China high speed rail

Moguls

If I book with surname "Tan", GivenNames "Celleste Xie Hui", the e-ticket will show as Tan Celleste Xie Hui. It is different from the passport display name "Celleste Tan Xie Hui". I am worry the china train official will reject my ticket.
完了。完了。

xQhwOLM.jpg

boringLife-

do you know the tickets from trip.com is more expensive than 12306 and also lesser choice and besides for 1st timer 12306 got 20 yuan discount

The 12306 so hard to use leh. The chinese 12306 app is showing "您的12306账号身份信息未核验" and something about cannot buy ticket.

But few months back I bought using the english app and managed to board

So now if I use the chinese 12306 app is can board train with etix or cannot?

turtle2018

The 12306 so hard to use leh. The chinese 12306 app is showing "您的12306账号身份信息未核验" and something about cannot buy ticket.

But few months back I bought using the english app and managed to board

So now if I use the chinese 12306 app is can board train with etix or cannot?

Why don't you just use the English 12306 App since it worked a few months back?
In the English 12306 App, under "User Information", is the Verification status of ID number displayed as "Verified"? If yes, you should be able to buy tickets via the App.

dilphinus

If I book with surname "Tan", GivenNames "Celleste Xie Hui", the e-ticket will show as Tan Celleste Xie Hui. It is different from the passport display name "Celleste Tan Xie Hui". I am worry the china train official will reject my ticket.
Then why they specifically have a column for SURNAME? Did they say your e-ticket name as to read EXACTLY IN SEQUENCE as per your passport?

Do what you think is right lor. Put Celleste as the surname and let us know how it go.

xqchnn

Then why they specifically have a column for SURNAME? Did they say your e-ticket name as to read EXACTLY IN SEQUENCE as per your passport?

Do what you think is right lor. Put Celleste as the surname and let us know how it go.
Trip.com told me that China train officer will check the passport display name... I just want to check with anybody here with similar name format and bought the train ticket before.

dilphinus

Trip.com told me that China train officer will check the passport display name... I just want to check with anybody here with similar name format and bought the train ticket before.
They say will check. Of cos will check lah. You take plane also will check, right?

You know what they will check or not? They will check if you are the person who's travelling. Cannot be you buy the ticket in someone else's name and you use the ticket to board the train/plane right?

Moguls

High speed train from Shenzhen to dongguan 东莞高铁 business class

beanstalk6

Buying Train Ticket at Train Station

I bought the train ticket from “Beijing South” to “Tianjin” at the “Beijing” station. Yes, you can buy the ticket from any train station, not necessary to be at the departing train station. I went about 7pm+, & the queue was not long. I suspect many Chinese are already buying their tickets via App, thus reducing the physical crowd at the stations. After I bought the ticket, I was thinking of asking the counter staff to verify my passport details in the App, but faced some network issues launching the App. In order not to hold back those queuing behind, the counter staff asked me to approach the counter “值班主任”.

Verification of “ID number” in the App

The process of verification at the “值班主任” counter was quite straightforward, taking about 5 to 10 minutes.

Buying Train Ticket using “Railway 12306” App

I bought the train ticket from “Tianjin” to “Beijing South” via the App. The initial attempt was done on the night (around 10pm+) before the intended travel date, & was unsuccessful. On the next morning, on my way to Tianjin train station (thinking of queuing to buy), I tried again, & this time was successful. There was a long list of payment options. I forgot to take a screenshot - but I vaguely recall besides Wechat pay & Alipay, can also pay by Visa or Mastercard or Union-Pay cards. I paid via Alipay App (linked to Youtrip Mastercard), & process was smooth.

Shall I Buy Train Tickets using “Railway 12306” App OR Trip.com?

I asked my ex-colleagues in Beijing which was a better option, & they said “12306”. Reasons being: Using the “Railway 12306 App” to buy, you can change date/ time (改签) for one-time without fees via the App. But note that after 改签 for one-time, you cannot 改签 anymore, can only choose to refund (fees apply). You should also search Baidu for the potential hidden fees if you buy from Trip.com. I do not have experience in doing so, thus will not comment.
I searched for 12306 in WeChat mini program. Which is the official mini program that allows buying of ticket? All that I came across allows only checking of ticket balance, but does not allow me to buy tickets.

turtle2018

I searched for 12306 in WeChat mini program. Which is the official mini program that allows buying of ticket? All that I came across allows only checking of ticket balance, but does not allow me to buy tickets.
I search & found “12306 铁路公众号 - 小程序”。
I didn't buy via wechat's or alipay's 12306. I bought directly via English version of 12306 App.

Eddied

mine is similar case to yours, it worked fine for the HSR don't worry, just put surname "Tan", Given Names "Celleste Xie Hui" as advised, note that it follows the order at the bottom of my passport page but not the name in the main section

beanstalk6

Vomit blood, trying to buy a ticket. Weeks ago I could reach the payment page without having to verify my identity. Last week, I realised I had to verify my identity, which I did by uploading a photo of my passport and my face with the passport. The verification succeeded, yet I am unable to add myself as a passenger and was told to get the identity of my passenger verified at the station, without having bought a ticket. How can I be both verified and unverified at the same time?!

boringLife-

Vomit blood, trying to buy a ticket. Weeks ago I could reach the payment page without having to verify my identity. Last week, I realised I had to verify my identity, which I did by uploading a photo of my passport and my face with the passport. The verification succeeded, yet I am unable to add myself as a passenger and was told to get the identity of my passenger verified at the station, without having bought a ticket. How can I be both verified and unverified at the same time?!

You use chinese app? Try use english lo

Knn i login to 12306.cn there put

核验状态:
已通过

*手机号:
已通过核验

but the app still put 未实名认证

Moguls

Can buy tickets for friends too
Buying 12306 Bullet Train from shenzhen to dongguan on friends behalf.
using a fictitious name. 12306 accept verification via email too

beanstalk6

You use chinese app? Try use english lo

Knn i login to 12306.cn there put

核验状态:
已通过

*手机号:
已通过核验

but the app still put 未实名认证
Same observation I had. I tried both languages and even the desktop site. To no avail. I spent 15rmb more and bought my ticket from an agent.

chickencow

Here is the solution ( starting 28 Nov 2023 onwards 12306.cn Launch real name validation for 'English" Language (via online AI Engine) ) thus user and passenger need to "Verified" before allow to purchase ticket.

1) Remove your Friend name from the passenger List in your app
2) Create an account for your passenger (aka your friends) , in the "Desktop Web Brower" . .12306.cn English Languages (As per what you did for your self ) -Noted IOS app will shown Blank at registration page , Android is fine , Desktop is fine.
3) Perform Real Name Validation for your friends / passenger . (Keep retry if you encounter system busy) .. once you see a upload successful . it need to wait a few minutes .
4) Log in your friend in the App . (IOS / Android) . he / she will see a message stating his name is verified ,
5) Re add your friend in your own account app passenger list . if you intend to purchase on behalf or seat selection.
6) Only Both yourself and Friend (Aka name is passenger list) shown verified .. you can then proceed to purchase .

That is what i did .
Note This only Apply for ENGLISH LANGUAGE .. it will not work if you switch to Mainland CHINESE version.

Chickencow

beanstalk6

Here is the solution ( starting 28 Nov 2023 onwards 12306.cn Launch real name validation for 'English" Language (via online AI Engine) ) thus user and passenger need to "Verified" before allow to purchase ticket.

1) Remove your Friend name from the passenger List in your app
2) Create an account for your passenger (aka your friends) , in the "Desktop Web Brower" . .12306.cn English Languages (As per what you did for your self ) -Noted IOS app will shown Blank at registration page , Android is fine , Desktop is fine.
3) Perform Real Name Validation for your friends / passenger . (Keep retry if you encounter system busy) .. once you see a upload successful . it need to wait a few minutes .
4) Log in your friend in the App . (IOS / Android) . he / she will see a message stating his name is verified ,
5) Re add your friend in your own account app passenger list . if you intend to purchase on behalf or seat selection.
6) Only Both yourself and Friend (Aka name is passenger list) shown verified .. you can then proceed to purchase .

That is what i did .
Note This only Apply for ENGLISH LANGUAGE .. it will not work if you switch to Mainland CHINESE version.

Chickencow
The passenger is myself, so I cannot remove. In fact I have completed the verification, except the phone number, which does not accept non-Chinese number. But email was sufficient previously. I am using the English language in the app.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.