Car owner maths ??!?!

Meemoosaa

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?

standarture

How is a PHV cheaper than owning a car? Where you get $15 during peak hours? A ride from Orchard to your house will easily be $20 - $30+ during peak hours. Unless your daily PHV spending (assuming every ride is a PHV, no public transport) is less <$2000 a month which is very doubtful, car is better.

Meemoosaa

How is a PHV cheaper than owning a car? Where you get $15 during peak hours? A ride from Orchard to your house will easily be $20 - $30+ during peak hours. Unless your daily PHV spending (assuming every ride is a PHV, no public transport) is less <$2000 a month which is very doubtful, car is better.

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.

buyacat

You are looking at current car cost.

Many car owners paid much lower coe in 2017 to 2019 period.

Unless you tell me those drivers all fetch you in brand new car with mileage less than 5000km.

birmingham123

Car owner here..

My car expenses..

1. Petrol, 400 dollars a month
2. Parking home parking. 100 a month.
3. Insurance and road tax. 1600 a year
4. Servicing at AD and changing of parts. 2.4k a year
5. Cash card, 150 a month

Already close to 1k a month... So car prices depends. Mine was 100k bought few years ago.. I will say total adds up to 1.8k a month - agar agar

BigMonkey

for your lifestyle obviously you don’t need a car. different people different lifestyle. time vs money, choose one.

madcampus

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.

$2000 for a month.
$24,000 for a year.
$240,000 for 10 years.
A standard Toyota Corolla Altis now cost $164,488 (according to sgcarmart).
I will buy a car. :)

Wu-Han Clan

Car owner here..

My car expenses..

1. Petrol, 400 dollars a month
2. Parking home parking. 100 a month.
3. Insurance and road tax. 1600 a year
4. Servicing at AD and changing of parts. 2.4k a year
5. Cash card, 150 a month

Already close to 1k a month... So car prices depends. Mine was 100k bought few years ago.. I will say total adds up to 1.8k a month - agar agar
@Meemoosaa bro... you counting 1 trip... $12-$15..... if you bought bnb car bef pandemic... your car expenses can be arnd 1.4k to 1.8k like tt.... when you gt car.. your lifestyle will change... you will go out more often.. more likely to get gf....

once you gt gf and you drive to work... car is v worth it becoz you trying dating and commuting to work... shopping malls.. her parents place... her frens place... fetch her from her gym.... with grab... you sure pay more than owning a car... mayb tt is hw your hitcher is counting oso...

tt is only $ for $ comparison... hvnt count privacy and the convenience...

Mephist0pheLes

$2000 for a month.
$24,000 for a year.
$240,000 for 10 years.
A standard Toyota Corolla Altis now cost $164,488 (according to sgcarmart).
I will buy a car. :)
Ur petrol, insurance, parking, maintenance free one?

Capitalist

I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way.

Anyway, you’re comparing based on 1-2 trips per day at max, versus the convenience of ‘anytime, anywhere’ which car ownership accords.

Ain’t quite apple to apple comparison.

Orphan

Yes you can. Though limited to 2nd hand cars. Eg this Porsche costs $474.00 per month:
https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1051422&DL=2251

1051422_2b.jpg

Both you and the car owners you spoke with are right and wrong at the same time.

In Singapore, it's common for average heart-landers to over-estimate the cost of car ownership.
Part of the reason is because they cannot get out of the mindset that cars are big ticket luxury items. The adage "Poverty has limited our imagination" is quite apt here.

I used to think it's a waste of money to buy a car as well.

On the other hand, it's also common for car owners to under-estimate the cost of car ownership.
The first thing they might be comparing when you told them $15 for an 8 km journey, is possibly what an 8km trip would have cost them in petrol (which is around $1-$2). They likely would not have added cost of the car, parking, ERP, repairs and maintenance etc.

$2,000 is definitely more expensive than owning a car. That's $24k a year, can afford much more than simple bread and butter cars.

As you have calculated, their cars cost more than your daily 2 PHV trips. Meaning the cost is something they can afford. To them, they used that money to buy their own car, and you are paying that same money to other people to buy their own car. You only can use it 2 times a day because it's a shared service that is used by the "public", including passengers sweating from the hot sun, old folks with stained pants from loose bowels, vomiting drunks, coughing folks who contracted Covid/Monkey Pox etc. While car owners can use it anytime they want. More than 2 trips a day. Plus, it's reserved for them at their beck and call. And unless used as PHV, unlikely to be contaminated by "public".

Think of going Geylang to use public toilets compared to having your own personal toilet.
Different people prefer (or are limited to) different options.

Other things to consider that cannot be quantified using math:
1) If you have ever needed to wait/pray for a PHV, especially after a midnight movie/supper/drink/somewhere a bit ulu/urgent matters, you are at the mercy of the availability of PHVs.
2) If you have ever experienced surge prices and had to switch between 4 different ride hailing apps to try getting the lowest surge, you are at the mercy of the ride hailing company for extorting the increased price.
3) When you board the PHV, your life is now at the mercy of the driver's driving skills and possible lack of rest from long hours of driving. Exception if you can't drive or are a bad driver.
4) Heard of people having the driver cancel the booking? Heard of people being abused (verbally or more worse) by the driver? Experienced drivers complaining why short distance also take PHV and waste their time? While the vast majority of PHV drivers are very professional, whether it'll turn out to be a bad day can be at the mercy of someone you cannot get away from for the entire trip.

theMKR

moi peak hour to orpit ish 38bucks for a 15min trip.

if both way would be 76/day easy..... multiple by 20 days, thats 1500/mth easy.....

thats why when lim peh due to public transport delay, moi will just late. if moi boss ask, moi will say, moi pay grade notch enuff to take private transport :sad:

moi ish the only person in the orpit that dun drive to work :sad:

Enola88

@Meemoosaa bro... you counting 1 trip... $12-$15..... if you bought bnb car bef pandemic... your car expenses can be arnd 1.4k to 1.8k like tt.... when you gt car.. your lifestyle will change... you will go out more often.. more likely to get gf....

once you gt gf and you drive to work... car is v worth it becoz you trying dating and commuting to work... shopping malls.. her parents place... her frens place... fetch her from her gym.... with grab... you sure pay more than owning a car... mayb tt is hw your hitcher is counting oso...

tt is only $ for $ comparison... hvnt count privacy and the convenience...

more likely to get gf....

It is a myth……..
U will get alot of free rider

Mystyque

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?

Whether the maths make sense is very dependent on the individual travel pattern. So for your travel pattern, it would be more costly to be driving.

For me, I do mostly short trips due to my kids so my cost per km is around $1.96, a 7km trip would cost about the same as your PHV at peak.

Those who tend to drive longer distances are likely to have much lower cost per km. My car gets about 11km/L at best for my short trips but i can hit over 20km/L for my longer trips. So the cost per km may drop to around $1.8 for them.

Overall, for my travel patterns, taking PHV would cost the same or more than driving. Especially considering we take more trips during weekend with the convenience of a car. This is with all costs factored in, parking, petrol, insurance, tax, maintenance as well as stuff I buy for the car.

jumpthepig

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.