• Yes - training class when young / parents taught

• Yes - natural can swim/ self learn

• No - I can't swim

• Others: elaborate below

Results are only viewable after voting.

coern

I listened in on the swim coach when watching my kidโ€™s lessons. Very applicable also ๐Ÿ˜‚

Mainly trial and error by myself in the pool and then the YouTube videos.

Did you go for class to speed up the process?

Or just relearn via past experience & online info?

Blacky

frog style.. can swim quite well.. in fact i go swim 3-4 times every week. 30 mins = 20 laps = 1km

I find swimming frog style even if i chiong all the way not tired one.. I think I can swim for one whole day
also can frog style

free style swim 1 lap liao tired like mad
When u chiong in frog style, how long did u take to complete 10 laps or 500m?

LoneTraveller

I remember last time ns got so many ah boy don't know how to swim, die la
Actually ns don't need to know how to swim mah. You just need to know how not to panic when doing river crossing which is damn safe with you clinging to the rope. It's just floating and pulling yourself along.

kyokoto

Was afraid of water since I was a kid because I nearly drowned twice. But I took up swimming lessons at the age of I think 15 knowing that eventually National Service requires me to know how to swim. LOL

Thank God I made it and I'm able to swim for 45 mins straight without stopping now.

xArchangelSGE

Actually ns don't need to know how to swim mah. You just need to know how not to panic when doing river crossing which is damn safe with you clinging to the rope. It's just floating and pulling yourself along.
I mean PT got swimming mah, those don't know how to swim really jialat, got one is scare water one.

kyokoto

Weren't we all required to swim 1 lap during BMT?

LoneTraveller

Weren't we all required to swim 1 lap during BMT?
Yes but it's not compulsory. I went through bmt without passing the swimming test. They weren't really out to train us to swim but were just using swimming as an excuse to tekan us during my time.

Namida_rei

knowing swimming is a life skill

In a way, but I hope I dun have to use it.

Yang children time, sat or sun can spend 1 whole day in the pool. Like pay 50 cents and chill there with my friends. 11am to 6pm. Go back home got the wave hit your body sensation. Dunno if u guys know

Have always been a pool person. Dunno just like to swim, although not very good, only do frog style

Covid era I started swimming heavily . Like every week 3x. I find myself sleeping very well after a swim. Maybe it was my way to cope with the uncertainty.

Actually other than life skill, this Is a good hobby, at least in your retirement days u can swim and not just loitered at coffee shop

FrogGreen

Now wonder I always see the same people in swimming competition and that Pap ib eugene is one of them
can elaborate what u say???

my bro used to be a competitive swimmer. he did share to me some of the stories in the pool hahah

messidona

can elaborate what u say???

my bro used to be a competitive swimmer. he did share to me some of the stories in the pool hahah
I always attend swimming competition organized by pa and can see many familiar faces. Edmw most hated professor eugene is a damn zai swimmer. I saw him in swimming competition last year. I think he even won medal

Laneige

Me too. Watched how the coach guided my kid. N learnt the strokes of legs n hands. Eventually I knew how to swim
Some interpretation-Learn how to swim isnโ€™t just learn how to swim

I think one can only say they know how to swim when they can survive at least staying afloat for quite some time

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.