Cheapest Android Tablet option

seasonscrystal

I see.

In your opinion, what is the cheapest tablet that has the longest battery life ?
(Excluding wifi, 3g or whatnot. Mainly used for watching videos)

China tablets:
Cheapest - VIA8650 chipset tablet
Longest battery - NEC EV2 chipset tablet
Videos - Allwinner A10 chipset tablet

Which ones u need research yourself liao. If don't want research then best don't get China tablet, you have good chance to end with disappointment.

I don't care about 3g/gps. I had my iphone for these functions. I want to play around with android tablet, play with custom rom. Initially want to buy kindle / nook tablet. but then I found out that 7" too small for reading magazines. Even the galaxy tab 8.9 are quite small for magazines. Also the nook tablet unlikely to be able to use custom rom. This baby is cheaper, longer battery, and with bonus webcam somemore. albeit slower. Looking at the price, performance, battery life, and weight, it's quite a steal.

My only concern is I can't read mandarin. Do you think relying on google translate is good enough to navigate through the custom rom / forums instructions?

Can't read Chinese best don't get, you won't have an English community to fall back on. Most in slatedroid are SN10T1 & SN10T3.

Soul77

Thanks. I'll do more research then. What are my other options if I want a good budget 10" tablet with better english community support?

seasonscrystal

Thanks. I'll do more research then. What are my other options if I want a good budget 10" tablet with better english community support?

Look in slatedroid forum :) Most sections are older tablets, but the price should be lower.

Newer tablets always a bet. When I gotten the Novo7A, there wasn't a Novo7A section. Now it's quite active :)

RiceGrain

Thanks for the guide,seasonscrystal.

It's very detailed and able to clarify all my doubts.

mamborol

Before I make decision on which tablet. May I double confirm the following.

- For Teclast A10, it does not have Bluetooth, does that means I cannot tether my 3G via my iPhone? I can only use 3G dongle right? Any other means to share?

- For SN10T2, it's only 512mb ram. Does that really cause disturbance as compared to 1gb for Teclast A10? Cheap is definitely tempting.

I couldnt find much lots of unbiased reviews on SN10T2. Can anyone provide links of own reviews on SN10T2?

Thanks all.

w00tw00t

Not sure if all iPhones are the same but on 4 and 4S, tethering can be over WiFi. Best of all it is Infrastructure mode meaning no hacking of config is required. In short it is just enable and can use immediately.

512MB of RAM is usually enough for normal usage. However if you intend to upgrade to ICS and add many fanciful Widgets, you might have a problem.

seasonscrystal

I couldnt find much lots of unbiased reviews on SN10T2. Can anyone provide links of own reviews on SN10T2?

Thanks all.

As far as I know, there's only 1 person who did a real review of SN10T2 in English^^; It's a member from tabletrepublic.

The admin of tabletrepublic did said this when I mentioned I had interest of getting a SN10T2, Teclast A10, Teclast P81HD;

SN10T2 - has the best built quality form them all but BAD viewing angle, one eye will see darker, too bad i really like this device.

seasonscrystal

GRRRRRrrr just checked sgshop on sn10t2 status.. NO STOCK AGAIN!!! sigh....

Edit: gonna wait for refund then try another shop...

mamborol

As far as I know, there's only 1 person who did a real review of SN10T2 in English^^; It's a member from tabletrepublic.

The admin of tabletrepublic did said this when I mentioned I had interest of getting a SN10T2, Teclast A10, Teclast P81HD;

SN10T2 - has the best built quality form them all but BAD viewing angle, one eye will see darker, too bad i really like this device.

Yes, I have read that already.. but so far only 1 review.. but it's quite detailed already IMO.. i hope to see more..

actualy i thought u have received yours, and also waiting for ur review ;p

seasonscrystal

Yes, I have read that already.. but so far only 1 review.. but it's quite detailed already IMO.. i hope to see more..

actualy i thought u have received yours, and also waiting for ur review ;p

I posted a "cry father" post 2 days ago saying sgshop slow service result to no stock from 360buy -_- Then posted again saying I try taobao after they refund. then posted again say i order liao. now i posted again say no stock :s8:

sigh.. maybe not fated with this tablet. 3rd try if cannot get I buy other tablet liao...

kyleongwl

I posted a "cry father" post 2 days ago saying sgshop slow service result to no stock from 360buy -_- Then posted again saying I try taobao after they refund. then posted again say i order liao. now i posted again say no stock :s8:

sigh.. maybe not fated with this tablet. 3rd try if cannot get I buy other tablet liao...
there is a divine intervention asking u to buy something else...:p

mamborol

If u consider other tablets, let me know too.. maybe can share shipping cost! hehe. A10 would be my current best choice for now..

seasonscrystal

If u consider other tablets, let me know too.. maybe can share shipping cost! hehe. A10 would be my current best choice for now..

i may get Bmorn V11. A10 the disassembly shots a bit worrying, but cheap lah. Waiting for real buyer review then see=:p

Cannot share shipping, I have 3 qipao in sgshop warehouse liao:s13:

mamborol

i may get Bmorn V11. A10 the disassembly shots a bit worrying, but cheap lah. Waiting for real buyer review then see=:p

Cannot share shipping, I have 3 qipao in sgshop warehouse liao:s13:

Haha ya, u still got credit hor..
V11 is a 7" right? Thought u looking at bigger one? Hehe

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.