• No! I am a cyclist … how dare u! *glass breaking *

Votes: 21 7.2%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.2%

• Total voters

Whispers

make laws and suggestions by expert panels, but cannot or do not bother to enforce. what use is there? just to show that laws are made? so that there is an appearance of showing the populace that the govt cares?

my observation...the SG population, locals + PR + foreigners are now not as obedient, not like before...

WussRedXLi

screenshot_20231222_175247_linkedin-2-jpg.44747

1982-1994

Nobody knows cyclist might have provoked the driver

But still ,that doesn't gives the latter the right to do that

tmster

worst is those cycling from your left to right when u at zebra crossing

u think clear liao they suddenly zoom in from your left blind side. Never slow down or stop one. Increase speed and cycle

really jialat

Encountered the same, a bangla and it was dark at night, luckily managed to brake in time, and the bugger still turned back and gave a typical big bangla smile. He didn't even realise the impact at that speed would have sent him flying.

Ethan_

Early morning 4/5 plus am happened? Think quite dangerous to be on the road. That's usually when many driver least alert of the day. Especially those that out during the night. Not a good idea cycle on road that time.

WussRedXLi

Encountered the same, a bangla and it was dark at night, luckily managed to brake in time, and the bugger still turned back and gave a typical big bangla smile. He didn't even realise the impact at that speed would have sent him flying.

The indian / bangla / chinese workers not uncommon. In fact, i'd say it's very common. No lights.

I always ride back home (recreational cycling) from MBS/GBTB/MBE area around the time when the chinese workers knock off from the nearby construction around UIC building and collect their bikes at UIC/Shenton house along shenton way. All clad in grey, i rode with them like > 10 times liao.
They do not observe traffic lights one, though luckily they still do check clear quite ok. So the only safety net is their check clear accuracy. Cars / bikes travelling at 60-80kmh would have no chance spotting them until too late. They ride across the road at around 15kmh, no chance.

Some banglas clad in dark blue / black even. Is quite jialat. Just a few days ago i actually cut into the lane of 1 bangla and caused him to e-brake. I could not see him at all till the very last minute.

For foreign workers, the last thing they'd care for is lights and helmets, fully understandable of course, but then the issue and risks are still there.

For reference. Their visilbility is even lower than the grab below

zoossh

And yet tp will still do nothing against the cyclists.
Tp need to do a lot to help to save more lives for cyclists

such as road tax, registration, stricter traffic rules against them, no use of fast lanes, no riding in the middle of the lane and no cycling in groups or abreast, and all these must be written in the law and repeated ad naseum, so that they won’t quote outdated tp rules that endangers and kills them when drivers are driving perfectly safe

remember all these are done in the interest of the safety of cyclists, drivers and pedestrians and to avoid causing innocent drivers to be charged or jailed just because they cannot react fast enough to cyclist errors

Ethan_

honestly in singapore road it is not for cyclist because a few reason.

1. the road is too crowded with vehicles

2.there not much cyclist lane on the road.

3. road user drive very fast and dont care about other road user

4. cyclist also have this mindset like they own the road and sometimes cycles in the middle of the road
1. Think if the road very crowded, as in jammy, start stop, use the pavement probably faster.

2. Its not that there are not much cycling lane, it's almost little to none. Impression only recently they tried on those ulu places which mostly recreational cyclist go. Might as well just ask the cyclist use the park connector suah liao. So not very practical for typical cycling.

3. Think its rather crazy to cycle in fast traffic, especially busy road. The speed difference often too great, driver might not react in time if err.

Some more think many, if not most, drivers when go fast would tend become tunnel vision and focus more in front to avoid obstacles. Especially so the faster they go. Thus, tend neglect those on the side.

Perhaps its a reason why speeding is dangerous. Especially in busy traffic. It tend distort the judgement.

4. Middle of the road as in middle of the lane? If so, think many probably have not cycle much on local road.

It easy to say keep left. But local road toward the edge near the curb the condition can often be quite jialat one. Drain cover and grill; holes and pot holes; uneven height due to resurfacing and erosion; debris, sand and gravel, not to mention tree branches and such, which are often sweeped to the side by moving vehicles.

All these can post quite a danger to the cyclist. Especially more so when going fast to keep up with traffic. Thus at times cycle somewhere further from the edge or curb is much more safer. Even motorbike also don't go there. :s22:

nyvrem

i drive manual so normally zebra crossing I’ll 1st gear inch forward slowly incase of this type of ppl but then most of the time will kenna horn by car behind

:s13: :s13: :s13:

BlackWing1977

you have to watch out even as pedestrians. due to inflation, some phv drivers and cabbies are getting frustrated. they vent their anger by nearly knocking you down, or outright bang you. you are not safe even inside buildings, carparks or traffic light crossings
Some people just have no regards for other people on the road, that day was just pushing my mother on wheelchair crossing the traffic junction as the light turn green and my view was blocked by the bus at 1st lane.
A stupid driver on 2nd lane chiong out so much that 70% of his vehicle is cutting into the pathway for pedestrian, but lucky I move slow.. or else sure kena bang by that idiot driver. Then I stare at him, he paiseh quickly check his behind... trying to back up. :sick:

BlackWing1977

I told my kids the same

Even traffic light is to your favor with green man flashing, don’t cross unless all cars have stopped.

Once I crossed the first lane with taxi stopped. I was looking at a black car on lane 2 driving towards traffic light with no sign of stopping. I froze on lane 1 as the message suddenly flashed on my mind : Don’t cross unless car has stopped.

The lady driver on black car sped past me and I went into shock and U turn to check the traffic light again. It was still green man flashing with red traffic light on

She had beat red light with speeding.

Many sg lady drivers are notoriously reckless lawless drivers.

My relative was knocked down by a lady driver and she hit n run.

My relative picked up his motorcycle and gave chase with his blood flowing many other motorists gave chase to help stop the “murderer”

She had the cheek to say she was going to make U turn to return to “crime” scene.

Lady isn’t fit to drive…
Same experience.. some drivers dun deserve to be on the road.. really reckless behaviour.

DragonFire

no stern action taken by our Gov. for these cyclist.
Majulah Singapura!
We don't need a police state thank you. Let Darwinians take care of themselves. The careless cyclists and kuku drivers deserve each other when they meet.

CaptchaCheebeh

Got easy solution, but gahmen just don't want to implement only.

Bring 500g of weed = hang, but bang and kill people usually go squat 3 years or less. Gahmen still don't want to implement zero tolerance policy for bad driving even when it's proven to kill more than 100 people each year.

I think weed kills even less people than that sia.

If implement minimum 20 years sentence up to death penalty for all reckless drivers, you can be sure tomolo everyone drive sibeh polite and safe riaoz.

Pearce

park along double yellow line also not their problem anymore
looks like their main role is only escort
and stalk out at expressway shoulder
Not enough tp? Else why see Cisco kind? Or I see sala?

it’s the same as smoking rules
So many laws SO LITTLE ENFORCEMENT
Still need us to report via the sg site n expect us to believe data is confidential when humans r weakest link?

traffic still so relax for cyclists
Even tw don’t even allow motor on expressway
Why we allow cyclist on highway n flyover
Many agencies not doing their jobs I realise…

many smokers smoke indiscriminately but NEA ? MIA
TP already losing control on the traffic enforcement. In fact you will only see them at accident sites which has injuries or fatalities.
This is what I meant initially.

They only do the work at night, catching drunk drivers than patrolling on the road during the day

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.