CapitaLand Ascott Trust f.k.a. Ascott Trust *Official* (SGX:HMN)

sohguanh

完了完了
Chui liao
.985 bid showing liao :look:
Use the broker app Time and Sales, Trade Summary, Market Depth to see the overall picture trend. It has strong players both sellers and buyers. You need to go with the flow but I no time monitor full-time :(

Paul Lee

It is interesting that the result of the PO has not been released. Usually, the result is released by the next working day after the close of PO.

I suppose its possibly undersubscribed. Which means that those who are gung ho with their excess application may end up getting more than they bargained for.

sohguanh

It is interesting that the result of the PO has not been released. Usually, the result is released by the next working day after the close of PO.

I suppose its possibly undersubscribed. Which means that those who are gung ho with their excess application may end up getting more than they bargained for.
This is also the first time I saw the stock trading below the rights price. Funny rite? Then who want to subscribe for the rights when they can buy off the SGX at cheaper price? Today it has sunk below $1 and into the 90+ cents territory hmmm....

starbugs

Quite obvious that the PO was not fully taken up. Maybe delay a bit so that the underwriters have more time to sell the units they are stuck with.

Pocoyoz

NF4jHc1.png

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...rential-offering-closes-valid-acceptances-366moi sub 300 shares :(

sohguanh

order filled @ 0.98 and price still going lower.... o_O
If you believe in last time oldbird theory no hurry just wait for close to 52 week low which is about 0.87. You go in at 0.98 and also 1.00 previously means possibly still can drop further. Of cuz I understand you have lot's of cash to average down. All the best.

Sometimes oldbird while being old they have been in SGX market long before we even step in so sometimes their advice can be quite "accurate"

Squaredot

If you believe in last time oldbird theory no hurry just wait for close to 52 week low which is about 0.87. You go in at 0.98 and also 1.00 previously means possibly still can drop further. Of cuz I understand you have lot's of cash to average down. All the best.

Sometimes oldbird while being old they have been in SGX market long before we even step in so sometimes their advice can be quite "accurate"
how u know limster is not an old bird? :grin:

sohguanh

how u know limster is not an old bird? :grin:
From his posting he is definitely not and even much younger than me I am quite sure. Oldbirds will not talk using SCB, IBKR such kind of "modern" brokers. If you go to the Share*** forum they most are using poems,limtan,uobkh using contra tactics, cfd such kind of topics.

My definition of oldbirds is those that play in SGX way before internet is born which means no internet no mobile phone or even Nokia that kind. 1980s onwards era.

d5dude

Dun understand why these reits are paying dividends and raising capital thru rights issue at the same time, what exactly is the point?

Btw they just issued a new 5 yr corp bond, guide yield is 4.5% so that might be a better option for investors who are looking for passive income and is not interested in these rights issues.

limster

Dun understand why these reits are paying dividends and raising capital thru rights issue at the same time, what exactly is the point?
their sgx filing explained what they are using the funds for and claim it is yield accretive. however, the market doesn't believe them. myself, i'll try to catch this falling knife. 😅

tomorrow I will queue @ 0.95 and see if can get some more, need to ration my cash.... 📉 📉 📉

d5dude

their sgx filing explained what they are using the funds for and claim it is yield accretive. however, the market doesn't believe them. myself, i'll try to catch this falling knife. 😅

tomorrow I will queue @ 0.95 and see if can get some more, need to ration my cash.... 📉 📉 📉

Oh nvm... I just recalled that reits have to pay out 90% of their earnings to receive tax breaks, I guess this is why they are paying divs and raising capital at the same time.

sohguanh

0.96 😐
hope can reach previous purchase price

Sent from Pocoyo Fan Club
Sometimes can trust a bit of oldbird "advice" they eat salt more than we eat rice. Use the 52 week low as a reference that is 0.87. It tell you roughly what price to start enter say 90 cents maybe. But 52 week low can go even lower as no one can predict future but at least you know you enter at a low enough price. Of cuz it can go the other way and you don't want to miss the boat so you enter at say 95 cents also good enough I think.

TehSi99

52 weeks low is a good entry point. But sometimes waiting and waiting, then it didn't go down so far.

sohguanh

52 weeks low is a good entry point. But sometimes waiting and waiting, then it didn't go down so far.
Oldbird teach me another analogy. You wait and wait for that gal but she don't go down. So look for other gal that is going down lor. SGX so many REIT to choose from unless all don't go down to 52 weeks low? Cannot be I just saw some reaching 52 week low.

lzydata

Oh nvm... I just recalled that reits have to pay out 90% of their earnings to receive tax breaks, I guess this is why they are paying divs and raising capital at the same time.

Yes exactly, at least 90%. Unlike a normal company that can use its retained earnings for acquisitions or new projects, REITs don't retain so much earnings and their fundraising methods are more circumscribed.

Which is why I find it odd that some people like to criticize REITs for "always" raising money from their investors, when a lot of that has to do with how it is structured. Probably these people want a static trust that does not grow, or they are only able to buy a new property if they sell an old one.

sohguanh

Yes exactly, at least 90%. Unlike a normal company that can use its retained earnings for acquisitions or new projects, REITs don't retain so much earnings and their fundraising methods are more circumscribed.

Which is why I find it odd that some people like to criticize REITs for "always" raising money from their investors, when a lot of that has to do with how it is structured. Probably these people want a static trust that does not grow, or they are only able to buy a new property if they sell an old one.
REIT/Trust start popping up in SGX around 2000s. I was part of the pioneer investors of REIT/Trust as a lot of my existing are from IPO. During that time I already know they need to raise monies. Perhaps some thought since got mandate to give out 90% of their earnings as dividends, it is like a recurring passive income stock but silently or unwittingly ignore REIT need funds to do acquisition along the years. If they don't subscribe to their entitled rights their shares get diluted.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.