• No! I am a cyclist … how dare u! *glass breaking *

Votes: 21 7.2%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.2%

• Total voters

RedOrion

Zebra crossing, driver must slow down in case of pedestrians.
Correct.

Cyclist can just zip across without even slowing down or checking for oncoming traffic?
Stupidity.

They should bring back the dismount rule to stop all these self-harm antics, any pedestrian suddenly chiong across zebra crossing thinking the car must die die stop and he/she can avoid accident/injury must be dreaming.

Common sense all gone liao. Self-entitled behaviour.
Why not, slow down, value own life, check first then go across rather than expect everything rosy and dandy?

AuraKUPO

Driver paid so much money for coe and car, but doing have the skill and awareness to drive safely. Zebra crossing still chiong and don't practice cautious. Should revoke his license and ban him from driving.

jumpthepig

I think this apply to above case, cyclist dash to the zebra crossing and car stop abruptly.

Not sure if there are rule/law on how fast a cyclist should ride at such crossing… 10km/h? or 15 km/h? or 30 km/h?…… It is a road bike(his average riding speed could be 40km/h) , this cyclist could argue he is not riding very fast at that crossing also… :ROFLMAO:

Laguna123

Now there is not clear rule/law on how fast a cyclist should ride at such crossing… 10km/h? or 15 km/h? or 30 km/h?…… It is a road bike(his average riding speed could be 40km/h) , this cyclist could argue he is not riding very fast at that crossing also… :ROFLMAO:
From the video think the speed at least 15km/h this leave the driver little reaction time.

jumpthepig

From the video think the speed at least 15km/h this leave the driver little reaction time.

Seem like 10-15km/h…For me, i could stop in time as i don’t like to drive fast, always prefer to slow down till almost a complete stop before these junction and check if it is safe… just my driving habit

WussRedXLi

Cyclist / jogger here. Monthly i clock like 80-100hrs for cycling alone.

Really cannot ride and run so fast across pedestrian crossings, be it traffic lights or zebra crossing.

Tops is 10kmh, ie 6.00 pace..... actually at that pace also got a wee bit of risk (but generally it's still acceptable risk esp if you have good lights on you).

Technically if talking about legality, it would be walking pace, eg not more than 8kmh tops.

At night esp, do use sufficient lux lights (with horizontal cutoff = best), shine the hotspot onto the ground in front, let the road users have sufficient time to react. Safety lah.
Some zebra crossings have shrubs/hedges that block vehicles' visibility (eg Peck Seah St at Tg pagar, just outside Guoco Twr). Either that or you use helmet mounted lights.

WussRedXLi

wasnt there a rule that say cyclist must alight and push bicycle at zebra crossing?

You mean LTA? No mah....now dont have. No need to dismount. Many years ago there used to be, same for bicycle licence plates, many years last time have. Like last time RZ, now is ERP.

zooteam2006

This cyclist is those typical guailan troublemakers. Purposely wear mask so face cannot be identified, then deliberately heck care chiong zebra crossing knowing that cars will jam brake and horn and then take opportunity to confront and stir trouble. All just to make himself superior than others but hiding behind a mask.

LOL its actually all the typical traits of LOSERs resorting to antisocial behaviours to prove themselves.

benobiwan

cyclist really think they big fug ... zebra crossing no need slow down just chiong ...
driver oso think he/she big fug..not slowing down as well leh.. imagine u are walking and gum gum ho.. u are at the line.. then how har??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.