wah lan so fast 62k liao

close maybe more than 70k

back to last month price

too many rich pple in sg liao lar

stonefish35

You very optimistic.

I think 40-45k, the demand will come back. White-hot demand.

My initial stand is also ard 40-45K , if the car industry is independent .

Throw in falling depreciation property prices and if MERS full blown, sub 30K possible.

1st to go will be car, follow by property, then owners will jump also.

dustyRoom

You very optimistic.

I think 40-45k, the demand will come back. White-hot demand.

Yeah gotta remember 10 years ago, the parents bought. Now its their kids who would buy they have a higher spending power. At best 40k.

relacker

My initial stand is also ard 40-45K , if the car industry is independent .

Throw in falling depreciation property prices and if MERS full blown, sub 30K possible.

1st to go will be car, follow by property, then owners will jump also.

not forgetting papaya may lose mandate

Kum Jit Pow

With coe already so many cars on the road liao... Can you imagine without coe?

Whats wrong with so many cars? If you are afraid of getting caught in the jam, dont drive or leave early. Its similar to market forces. Coe is to benefit the haves, so that the have nots won't clog up the roads and allow them a smooth ride. And coe is to benefit the coffers. If its really meant to curb the number of cars, why don't only let endusers bid and prevent dealers from bidding?

I have no proof, but I've heard that the whole thing is rigged. The price has already been fixed before the bidding. And why can't they have close tender? You pay for what you bid. The whole thing is dodgy right from the start.

Airplane88

their modelling system will make sure they dun flood the market with COEs.

immediately after the next election they will tweak the system to ensure it is 100k for COE... like how we see a spike in COE from $2 from Raymond Lim's times to now... 60K

What modelling system? In 2 to 3 years I am going to take MRT and bus. Really can't afford a car in SG. The down payment is going to kill a lot of people. :s13::s13:

plasticpistola

What modelling system? In 2 to 3 years I am going to take MRT and bus. Really can't afford a car in SG. The down payment is going to kill a lot of people. :s13::s13:

can still consider used car lor, downpayment wont be so heartpain.

budden paying $50k-60k for a 6-7 yr-old Honda Jazz is really uniquely singapore~ :s22::s22:

iamverybuaysong

IIRC, 05 , 06 , a couple of months Cat A quota is over 2700. If LTA do not reduce, and those red plates kancils, Picantos, Protons do not buy a car again, we may even see sub 10K COE again. Now quota is 500plus 65K COE is ok. Just that, those who bought cars at such COEs, cannot sell their cars when COE dipped to ard 20 - 30K .

this is valid in a perfect situation.

however, as we all know, humans are greedy.

I personally know many whose cars' COEs are ending soon or have ended, and are waiting at the sidelines, intending to go in and buy within the next 6 months.

So i believe COE will stabilise at the 45-55k mark, and will not go down anymore.

Kum Jit Pow

When coe started, everyone kpkb. Then got people speculate coe and make money. Now all the young ones don't know what it was like without coe because they kena conditioned liao. 2nd hand cars were sub 20k last time. Brand new corolla was only 26k, cressida was only 35k.

Carnage

Whats wrong with so many cars? If you are afraid of getting caught in the jam, dont drive or leave early. Its similar to market forces. Coe is to benefit the haves, so that the have nots won't clog up the roads and allow them a smooth ride. And coe is to benefit the coffers. If its really meant to curb the number of cars, why don't only let endusers bid and prevent dealers from bidding?

I have no proof, but I've heard that the whole thing is rigged. The price has already been fixed before the bidding. And why can't they have close tender? You pay for what you bid. The whole thing is dodgy right from the start.

Actually consumers can bid on their own. Just that most people are too lazy to.

Kum Jit Pow

Actually consumers can bid on their own. Just that most people are too lazy to.

Yes, consumers can bid. Just dont let dealers bid. Do you know the dealers are holding to a lot of coe's? They are the one who push up the price.

iamverybuaysong

When coe started, everyone kpkb. Then got people speculate coe and make money. Now all the young ones don't know what it was like without coe because they kena conditioned liao. 2nd hand cars were sub 20k last time. Brand new corolla was only 26k, cressida was only 35k.

this one is in the 1980s :vijayadmin:

when my car was registered, it did not have COE :s22:

ferr4ri

with all the past data quite sure the govt can model everything to fit 90% of the population..

things like betting habits, eating habits simi sai also can model with data.. just zun or not zun only.. haha

euko82

Now with 5 yrs loan and only 50% loan only also have so many ppl buy car...

Singapore got a lot of rich ppl

dustyRoom

Yes, consumers can bid. Just dont let dealers bid. Do you know the dealers are holding to a lot of coe's? They are the one who push up the price.

Maybe a potentially new cooling measure would be to force car owners to do own bidding.

stonefish35

this is valid in a perfect situation.

however, as we all know, humans are greedy.

I personally know many whose cars' COEs are ending soon or have ended, and are waiting at the sidelines, intending to go in and buy within the next 6 months.

So i believe COE will stabilise at the 45-55k mark, and will not go down anymore.

Last yr this time, many with this thinking are still hooting private properties trying to flip.

iamverybuaysong

Last yr this time, many with this thinking are still hooting private properties trying to flip.

How can properties be directly compared with cars?

tens of k, compared to hundreds of k to millions?

tens of k is within the affordability range of many, without having to borrow.

The cooling measures for cars, like the 50% downpayment and 5 year loan doesn't really affect that many, especially those with cars now.

Just imagine, by the time you scrap, get back PARF 15k, a very conservative estimate. Down payment perhaps 60k, which means come up with only 35k cash mah

And unlike properties where many people are satisfied with just having 1, many people want cars. There are so many households with more than 1 cars.

d3fc0n

drop more so i dont need headache to renew coe in 2019!

tminus

Now with 5 yrs loan and only 50% loan only also have so many ppl buy car...

Singapore got a lot of rich ppl

Agreed sg alot of rich ppl but the 50% upfront. Plenty of ways to loan that amount if u know where to look

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.