Condo or HDB

Forever84

Yes a risk here.. maybe can try if my job is very stable.. HDB is gonna depreciate
Just go buy a hdb if needed, property isn’t the only way you can build wealth. It’s better to limit your liabilities for now as your household income is imbalance.

this way you can still accumulate more savings and invest into other assets. Please keep in mind that outside the covid spike, the first 5 years of capital appreciation of any condo is likely to eroded by interests on loans with current rates.

Lss

I’m not blaming his wife. I’m just stating it as a matter of fact against the other person comment that he is young and can get a condo.

im just highlighting that the issue is his wife income, as it is imbalance and likely stagnant.

those are just facts, not attacking his wife or saying his wife isn’t good
So the revelation is that the wife "temporarily" has 50% pay cut. Does that change things up?

Roundtreex

Just go buy a hdb if needed, property isn’t the only way you can build wealth. It’s better to limit your liabilities for now as your household income is imbalance.

this way you can still accumulate more savings and invest into other assets. Please keep in mind that outside the covid spike, the first 5 years of capital appreciation of any condo is likely to eroded by interests on loans with current rates.
Dont know what you talking about. Seems like you missed the appreciation of 20%++ since last year.
Your loan interest is at 20%? What erosion?

virtualape

Bigger budget means relying heavily on your income. If kena laid off, your wife 40k won't do much...

Ec at 1.7m, you won't make much in the short term. Anything can happen in the next 5 years...it's really a stretch.

But having said that, it's cheaper to sort out the family matters. I rather take a loan to buy a smaller condo for rent.

duckknight1000

Got to make sure you pass TDSR before purchase, best is to get an IPA. You have to pay ABSD(can claim back) as well if you plan to contra. Please take note.

1.25 M bank loan monthly installment close to 7 k sgd, if you tio pok, it will be very difficult.
Yes planning for a career change to a stable place.. and then again there is no guarantee in life

duckknight1000

I’m not blaming his wife. I’m just stating it as a matter of fact against the other person comment that he is young and can get a condo.

im just highlighting that the issue is his wife income, as it is imbalance and likely stagnant.

those are just facts, not attacking his wife or saying his wife isn’t good
Yes.. young age doesn’t mean will always be smooth in career progression. Life is unpredictable.

duckknight1000

So the revelation is that the wife "temporarily" has 50% pay cut. Does that change things up?
May not go up short term either haha
Bigger budget means relying heavily on your income. If kena laid off, your wife 40k won't do much...

Ec at 1.7m, you won't make much in the short term. Anything can happen in the next 5 years...it's really a stretch.

But having said that, it's cheaper to sort out the family matters. I rather take a loan to buy a smaller condo for rent.
the primary goal is not to make money.. just wanna avoid a depreciating asset.. but seems too much risk

OngHuatHuat

Anyway, buying at peak normally result in loss making deals, you have to consider a risk for the property market to U turn. I have witnessed how this happened between 2013 to 2019.

duckknight1000

Anyway, buying at peak normally result in loss making deals, you have to consider a risk for the property market to U turn. I have witnessed how this happened between 2013 to 2019.
R u suggesting to wait till the price to go down? I am waiting for interest to go down at least

diminishin

1. Dual key only make sense for rental. It doesn't work for parents or inlaws to stay studio unit. They sure ask you open the doors.

2. Your income level is too stretched for 1.7m, considering you need to feed two kids and parent.

3. You will be committing to the purchase at the peak prices, at peak interest rates.

Why don't ask the parent buy 2rm flexi hdb instead? Then you are free to buy whatever you want.

virtualape

May not go up short term either haha

the primary goal is not to make money.. just wanna avoid a depreciating asset.. but seems too much risk
Flat older than 30 years old I won't get. 15-20 still ok. Ec first owner already made quite abit. Maybe can still make abit when you sell but not as much as first owner.

hachi

TS can also buy a smaller unit in the same block or same estate?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.