COE going downhill.

Nitez86

Many people will take elderly to justify their right to own a car. To be honest all people have elderly, they have mother, father, grandparents some even have great grandparents. Who the hell do not have any elderly at all, then again same thing what all people have the right to drive a car what. But touch your heart and say how many people really buy car for their elderly. During weekend go take a walk at yishun dam and orchard, i dare to say most of them is show off go pick girls and etc. Sg is too small and we are overcrowded, we can't have fairness in this issue. Only can allow the rich to drive, even you are slightly above average i don't recommend you to drive because like many of your said people are getting jobless once they hit 40s. Pay are low and stagnant and so on, save the money up or save it for your kids education.

emahnic

Can afford then buy, cannot afford don't buy. How hard isit.

Not about the affordability. Quote you $10,000 for one normal 40" LCD TV is it reasonable since you can afford?

Problem is our gov is growing population without increasing the road capacity and car population. End up pushing us to accept this unreasonable COE pricing.

dustyRoom

Not about the affordability. Quote you $10,000 for one normal 40" LCD TV is it reasonable since you can afford?

Problem is our gov is growing population without increasing the road capacity and car population. End up pushing us to accept this unreasonable COE pricing.

If you really cannot live with a tv, why not. I won't though.

straweffigy

Overpriced or not, it is a fact that you cannot afford the $10,000 LCD TV. So you need to find ways to make do. Either watch TV at the community centres or join your good buddy neighbour who has one.

Just because everyone wants an expensive TV, doesn't mean the govt needs to spoon-feed everyone.

You mentioned the govt isn't increasing road capacity.. You think we have unlimited land area? What about traffic issues from increased no. of cars on the roads? Stop bending the reality to fit your skewed one.

camelsback

Buy car is to improve quality of life. If u value seeing your bank digits increasing, thn don't buy a car.
If you get hedonic value from the usage of a car. Thn buy it.

What's the big deal. A 150k car only need about 75k downpayment. Loan about 1.3k/month for the next 5 years. A normal person earns about 4-5k. Surely u can afford a car right.

If cannot afford thn get a second hand car. Only 40k

standarture

Do you guys even understand why the car was created? :s22::s22::s22: And do you know who is destroying that vision? :s22::s22::s22::s22: Cars a luxury? Come on. Being a small country doesn't change anything.

kage

Overpriced or not, it is a fact that you cannot afford the $10,000 LCD TV. So you need to find ways to make do. Either watch TV at the community centres or join your good buddy neighbour who has one.

Just because everyone wants an expensive TV, doesn't mean the govt needs to spoon-feed everyone.

You mentioned the govt isn't increasing road capacity.. You think we have unlimited land area? What about traffic issues from increased no. of cars on the roads? Stop bending the reality to fit your skewed one.

U are SPOT ON, we do not have unlimited land, than why stuff so many people into this unlimited land? Isn't this reality?! Well .........

worcer

Govt made car into a luxury. Its call propaganda.

One day, they will make taking a bus a luxury... trust me on that one.

squeeish

Having a car IS a luxury in Singapore.

If every family owns a car, our streets will be very congested.

cran87

Sticky car prices keep buyers on sidelines

Car certificate of entitlement (COE) prices have tumbled by more than 20 per cent since April, but not all car prices have fallen in tandem. Which may explain why buyers seem to be still holding back.

Among a sample of 15 popular cars, only six had their prices lowered by as much as the COE correction or more.

For instance, the Toyota Corolla Altis and Vios are now priced at $125,888 and $113,888 respectively, $9,100 and $8,100 less than their respective prices on April 10.

The COE for these cars had fallen by $15,501 since.

Over at Volkswagen, the Passat 1.8TSI is now $166,300, $1,500 lower than its May 8 price - or about one-third of the COE drop.

The BMW X5 xDrive35i had fallen by $16,000 to $371,800 since April 5, versus a $17,200 drop in its COE price.

Among cars which have at least kept pace with the COE slide are the Honda City and Odyssey.

Their prices have fallen by $21,000 and $23,000 respectively to $110,900 and $167,900 since April 10 - exceeding the $15,501 and $18,804 drop in their respective COE rates.

With the aggressive cuts, some Hondas are now cheaper than Toyotas - a rare occurrence.

"We want to gain market share," said Mr Nicholas Wong, general manager of Honda dealer Kah Motor.

Mr Wong said the market has been quiet, as consumers are expecting prices to drop further.

Industry watchers expect demand for bigger cars to ease more because higher taxes and the curb on car loans force buyers to downgrade to smaller models.

"Buyers of big cars also can afford to wait longer," said Mr Wong.

"These people are likely to have more than one car, so even if one expires, they have another."

That may also explain why Volkswagen Singapore is having discounts of $5,000 for models up to 1,600cc and 130bhp, and $8,000 for bigger or more powerful models.

Asked why prices of some Hyundai models were still relatively firm, Hyundai agent Komoco's spokesman Jeffrey Low said this was to improve returns, "which have been quite low in recent years".

The "stickiness" of car prices has not escaped consumers.

Banker Chiang Heng-Liang, 54, said despite the drop in COE prices, "cars are not cheap these days".

"I'll decide when my car approaches 10 years, and look at the prices then," he said. "It is five-years-old now."

But engineer Soh Guat Choo, 38, just bought a new Toyota Wish seven-seater "because my family is expanding".

She added that she had traded in her Toyota Altis for $45,000, which she bought for $49,000 five years ago - with a $2 COE.

K20A

Govt made car into a luxury. Its call propaganda.

One day, they will make taking a bus a luxury... trust me on that one.

Well, they have successfully turned PUBLIC housing into decades of liability for most.

I'm very sure PUBLIC transport is next.

Nitez86

Seriously SG does not have the land to allow everyone to drive. Even big countries some major cities have traffic jam problem let alone we are just a tiny island. I understand cars are overprice in SG, but if cars are cheap everyone buy car then once you turn out from the carpark jam already. Then whats the point of driving seriously, we can have fairness in this issue unless we are a big country. And i dun agree affordable is as in i earn 4k my installment is 1.3k i can afford. Many singaporeans into debts in such way, 1.3k is just the installment how about insurance, road tax, maintence, parking, summon, petrol. All adds up easily $2k at least, then your own expense leh, food leisure, wife/gf, parents allowance and etc. You won't be left with much, if one day things cock up and you need a lump sum of cash where you going to find the money. So the best is accept the reality and let go of your pride and ego.

rtfm38

Seriously SG does not have the land to allow everyone to drive. Even big countries some major cities have traffic jam problem let alone we are just a tiny island. I understand cars are overprice in SG, but if cars are cheap everyone buy car then once you turn out from the carpark jam already. Then whats the point of driving seriously, we can have fairness in this issue unless we are a big country. And i dun agree affordable is as in i earn 4k my installment is 1.3k i can afford. Many singaporeans into debts in such way, 1.3k is just the installment how about insurance, road tax, maintence, parking, summon, petrol. All adds up easily $2k at least, then your own expense leh, food leisure, wife/gf, parents allowance and etc. You won't be left with much, if one day things cock up and you need a lump sum of cash where you going to find the money. So the best is accept the reality and let go of your pride and ego.

Then have a ballot system instead of a bidding system lor.

onegoal

July bidding is on the way.
More downwards!
Cheaper COE!!

thorsten139

Why are all the streets congested at the moment?

Because there are many Sinkies who are average but think they are Rich, then go buy car and crowd our roads.

Waiting for crisis come and these sinkies unable pay car loan and confiscate ALL!!!! :s12::s12::s12:

Jwee85

i rather go china to buy cheap Audi A4 for only S$70,000.
going to marry my ATB and convert to china citizen for save on COE.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.