery is best to keep between 20%-80% range, and it is better to charge from 20%. Some say LFP can go up to 100% , yet others believe it is still battery hence better to use 80% max rule of thumb. For your friend that does intermittent charging, is it bad for the battery ? I have read claims that it is best to start charging from 20%.

I learned from a video Tesla has all the charging data from their customers for more than a decade. The conclusion was fast charging or slow charging makes no difference to the battery life, at least up to 10 years. Yet people are saying fast charging is bad for battery. On the other hand, BYD is talking about megawatt charging. If fast charging is bad, what is BYD talking about ?
Tesla bull.

wongminmin

Most people worry about the battery.
i guess 10 years battery warranty and 10 years free servicing to be very attractive tho.

kP6uo4d.png

batniss

EV = high road tax insurance no charging no soul takes 8hours to charge , no resale value not real car,china ev summore sure chibaboom accident shutdown 404, not ice not hybrid not manual not a real man if driving!
God bless please don't even think about it please
Lol.

Last time no gear stick. Puss.

Now ev become puss? You nothing to hit, hit everything you are not doing?

My car only take 30mins to full.
0-80 at 10mins. 15mins to 90%, last 10% Tesla throttled it to protect battery thus slower. not sure what you smoking

you dont even drive one do you.

Level42

Tesla bull.
Sorry, I don’t understand. Do you mean Tesla is saying fast or slowing charging makes no difference because they are selling their fast charging capability ? I really want to hear thoughts on charging best practices because I find it confusing.

batniss

Sorry, I don’t understand. Do you mean Tesla is saying fast or slowing charging makes no difference because they are selling their fast charging capability ? I really want to hear thoughts on charging best practices because I find it confusing.
No difference. Unless your car going to drive more than 10years. Might make some

batniss

Kind of tilted towards the Sealion7 actually. I like the interior, but the boot design a bit weird, I don't know how to put wheel chair in.

Tesla is out, I won't buy Tesla. The other I thought of is iX3 or the EQC but EQC very small like that. GLC seems bigger.

Boot design is weird cos it's supposedly a SUV coupe.

Ix3 or mercs is abt 100k more? So it's not really apple to apple comparison liao.

Last I checked, both of those German cars buy EV comes with transmission tunnel still no?

Pay more, get less cabin space, less boot space, lack frunk. Also, mercs use questionable batteries no?

People who probably don't do enough research will likely get German brands. If u want brands so much, skip their EV and continue with ICE better. You get the same at a cheaper price (including road tax)

koster

Indeed. Japanese cars are super reliable. It is a shame that they decided to forgo EV till recently and tried to look into new tech like hydrogen. Because of that, Nissan is in deep **** now.

The Japanese government had been trying to stop Chinese cars from entering their domestic market. Saw an article that they recently relented as BYD is persuading them that their car can do reverse charging. In short, during a disaster, cars can be used to power a lot of things/homes/infrastructure.

https://carnewschina.com/2024/12/05...nt-to-power-critical-infrastructure-with-evs/

Yup in Australia widespread blackout, I saw on byd FB that byd owners use their car to power their house fridge, lights etc for days.

aceminer

For me, not practical to have EV car cos my wife will not even know when petrol is low and leave it for me to top up. Unless she sees the warning light, else she will just leave it.
Imagine if she left either like 10km battery juice for me to use and I am in a rush. Sure GG.
I gg see BYD now

batniss

For me, not practical to have EV car cos my wife will not even know when petrol is low and leave it for me to top up. Unless she sees the warning light, else she will just leave it.
Imagine if she left either like 10km battery juice for me to use and I am in a rush. Sure GG.
Most people treats EV like handphones.

See % low will faster go charge one. My wife is like this.

The last 5% can easily last u more than 30km

Jacy_Phang

Most people treats EV like handphones.

See % low will faster go charge one. My wife is like this.

The last 5% can easily last u more than 30km
Range anxiety..I still have that..drop to 20-30% i go charge liao. My mscp chargers have to wait till Q2 this year..

icyflame

What are your thoughts on charging best practices ?

They say NMC battery is best to keep between 20%-80% range, and it is better to charge from 20%. Some say LFP can go up to 100% , yet others believe it is still battery hence better to use 80% max rule of thumb. For your friend that does intermittent charging, is it bad for the battery ? I have read claims that it is best to start charging from 20%.

I learned from a video Tesla has all the charging data from their customers for more than a decade. The conclusion was fast charging or slow charging makes no difference to the battery life, at least up to 10 years. Yet people are saying fast charging is bad for battery. On the other hand, BYD is talking about megawatt charging. If fast charging is bad, what is BYD talking about ?

First I must say that I don’t have an EV and what I know are from what I read and also numerous YouTube videos that talks about charging habits for battery types and battery degradation.

For NMC batteries, charge to max 80% and only to 100% when you are going for long trips. Below 20% and above 80% are worse off for NMC batteries.

For LFP batteries. It is perfectly fine to charge to 100%. In fact, it is recommended to charge to 100% at least once a month so that the battery can calibrate itself. That’s why I will only go for LFP. No point getting Long Range NMC when at 80% is about the same as 100% for LFP. Having said that, charging speed slows down above 80% so that’s a win for NMC. Just that LFP is also safer

From what I saw, intermittent charging is perfectly fine as long as you keep to the charging recommendation based on your battery type.

As for fast charging and slow charging, it is inconclusive

EJB

Last I checked, both of those German cars buy EV comes with transmission tunnel still no?

Pay more, get less cabin space, less boot space, lack frunk. Also, mercs use questionable batteries no?

People who probably don't do enough research will likely get German brands. If u want brands so much, skip their EV and continue with ICE better. You get the same at a cheaper price (including road tax)
That's why I'm looking at the GLC instead of the EQC. EQC doesn't fascinate me but still a discussion point, too fast to brush it off.

The_Davis

New car bare minimum is around 200k.

Honestly, with so many selections which is more than good enough, I would not go alot over this amount, 250k max.

The days of buying those expensive cars just for the badge is over imo. Now BYD is just as good, if not better than alot of the more expensive brands.

Of course if you print money different story. But for value for money, point A to B car, not for haolian or status, BYD is right up there.
Siao 250k can buy half a Hdb Liao

icyflame

I went to test drive. Like its looks but that's about it. Well, some people prefer brand over other considerations.
Last time when Apple came out, many were preferring the brand of Nokia and Blackberry too. That’s only that much a brand can carry. They need to back it up with comparable features.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.