ChiangMai

Andrew833

No bro don't ride in Thailand if you got no experience. If you ride in Thailand like how you ride in sg, you be dead within an hour on Chiang Mai road. Things that doesn't happen in sg will happen in Thailand. Like cement truck rolling over you or doing a turn to pour cement all over you, truck from opp lane come into your lane at 100km, car doing right turn and bang right into you ect...
It's good to worry, Chiang Mai unlike BKK, got lesser traffic. Can rent 1 day to ride around the old city, if feel not safe then take grab/bolt/songthaew.

ekardo

No bro don't ride in Thailand if you got no experience. If you ride in Thailand like how you ride in sg, you be dead within an hour on Chiang Mai road. Things that doesn't happen in sg will happen in Thailand. Like cement truck rolling over you or doing a turn to pour cement all over you, truck from opp lane come into your lane at 100km, car doing right turn and bang right into you ect...
I ride in hatyai and kanchanaburi but not so scary like you describe.

Always exercise safe riding.

AuraKUPO

I ride in hatyai and kanchanaburi but not so scary like you describe.

Always exercise safe riding.
These are the common daily encounters bro. Inside the city I not so worry, is outside of the city that worries me.

AuraKUPO

It's good to worry, Chiang Mai unlike BKK, got lesser traffic. Can rent 1 day to ride around the old city, if feel not safe then take grab/bolt/songthaew.
Wrong, bkk is safe. CM city is quite ok. Is outside where there are less traffic, the trucks and Vans drivers drunk and chiong. Pattaya city is dangerous because many drunk Ang moh and locals. Every few days will have road deaths in patt

ekardo

Wrong, bkk is safe. CM city is quite ok. Is outside where there are less traffic, the trucks and Vans drivers drunk and chiong. Pattaya city is dangerous because many drunk Ang moh and locals. Every few days will have road deaths in patt
Then the danger also applies to driving or bus also. Better stay in SG?

AuraKUPO

Then the danger also applies to driving or bus also. Better stay in SG?
Yes I always tell sinkies to stay. Don't come overcrowd CM anymore. Motorbike is smaller and they think should give way to bigger truck.

Andrew833

If you even notice, there are not even a lot of sinkies there. Most of the foreigners there are from china and korea
I went early this year, very heng didn't experience many PRC. Only went to local attractions, saw a few of them in group. Strange, I didn't see any Korean.

No.1AHOLE

I went early this year, very heng didn't experience many PRC. Only went to local attractions, saw a few of them in group. Strange, I didn't see any Korean.
Yeah i went early this year too. was in chiang mai area for about a month. saw a lot of korean at niman area

Andrew833

Yeah i went early this year too. was in chiang mai area for about a month. saw a lot of korean at niman area
In late Jan, I staying opposite of One Nimman. Maybe too many people I miss it. :p
So nice to stay for 1 month. I spend 1 week there.

No.1AHOLE

2020 I still got travel before covid case jump.
1 month you go where, pls share. Looking for hidden place :p
I was on road trip. from bangkok all the way up then ended at chiang mai. Went to a few provinces. Each provinces stay for few nights. But chaing mai area stay the longest

aquanark

Dear All,

Planning a 10day family trip to ChiangMai in Nov. Hope you can advise the followings:

1. Reliable Car rental companies to recommend? Type of cars to rent? Vios? City? Avanza? etc...
2. Must go places? Must do experiences?
3. Worth driving to Chiangrai and Pai?
4. Driving safety and tips in Chiangmai?

Thanks in advance.

No.1AHOLE

Dear All,

Planning a 10day family trip to ChiangMai in Nov. Hope you can advise the followings:

1. Reliable Car rental companies to recommend? Type of cars to rent? Vios? City? Avanza? etc...

Thanks in advance.
If planning to go up pai, rent a car at least 1.6L and above. The rental car company i am not too sure which is good.
Must go places like old city ? hipster place ? Depending on what you like. As there is a lot of things to do in chiang mai. If renting a car, you may want to drive to chiang dao, lampang or doi inthanon. Those places are more relax and not as busy as chiang mai.
Overall other than bangkok, maybe phuket and pattaya, i feel that the rest of the provinces are easier to drive around and there's always lot to park to wherever places i wanna go

jingluck

376768754_7016440601722128_1431338879551906342_n.jpg

Facebook: Siri Latana​

363781441_6864246743608182_4543568329672899982_n.jpg
Lanna Transport and Services.
366706097_6916849871681202_3541541519878616219_n.jpg

Andrew833

Dear All,

Thanks in advance.
Chiangmai to Chiang Rai about 3hr
Chiangmai to Pai about 3hr
Plan accordingly, to and back 6hrs+ not worth it.

Must go places? Must do experiences?
This can be found online.
Specific questions easier for us to answer you.

No.1AHOLE

Chiangmai to Chiang Rai about 3hr
Chiangmai to Pai about 3hr
Plan accordingly, to and back 6hrs+ not worth it.

Must go places? Must do experiences?
This can be found online.
Specific questions easier for us to answer you.
10 days can one. Touchdown chiang mai straight away go either to pai or outskirt, spend a few days then come back to chiag mai for the remaining days since he will be taking plane back from chiang mai. Wont be not worth it but he just need to plan properly.

Andrew833

10 days can one. Touchdown chiang mai straight away go either to pai or outskirt, spend a few days then come back to chiag mai for the remaining days since he will be taking plane back from chiang mai. Wont be not worth it but he just need to plan properly.
Yea, he need to plan properly.
Chiang Rai and Pai at least stay 1 night each lol.

No.1AHOLE

Yea, he need to plan properly.
Chiang Rai and Pai at least stay 1 night each lol.
He can plan stay 2 night each so wont be that rush also then after that go back to chiang mai spend the rest of the days there

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.