CallmeZen training log

CallmeZen

Fuark.

Was running significantly faster and less breathless (my own feeling) but timing proved otherwise.

First time didn't stop while running a 2.4 sort of achievement unlocked.

Timing 15min20s

Didn't watch the clock at all while running. Only watched when ended. Fuark. Need to get my timing up and fast.

2 more weeks left and my timing like never improve. Fml.

Could do with more calves and feet stretch. Only this 2 area burned during the run.

Guess my anaerobic base did increase from the 30min run/walk.

CallmeZen

Squats work set

80x5 92.5x5 105x5 117.5x5 127.5x1 (did3 but spotter touched the bar)

Bench

55x5 62.5x5 70x8 62.5x5 55x8

Dips 8/8/8/8/8

Fuark.

Was running significantly faster and less breathless (my own feeling) but timing proved otherwise.

First time didn't stop while running a 2.4 sort of achievement unlocked.

Timing 15min20s

Didn't watch the clock at all while running. Only watched when ended. Fuark. Need to get my timing up and fast.

2 more weeks left and my timing like never improve. Fml.

Could do with more calves and feet stretch. Only this 2 area burned during the run.

Guess my anaerobic base did increase from the 30min run/walk.

What really helps for 2.4km is to try to go for a very fast pace for the first 3 laps and then just grind really hard for the last 3.

cause if you can get a decent time (7-8min<) for the first 4 laps, you can count on your mental strength to take you home for the last 2 lap (approx 2min per lap for an easy silver)

just try to be strong mentally.(be willing to vomit if that whats it takes.)
Or just get someone to pace and push you hard.

CallmeZen

What really helps for 2.4km is to try to go for a very fast pace for the first 3 laps and then just grind really hard for the last 3.

cause if you can get a decent time (7-8min<) for the first 4 laps, you can count on your mental strength to take you home for the last 2 lap (approx 2min per lap for an easy silver)

just try to be strong mentally.(be willing to vomit if that whats it takes.)
Or just get someone to pace and push you hard.

doubt i can get a sub 8min for the first 4 round..

well, my philosophy is just to go fast and hard on the first few laps, then grind it out at the end.

Cause if you go slow at the start, either way you'll still be tired and fatigue nearing the end, and i doubt if you can effectively increase your pace at the end.

ROCKET LAUNCHER

well, my philosophy is just to go fast and hard on the first few laps, then grind it out at the end.

Cause if you go slow at the start, either way you'll still be tired and fatigue nearing the end, and i doubt if you can effectively increase your pace at the end.

this actually works :s13:

but you'd need a good stamina and endurance base to maximise the distance you're "dashing" in the least possible time. I can hit about 1.6km before the pace starts to slow

:)

:(

derrickgyn

I took 2 scoops jack3d and 3 scoops extend preloaded 2hrs before running.

10:15 to 9.35 back in scs. I went hard right from the start, keeping up with the faster runners.

CallmeZen

I'll probably try this when I attempt my next 2.4 run probably Wednesday night.

Thanks guys for the feedback.

ROCKET LAUNCHER

here's something you can try. minimise the amount of noise your foot makes when making each stride. it'll help to preserve your joints and eliminate excessive muscular exertion.

also keep the foot that's in the air (going for the next step) as close to the ground as possible, and try to reduce the amount of time for which each foot stays on the ground.

CallmeZen

here's something you can try. minimise the amount of noise your foot makes when making each stride. it'll help to preserve your joints and eliminate excessive muscular exertion.

also keep the foot that's in the air (going for the next step) as close to the ground as possible, and try to reduce the amount of time for which each foot stays on the ground.

Thanks man.

The above tips really helped me.

Felt weird not doing anything today. Decided to went for my run after a disappointing Sunday 2.4km

9Ygz4OE.png

Feeling like a king now.

ROCKET LAUNCHER

the start of your route got a killer upslope alr :s13:

not too bad la, the downhill must be quite shiok :D

xerref

Good job. Just keep at it bro. Consistency is key.

Try visualizing swinging your knees forward versus upwards to better engage the quads

CallmeZen

Thanks guys.

Realised my quads and calves are always burning during the run. Regardless of doing the rt15, any dynamic stretches to recommend for calves and maybe feet? For calves I'm only doing the basic stretches.

Warmup is like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Zs4hh4cp98
RT15 lunges and stuff
Rolling my feet with the golf ball much like smfr
Place feet on elevated ground and push my body, stretching hamstrings.

ROCKET LAUNCHER

funny thing was, the burning seemed to tone down after i incorporated squats into my training (2 years in NS, hardly squatted)

i can manage a decent run with minimal warmup now, but i always do side stretches. i find it helps mitigate the chances of getting stitches

CallmeZen

Deadlift work set

85x5 97.5x5 110x10 97.5x5 85x8

Some lats pull down

Shagged from the 2 2.4km run last night.

CallmeZen

12:32 for 2.4km

Sian. Guess I didn't give my all. 3rd round is generally slowest. Clocked 1.6km at 8:34 and I know must chiong liao. If not for the traffic light, might have passed. But no excuses. Fuark.

CallmeZen

Bench Week2

57.5 3
67.5 3
75 6 Spotter touch the bar, sian half. could have gone at least 2 more.
67.5 3
57.5 8

CallmeZen

Squats

85.75 3
97.5 3
110 8
140 1

Ohp

35 3
42.5 3
47.5 8

WOO. Joining the 3 plates club. Just wanted to try.
Napfa in 1 week. Not sure if can pass...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.