Car owner maths ??!?!

beano

End of the day, taking public tpt still cheaper but not as convenient.

Can Or Not

How is a PHV cheaper than owning a car? Where you get $15 during peak hours? A ride from Orchard to your house will easily be $20 - $30+ during peak hours. Unless your daily PHV spending (assuming every ride is a PHV, no public transport) is less <$2000 a month which is very doubtful, car is better.
Hitch is cheaper…

chopra

a proper maths will assume all cost and for range, it will be assuming u “buy car to cover 10km a day”.

if u not happy, increase the distance to 100km a day or whatever.

tt gives u the “range” and establish cost per km.

Can Or Not

Anyway, you’re comparing based on 1-2 trips per day at max, versus the convenience of ‘anytime, anywhere’ which car ownership accords.

Ain’t quite apple to apple comparison.
There’s pros and cons
Maybe he just need one trip per day.
Car ownership also entails
1. Finding parking lot
2. Fuel cost
3. Maintenance cost
4. Insurance cost
5. Parking fees ( for home)
6. Parking fees (for work)
7. Parking fees (for destinations)

jimmy

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.
Because PHV can take 4 passengers while car can take 4 passengers plus the driver.

chopra

without gg thru too many things, for my case, at about 40km a day, i recall it is about $25 a trip.

$90k (car cost) + $90k (ten yr parking, ancillary) / 365/10 = $49/day

chopra

the other way is to use the car odometer. at 10yr, my projected mileage is abt 140km and my projected total cost is about 180k.

at 7km, it is $9

Capitalist

There’s pros and cons
Maybe he just need one trip per day.
Car ownership also entails
1. Finding parking lot
2. Fuel cost
3. Maintenance cost
4. Insurance cost
5. Parking fees ( for home)
6. Parking fees (for work)
7. Parking fees (for destinations)
To me, all these are costs associated with owning a car.

Simple as that.

Ethan_

Car owner here..

My car expenses..

1. Petrol, 400 dollars a month
2. Parking home parking. 100 a month.
3. Insurance and road tax. 1600 a year
4. Servicing at AD and changing of parts. 2.4k a year
5. Cash card, 150 a month

Already close to 1k a month... So car prices depends. Mine was 100k bought few years ago.. I will say total adds up to 1.8k a month - agar agar
Think once the car gets older the repair cost will increase as wear and tear set in. This is not avoidable one, and varies with different people different car. See heng-suay. So, it will average out more or less somewhat.

One thing with rental, what they pay is what they get. They don't have to worry and think about all the other costs or added. Anything wrong, just throw back to the rental. Thus less hassle for them perhaps.

But with quite some of those smaller rental, think they don't really keep the car tip top lah. Just can go on the road. Need to really spoilt liao then then bother. If not, non critical and such ask them they might not bother mch also.

ZesiMuerte

Car ownership per month chao chao 2k. Anyone who use less than that confirm is everyday stay home one, never maintain. You want ah, bring girl girl got out jiak peng, hiao, chao chao 2.5k.

Sell away. Take Grab almost on a daily basis. Take $20 x 2 = $40. $40 x 20 days = $800. Bring girl girl go out $50 x 8 days = $400. Approximately, $1200. Max, $1500.

But

Own car that time, satki.

No car, not satki. Only can live like low ses dog.

nonameless

Heng I take public 100+ a mth can abandon transport if jam or breakdown no need maintain...

hachi

To me time saved and comfort more important... With car I can go anywhere and go work late and go home early. Each day save 2-3 hours... No complaints..

trax06

I don't get $15 everytime, sometimes it's only $10 - $12.

And why would I go to Orchard everyday during peak hours ?

When I'm not in a rush during the weekends, I take public transport or hitch that's why I was in their car ?! Of course when not in the mood, will use phv too. Admittedly, I do use a lot of phv but not everyday lah.

My monthly phv expenses is around $400 - $500 every month. Sometimes reaching $600. Can I get a car with that including cost of car + COE ?

Say even if my monthly phv expenses is close to $2K per month which is A LOT OF PHV ( 80 trips of $25 ! Lol) , it's also not any more expensive than owning a car right ? But don't know why the car owners gasp and feel like taking phv prices are so out of this world for them. lol.. I just find it amusing.

2k, 80 trips of 25$ is abt just below my wife Jazz monthly costs.

Philipkee

I sometimes take grab hitch and ocasionally driver (car owner) will ask how much is the usual full fare to my destination, I said around $15 during peak hours and around $10 during off peak. This is for about 7-8km and I do it almost every day, one way. Without fail, they would always freaked out, gasped and said "wahhh so expensive ah".

I don't understand, they own a car, how is $10 - $15 for 7km any more costly than all their car cost and expenses added up ? At first I thought it was only one or two weirdos who can't do maths but then it happened a few more times.

I know there's girl maths, but is this a car owner maths thing or what ?

Are there any secret maths formula that car owners is aware of that I don't ? Unless the car + COE was gifted to them by someone else, how is it possible that taking a phv is more expensive than owning a car (any car!) right ?

Can edwmers pls enlighten ?
Yes.

A PHV RIDE to anywhere is always MORE EXPENSIVE than a personal car RIDE to anywhere. Notice I caps the words RIDE. This is because parking fees is a separate issue

the high cost of car ownership comes about when the owner still pays for the car even when it’s parked.

I give you an example.
Let’s say a car is $200k including all interest payments
That’s about $2.20 per hour of ownership

So if you take a Phv or let’s say one hour and you pay $22, you are paying 10 times for the phv for a journey that costs only $2.20 plus maybe a bit more for fuel.

So that is how some people can perceive it. But of cos, you might pay high for the phv for that RIDE but rest of the time you are paying nothing while for the time while the owner pays the $2 plus per hour regardless of whether or not he is using the car.

Ethan_

Car ownership per month chao chao 2k. Anyone who use less than that confirm is everyday stay home one, never maintain. You want ah, bring girl girl got out jiak peng, hiao, chao chao 2.5k.

Sell away. Take Grab almost on a daily basis. Take $20 x 2 = $40. $40 x 20 days = $800. Bring girl girl go out $50 x 8 days = $400. Approximately, $1200. Max, $1500.

But

Own car that time, satki.

No car, not satki. Only can live like low ses dog.
Think impression typical car should be about 2k above bah. Not more than 3k. Rental average near 3k. So ownership can be cheaper. Those buy car to park at home mostly one another story. :s22:

huihong

whatever you think how much you need to own a car, double it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.