• Yes - training class when young / parents taught

• Yes - natural can swim/ self learn

• No - I can't swim

• Others: elaborate below

Results are only viewable after voting.

coern

learnt as a child regularly until end of primary school.

in my teens, 20s and 30s hardly swim...

only late 30s start to swim again because kids were learning - and had to practically re-learn most of the strokes LOL

Can u swim?

Did you self learn or went classes?

How frequently u swim?

Calis_Yoda

The wrong ones are plenty.

i see him breathing everything 2 strokes.

Huh... The video he is 1 breath in every stroke..

Or your 2 strokes is mean 1 left + 1 right crawl..
@Kavairs
On freestyle (front crawl) to be accurate
Depending on your stamina/endurance, proficiency and lung capacity (which can be trained to increase), your change in breath can either be 1 stroke (set of 1 left + 1 right) or 2 strokes.

Besides that, the rotation of your head should be smooth, not sudden, to avoid twisting and strain of neck muscles. The rotation of head should also sychronise with the pull and throw of the arm (turn head to the side to breath during the pull, then turn back into the water during the throw)

congster2

@Kavairs
On freestyle:
Depending on your stamina/endurance, proficiency and lung capacity (which can be trained to increase), your change in breath can either be 1 stroke (set of 1 left + 1 right) or 2 strokes.

Besides that, the rotation of your head should be smooth, not sudden, to avoid twisting and strain of neck muscles. The rotation of head should also sychronise with the pull and throw of the arm (turn head to the side to breath during the pull, then turn back into the water during the throw)
It's not called freestyle. It's called front crawl. Crawl just happens to be the fastest stroke hence pp use it in the freestyle category.

lazyclimb

Can u swim?

Did you self learn or went classes?

How frequently u swim?
signed up at CC & took lesson during primary school, once a week on Sat

swim weekly during Sec school as ECA, mostly once a week except when need to prep & took SLSS's tests, can be up to 3 times a week.

After O level only swim once in a while & during NS

MaximumZ

But the waters are dirty, from sentosa to public swimming pool. Someday I will have a big house with my own swimming pool.

lazyclimb

just curious, how is NS training for swimming like?

back in 94 non-swimmers just take a board and paddling for width of 10 lanes pool (25 m) considered pass liao

LoneTraveller

just curious, how is NS training for swimming like?

back in 94 non-swimmers just take a board and paddling for width of 10 lanes pool (25 m) considered pass liao
U heng lor. During my time in 93,they made all of us do pt at the pool's edge til we are all trembling and prespiration is all over the floor.

Then the pti say we are good as this is naval driver's pt and we did not cry when the other batch cry. Knn...

coern

a lot of good youtube videos that helped me... especially this guy.

https://www.youtube.com/@FaresKsebati

I found his explanations very clear for me.

@Kavairs
On freestyle (front crawl) to be accurate

coern

you never chiong like Adam Peaty, that's why.

you do his stroke rate, confirm punctured in 50 metres.

frog style.. can swim quite well.. in fact i go swim 3-4 times every week. 30 mins = 20 laps = 1km

I find swimming frog style even if i chiong all the way not tired one.. I think I can swim for one whole day
also can frog style

free style swim 1 lap liao tired like mad

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.