Cheapest Android Tablet option

seasonscrystal

No sure if anyone remember the fake 32GB Kingston sdcard (<S$15 with agent shipping) I mentioned ordering 3 weeks ago. Anyway i went and collect it today, and so far I think it's slower but it seems to work.

A full format with the free micro-sd reader takes about 2+hrs. Capacity indicate it's about 31GB. Writing a near 1GB file takes around 15mins I think.

Tested runing a few HD anime (720p) vids briefly, seems to run well. Trying to pack about 30GB now and see if it really can hold 30+GB. Will likely update tomorrow on how well it works.;)

Didn't have time the past few days, but update is the cards don't work well. Everytime tries to copy more will have file corrupt problem.

Anyway, I believe these are returned cards, as there are some contents inside. So best don't buy :)

Also ordered something (non-electronics) via 65daigou & I must say their processing speed is much better than sgshop.

Normally if I place order around lunch time with sgshop, the earliest they update purchased of the order is around 6-7pm, most cases if they buy next day... 65daigou took less than 2hrs to make purchase of my order. This is good as it'll save a day of waiting.

Just good to know: sgshop taobao account IIRC is 4 golden diamonds, 65daigou is 4 crowns. sgshop warehouse is guangdong, 65daigou is shanghai.

Will see how fast 65daigou really is, maybe next time use they all the way. But their Singapore office is near IMM, sgshop office near National Lib is closer to me.:s8:

shazed

Didn't have time the past few days, but update is the cards don't work well. Everytime tries to copy more will have file corrupt problem.

Anyway, I believe these are returned cards, as there are some contents inside. So best don't buy :)

Also ordered something (non-electronics) via 65daigou & I must say their processing speed is much better than sgshop.

Normally if I place order around lunch time with sgshop, the earliest they update purchased of the order is around 6-7pm, most cases if they buy next day... 65daigou took less than 2hrs to make purchase of my order. This is good as it'll save a day of waiting.

Just good to know: sgshop taobao account IIRC is 4 golden diamonds, 65daigou is 4 crowns. sgshop warehouse is guangdong, 65daigou is shanghai.

Will see how fast 65daigou really is, maybe next time use they all the way. But their Singapore office is near IMM, sgshop office near National Lib is closer to me.:s8:

Just checked other sd cards on taobao ( not the kingston you bought) and their price is about the same as the ones sold at sls.

For 65daigou, their price is about the same as sgshop except for the first 500g, but not much reviews about them. So comparing the two, which agent more trustable?

kyleongwl

Soul77

Thanks for your feedback. I just bought a 16GB class 4 Kingston card from the recent IT show for $15. I did a benchmark, it's 5mbps write and 20mbps read. Not bad for class 4 cards.

Out of curiosity, can you benchmark your card? I use SD tools android apps

seasonscrystal

For 65daigou, their price is about the same as sgshop except for the first 500g, but not much reviews about them. So comparing the two, which agent more trustable?

sgshop should be cheaper as VIP status easier to get, also the free retention period of items are 3months. This is useful when you order lots of stuffs that you don't need urgently (especially by sea), then just collect it together.

65daigou has been around longer than sgshop, and it seems their daily orders are much more than sgshop. They could have more employees bah. I 1st heard of 65daigou was in Channel8 news a few years ago, along with peeka.

If my 1st order with 65daigou is good maybe next time all air shipping I'll use them liao. sgshop I'll use for sea shipping, which I'd been using veryt often lately.

Last week I collected my 1st (or rather 2nd if u count the lucky cats) sea shipment from sgshop. The items came in good condition for sea shipment. Virtually no dents on the boxes. I'm still waiting for this week sea shipment to come, along with 2 more sea shipments:s13:

I'm becoming a shopaholic=:p Can't blame me as a lot of stuffs I gotten is at least 1/2 price, some even 1/5 the price (with shipping) compare to stuffs sold in SG:s13:

Thanks for your feedback. I just bought a 16GB class 4 Kingston card from the recent IT show for $15. I did a benchmark, it's 5mbps write and 20mbps read. Not bad for class 4 cards.

Out of curiosity, can you benchmark your card? I use SD tools android apps

As I say don't bother with the chiong sdcard, not reliable at all. So not going to waste more time trying liao:s13:

seasonscrystal

50% off Singapore's First Ever Lepton 7-Inch Android 2.3.4 Tablet

199 for this tablet. i was wondering if this can be used to play HD 1080 or 720 p videos and output to HDTV to replace my media player.

anyone knows? thanks

Tablets is good as quickshift media player replacement (like when u go outstation or presentation), but not as a replacement. You will most likely kill the battery rather qucikly if u intent to plug-in constantly.

Get urself a cheap Himedia HD600A (1185 chipset), now they drop the price to 399RMB, with shipping think can get <S$115. 1185 & 1186 difference is the loading on 1186 slightly faster (due to more RAM & ROM), able to play 3D feed and have android (useless for now).

bladez87

Tablets is good as quickshift media player replacement (like when u go outstation or presentation), but not as a replacement. You will most likely kill the battery rather qucikly if u intent to plug-in constantly.

Get urself a cheap Himedia HD600A (1185 chipset), now they drop the price to 399RMB, with shipping think can get <S$115. 1185 & 1186 difference is the loading on 1186 slightly faster (due to more RAM & ROM), able to play 3D feed and have android (useless for now).
battery drain np, can just plug in to charge. but my asus transformer cannot play all the HD 1080p movies i have. thats my only concern since branded cant play, not sure MIC can

seasonscrystal

battery drain np, can just plug in to charge. but my asus transformer cannot play all the HD 1080p movies i have. thats my only concern since branded cant play, not sure MIC can

That is the problem that will kill the battery faster:s8: It's not where the tablet is made from, but which chipset it uses.

I'm such a fan of Allwinner A10 chipset because of it's ability to play lots of video format & even at 2160p (GB 1.6T firmware). Mind you I do have A500, note, atrix all with dual-cores and still prefer Allwinner A10 for it's video performance;)

I used to think like you get a tablet and use as a player, but when I got slap with possible battery issues, I gave up that idea and bought a Kaiboer K660I (1186 chipset) to replace my Himedia HD600A (1185 chipset).

bladez87

That is the problem that will kill the battery faster:s8: It's not where the tablet is made from, but which chipset it uses.

I'm such a fan of Allwinner A10 chipset because of it's ability to play lots of video format & even at 2160p (GB 1.6T firmware). Mind you I do have A500, note, atrix all with dual-cores and still prefer Allwinner A10 for it's video performance;)

I used to think like you get a tablet and use as a player, but when I got slap with possible battery issues, I gave up that idea and bought a Kaiboer K660I (1186 chipset) to replace my Himedia HD600A (1185 chipset).
these kaiboer and himedia set i thought when it comes to streaming, their servers are and can be killed after some time, then the set becomes useless le ah. so i thought if i use the tablet and plug it in the charger permanently without the idea of it being portable. is it feasible? at least android if i pptv down i can switch to letv.

but i am wondering, how come a MIC tablet can run mkv files at 1080 while my asus transformer cannot do it? thanks

bladez87

these kaiboer and himedia set i thought when it comes to streaming, their servers are and can be killed after some time, then the set becomes useless le ah. so i thought if i use the tablet and plug it in the charger permanently without the idea of it being portable. is it feasible? at least android if i pptv down i can switch to letv.

but i am wondering, how come a MIC tablet can run mkv files at 1080 while my asus transformer cannot do it? thanks
Allwinner chipset
http://www.deal.com.sg/sites/default/files/Lepton_Model_7L23_Datasheet 29-Feb-2012.jpg

is this the same chipset as you mentioned. it states boxchip though

user78

That's what I thought about using MIC cheap tablet as internet tv box. Quite a few android apps to use, e.g. ppstv, kuaishou etc...so not tied to any server. If the battery is spoilt because the tablet is always plug in, it only matters when we want to use it unplugged. Should it matter if we want to use it always plugged?

MIC tablet can run 1080p mkv files because of Allwinner A10 chipset. I'm using my Novo 7A as tv box. The tablet screen may be 800x480 but when hdmi output to tv screen, the display is fine for HD videos.

seasonscrystal

Why I ask you get himedia because there are quite a few DIY firmwares, where you can linked to other ims (Android linked with apps, media players with ims). Streaming is normally better on Android than on media player, but you only mentioned the need to play 1080p on your previous post.

In any case letv now aren't getting good speed on Android either, best option is still download 1st then watch.

FYI if you kill the battery, most likely (for China tablets) you won't be able to turn on the tablet even if you are plug-in.

As I said the reason why tablets regardless China or branded is the chipset. RK2918 & Allwinner A10 (2011 Amlogic and Telechip chipsets also can IIRC) can run 1080p without any problem, but Allwinner A10 can run more codecs and format.

That's what I thought about using MIC cheap tablet as internet tv box. Quite a few android apps to use, e.g. ppstv, kuaishou etc...so not tied to any server. If the battery is spoilt because the tablet is always plug in, it only matters when we want to use it unplugged. Should it matter if we want to use it always plugged?

MIC tablet can run 1080p mkv files because of Allwinner A10 chipset. I'm using my Novo 7A as tv box. The tablet screen may be 800x480 but when hdmi output to tv screen, the display is fine for HD videos.

You can charged, unplugged then watch. But if you low batt then charge while watching, you'll likely shorten the battery lifespan.

seasonscrystal

A brief update on 65daigou.

Yesterday during lunchtime I placed order with them for 2 different sellers product. 1 at Shanghai which was commented to make fast delievery, the other seller at Shenzhen.

65daigou made purchased for me around 2.40pm, and today they updated around 5pm that my items from Shanghai seller recieved.

Sgshop normally will only update the following day. Which normally resulted to a day or 2 later when I get my items. I did question them regarding this a few times, they normally replied they are packed with orders, so updating is slower.

So those trying to get tablets from Taobao via Air, maybe can consider 65daigou over sgshop. But I still don't know how fast they send items to Singapore yet=:p I'm just impressed with their status update.

bladez87

eh, the tablet that i posted, is using boxchip leh. is it same as allwinner?

you tested with 1080p mkv right? not stream from somewhere de hor? cause playing mkv at 1080 and streaming 1080 is different... thanks

bladez87

Why I ask you get himedia because there are quite a few DIY firmwares, where you can linked to other ims (Android linked with apps, media players with ims). Streaming is normally better on Android than on media player, but you only mentioned the need to play 1080p on your previous post.

In any case letv now aren't getting good speed on Android either, best option is still download 1st then watch.

FYI if you kill the battery, most likely (for China tablets) you won't be able to turn on the tablet even if you are plug-in.

As I said the reason why tablets regardless China or branded is the chipset. RK2918 & Allwinner A10 (2011 Amlogic and Telechip chipsets also can IIRC) can run 1080p without any problem, but Allwinner A10 can run more codecs and format.

You can charged, unplugged then watch. But if you low batt then charge while watching, you'll likely shorten the battery lifespan.
ya. besides 1080p mkv, i would also like streaming functions. US shwos, tvb shows, korean shows, tw shows. movies also.

right now i am considering between 2 choices to fulfil my entertainment needs.

1) 50% off Singapore's First Ever Lepton 7-Inch Android 2.3.4 Tablet

2) 18% off AC Ryan VEOLO Android Media Player with Remote

from what the people posted here, both shld be able to output rmvb and 1080p. now comes the question which is better for streaming the above mentioned.

why i dont want china media set is cause i got 1 which is purely media playback and it is faulty even after 3 changes. and i also found out that asiabox etc have their servers cut off from ppstv pptv tudou etc on and off and some streaming set once cut means gone liao.

so between these 2 which would you recommend? thanks

seasonscrystal

ya. besides 1080p mkv, i would also like streaming functions. US shwos, tvb shows, korean shows, tw shows. movies also.

right now i am considering between 2 choices to fulfil my entertainment needs.

1) 50% off Singapore's First Ever Lepton 7-Inch Android 2.3.4 Tablet

2) 18% off AC Ryan VEOLO Android Media Player with Remote

from what the people posted here, both shld be able to output rmvb and 1080p. now comes the question which is better for streaming the above mentioned.

why i dont want china media set is cause i got 1 which is purely media playback and it is faulty even after 3 changes. and i also found out that asiabox etc have their servers cut off from ppstv pptv tudou etc on and off and some streaming set once cut means gone liao.

so between these 2 which would you recommend? thanks

You really need to read up more on the stuffs u want to buy. IIRC Veolo is also using 1186 chipset which Himedia HD900 and Kaibaoer K660I are using. The only difference is the firmware, or rather the IMS & GUI.

As for the Shanzhai rebrand 399-499 RMB (if 1GB RAM then 499-550RMB) tablet that's sold for S$199, you decide if it worth it:s13: S$199 I would rather get Ainol Novo7 series, at least there's firmware support on IMP3 & slatedroid.

Which one u choose if up to u. Your money, the bros here can only tell u (or warn u).

bladez87

You really need to read up more on the stuffs u want to buy. IIRC Veolo is also using 1186 chipset which Himedia HD900 and Kaibaoer K660I are using. The only difference is the firmware, or rather the IMS & GUI.

As for the Shanzhai rebrand 399-499 RMB (if 1GB RAM then 499-550RMB) tablet that's sold for S$199, you decide if it worth it:s13: S$199 I would rather get Ainol Novo7 series, at least there's firmware support on IMP3 & slatedroid.

Which one u choose if up to u. Your money, the bros here can only tell u (or warn u).
the veolo is using android firmware, meaning there is no IMS right?how much is the ainol novo 7 series? the shanzai that lousy ah? i take it that this tablet on the deal.com.sg sucks from your comments. just saw the specs for 7 series. really a lot better than than this lepton brand and cheaper. thanks!

but how come the ainol processor is only 1ghz while this is 1.5ghz?

read a little bit but so much info and so better to ask around ma...reading and experiencing quite different...

think i might just get the veolo.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.