Squats 70x5x5
Ohp 33.5x5x5 (died @ last set last rep)
Bench press uber crap work out.
First set, 48.5 x 4 rep, died @ last rep
Deload to 45
First set x5
Second set x4, struggling already.
Deload to 40 x 3sets.
Not sure why, either because not enough rest in between or because of no breakfast.
Dumbbell flyes 14x5x8

jiayou bro.. i failed on my last set of bench today too.. :(

frostbyte88

Squats 70x5x5
Ohp 33.5x5x5 (died @ last set last rep)
Bench press uber crap work out.
First set, 48.5 x 4 rep, died @ last rep
Deload to 45
First set x5
Second set x4, struggling already.
Deload to 40 x 3sets.
Not sure why, either because not enough rest in between or because of no breakfast.
Dumbbell flyes 14x5x8

You're still keeping form right? Because if you were doing it they way i taught you(bending the bar, gripping it tight and proper breathing) it should be much easier than how you were doing it previously.

CallmeZen

You're still keeping form right? Because if you were doing it they way i taught you(bending the bar, gripping it tight and proper breathing) it should be much easier than how you were doing it previously.

Hi. Yeah I'm doing the one you taught me. Somewhat I think I didn't capture everything you said. Hahaha. You mentioned something about the elbows, should it be kept close to my body? Also, the guys there mentioned I should widen my grip more. Yes?

Yup. That's what I did too. I should keep my elbow perpendicular to the ground when coming down, yes? The guys there told me to widen my grip.

frostbyte88

Hi. Yeah I'm doing the one you taught me. Somewhat I think I didn't capture everything you said. Hahaha. You mentioned something about the elbows, should it be kept close to my body? Also, the guys there mentioned I should widen my grip more. Yes?

Yup. That's what I did too. I should keep my elbow perpendicular to the ground when coming down, yes? The guys there told me to widen my grip.

I dont remember your grip width being a problem, it should be slightly wider than shoulder width. Elbows close to body, yes. Not that your elbows should be perpendicular, but your forearms should be perpendicular at the bottom position optimally.
Bench_Press_Arms.jpg

Also, take note of wrist position. The right picture showing proper form.
bench-press-wrists-grip.jpg

CallmeZen

I dont remember your grip width being a problem, it should be slightly wider than shoulder width. Elbows close to body, yes. Not that your elbows should be perpendicular, but your forearms should be perpendicular at the bottom position optimally.
Bench_Press_Arms.jpg

Also, take note of wrist position. The left picture showing proper form.

Thanks for the reply bro. Shall try again this Saturday!

frostbyte88

Alamak, Zen, sorry. My last comment of wrist position has a typo. The one on the right side is the correct one, not the left. Will edit the post accordingly.

CallmeZen

Squats

40kg x 2set x 5 rep. (warmup)
70kg x 2 set x 5 rep
75kg x 3 set x 5 rep

Bent over row
40kg x 2set x 5rep (warnup)
55kg x 5set x 5rep

DL
70kg x 5set x 5rep

Bench press
30kg x 2set x 5rep (warmup)
45kg x 2set x 5rep

Then the guy that was spotting me said I could do much more. So he told me to try on a 15 each side, never tried before.

So..

50 x 2sets x 7rep

I was kinda surprised that I managed to move to that weight.
Then he said, give 20 each side for 3 rep.

So..
60kg x 2sets x 3

He said he didn't really helped, just acting as if he is. Not sure if that's true though.
Well, I'm kinda surprised and happy. So I decided to give 50 another try.

So,

50 x 3sets x 5

Very satisfied!

ranmaru1987

Squats

40kg x 2set x 5 rep. (warmup)
70kg x 2 set x 5 rep
75kg x 3 set x 5 rep

Bent over row
55kg x 5set x 5rep

DL
70kg x 5set x 5rep

Bench press
30kg x 2set x 5rep (warmup)
45kg x 2set x 5rep

Then the guy that was spotting me said I could do much more. So he told me to try on a 15 each side, never tried before.

So..

50 x 2sets x 7rep

I was kinda surprised that I managed to move to that weight.
Then he said, give 20 each side for 3 rep.

So..
60kg x 2sets x 3

He said he didn't really helped, just acting as if he is. Not sure if that's true though.
Well, I'm kinda surprised and happy. So I decided to give 50 another try.

So,

50 x 3sets x 5

Very satisfied!

Dun increase weight so fast.. progress slowly..

CallmeZen

Dun increase weight so fast.. progress slowly..

Haha, yeah gonna stick with what I'm doing previously. Just a one off thing.

if he did help, he shouldn't even be touching the bar btw.

I suppose you meant 'if he didn't* help'

Haha, yeah what I thought too. But meh, got me happy for a while. Like mentioned above, gonna stick back to original weight.

CallmeZen

Bench press 47 x 5 x 5. Done without any spotter / assistance.

Squats 73 x 5 x 5

Ohp was darn messy, didn't know what went wrong.
First set 35 x 4 + 1
Deload to 33 x 5 x 4sets
Last set couldn't lift a single rep of 33
Deload to 30 x 5rep

Did some accessories like negative pull up and assisted pull up.
Kinda shag.

CallmeZen

Can anyone explain the rationale behind the losing facts and lifting?

Although I have lost 2kg over the last month of lifting, coupled with a more protein less carbs diet, I don't know how lifting will lose weight since I don't sweat much(as compared to playing sports.)

liftstrong

lifting like any other physical activity requires energy = use up calories.

calories out > calories in = weight loss.

Doesn't matter whether you sweat alot or not.

Also, more muscle mass = higher base metabolic rate = increase calories out

ranmaru1987

Can anyone explain the rationale behind the losing facts and lifting?

Although I have lost 2kg over the last month of lifting, coupled with a more protein less carbs diet, I don't know how lifting will lose weight since I don't sweat much(as compared to playing sports.)

sweat is just your body trying to cool itself down.. the common misconception is that more sweat equals better workout.. which is not true.. although yes your body needs to use more energy to cool itself down.. but more sweat still does not equate to better workout..

e.g lifting 5 x 5 x 50kg bench in non air-conditioned environment, sweat alot vs lifting 5 x 5 x 70kg in air conditioned environment, never really sweat.. which is a better workout??

CallmeZen

Thanks all for the clarification!
sweat is just your body trying to cool itself down.. the common misconception is that more sweat equals better workout.. which is not true.. although yes your body needs to use more energy to cool itself down.. but more sweat still does not equate to better workout..

e.g lifting 5 x 5 x 50kg bench in non air-conditioned environment, sweat alot vs lifting 5 x 5 x 70kg in air conditioned environment, never really sweat.. which is a better workout??

I would say it's the one lifting 70kg?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.