Cheapest Android Tablet option

KL318

seasoncrystal, hope can have your input in this.

I'm going to HK next month (for the first time!) and will be popping by Shenzhen with my family. Hoping to get a good dual-core tablet (my Aurora experience has been disappointing). Any recommendations on what will be available in that timeframe? The RK3066 looks impressive, but from my research looks like it won't be out so soon. :(

N90 is coming out with RK3066 this week.

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=17137492604&is_b=1&cat_id=2&q=n90
Pricey though!

Ramos is also launching Dual core with Amlogic, but no IPS yet.

xviralx

will the gemei g3 be able to handle reading of books and graphic novels/comics(marvel,DC etc) easily? Intending to get a budget tablet for reading/surfing, not so much into tablet games.

Thanks

Edit:
Also what would the total agent charges(shipping everything) be like? I the g3 from taobao is about 79SGD but i noticed dealextreme selling the tablet with shipping for 109SGD

kyleongwl

will the gemei g3 be able to handle reading of books and graphic novels/comics(marvel,DC etc) easily? Intending to get a budget tablet for reading/surfing, not so much into tablet games.

Thanks

Edit:
Also what would the total agent charges(shipping everything) be like? I the g3 from taobao is about 79SGD but i noticed dealextreme selling the tablet with shipping for 109SGD
normally, shipping + GST + Agent, is about 20% on top of the unit price..
U sure it was quoted as SGD? Most website ad in USD.

I had g3...7" not very interesting to read books.(though that the size of kindle as well)
Surfing is reasonable...only WIFI..9betweeen room wil have issue. Using personal hotspot shd b fine

xviralx

normally, shipping + GST + Agent, is about 20% on top of the unit price..
U sure it was quoted as SGD? Most website ad in USD.

I had g3...7" not very interesting to read books.(though that the size of kindle as well)
Surfing is reasonable...only WIFI..9betweeen room wil have issue. Using personal hotspot shd b fine

Thanks for the reply. Decided to order one anyway. I think it's a good first tablet to play around first and see if i need something more powerful. Price is really too attractive to not try it hehe :D

kyleongwl

Thanks for the reply. Decided to order one anyway. I think it's a good first tablet to play around first and see if i need something more powerful. Price is really too attractive to not try it hehe :D
i did not root...and uses GB
(firmware available in Gemeitech.com

1) no time to root
2) cant see too much forum support

Like u mentioned, pure driven by cost..dirt cheap

tan1688

Q1) how much do you expect the 16GB Flash U30GT will costs at shenzhen ?
The rockchip sales mentions USD128 for minimum 1000 pieces bulk order.
Reseller such as Aliexpress lists USD 269.99 per piece.

Q2) are you going to huaqiang bei road to buy that ?
Q3) was thinking of tompang you to buy but say at USD 200 ~ SGD 260 quite
expensive for a china tablet also, if about USD 153 ~ SGD 200 then still worth it.

snipes14

Q1) how much do you expect the 16GB Flash U30GT will costs at shenzhen ?
The rockchip sales mentions USD128 for minimum 1000 pieces bulk order.
Reseller such as Aliexpress lists USD 269.99 per piece.

Q2) are you going to huaqiang bei road to buy that ?
Q3) was thinking of tompang you to buy but say at USD 200 ~ SGD 260 quite
expensive for a china tablet also, if about USD 153 ~ SGD 200 then still worth it.

I assume you are responding to my post.

1) No idea, seriously. I'm just gonna go there to take a look and if the price is reasonable I will buy it. It HAS to be below US$249 though, because that's the price the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 is going for. If a China tablet costs more than a Galaxy Tab there's no point doing it.

2) No idea, I have never been to Shenzen before. It's my father who will be bringing us there, and he says we are going to the Sim Lim Square of Shenzhen.

3) Hmmm... I foresee too many problems with this. Transaction costs way too high. :s22:

cslim35

1) No idea, seriously. I'm just gonna go there to take a look and if the price is reasonable I will buy it. It HAS to be below US$249 though, because that's the price the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 is going for. If a China tablet costs more than a Galaxy Tab there's no point doing it.

U can check the price in taobao as they will jackup the price for tourists just like sim lim sq. :p

tan1688

oh the shenzhen MTR info here, not difficult Huaqiangbei - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

-> china got lots of con ppl, be careful dun talk to ppl on the streets, especially pretty mm, the more prettier the more dangerous.
-> check the tablet before leave the shop, like screen dead pixels, volume button, etc also do a FR, if u manage to buy lah haha, like price etc
-> give the exact change, dun show large notes, beware of fake notes or kiam cai notes, reject do not accept that.

snipes14

oh the shenzhen MTR info here, not difficult Huaqiangbei - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

-> china got lots of con ppl, be careful dun talk to ppl on the streets, especially pretty mm, the more prettier the more dangerous.
-> check the tablet before leave the shop, like screen dead pixels, volume button, etc also do a FR, if u manage to buy lah haha, like price etc
-> give the exact change, dun show large notes, beware of fake notes or kiam cai notes, reject do not accept that.

Thanks for the tips!

Should be fine I guess, my father goes to China pretty often, but it's the first time for me. Will keep what you said in mind. Hopefully can pick up the cube for cheap, looks pretty nice. But can't find on Taobao leh, or my search query wrong?

Edit: Aliexpress says US$269. That is damn pricey. The Acer Iconia A200 is US$299 :s22:

Edit2: Ok, guess I was supposed to search for U30GT without the "Cube" which gives me RMB1299, which translate to US$206. A more palatable price!

Any other alternatives for a RK3066? I'm actually looking more at 7 inchers. W17Pro would fit the bill somewhat, although it's Amlogic instead of Rockchip, and doesn't have an IPS screen.

kyleongwl

do take note, they closes the shop rather early..abt 6pm.
Shops on ground floor are the "branded" or tourist shops..& often they are open til late.
Those level 2 or higher, they look like open market(distributors...u know when u reach)...lots smoke & heat.
Close around 6pm...

If u r buying phone, there are class as well.
1) original
2) paraell import
3) "water" goods

AllanDelon

advise pls

pm or post here is ok ..

can any1 advise:
between U30GT, Cube U9GT2 and Teclast A12 ... price/where easier buy?

my budget is not more then 250sgd actually ..

thanks!

Demues

I might be able to get Original Cube U9GT2 16Gb with 1 year full warranty at SGD230-250 each.

Anyone interested?

icearmour

which china tablet would be the best which supports voice calls..basically wanted similar functionality like samsung galaxy tab 2..:D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.