Votes: 23 7.9%
  • No! I am a cyclist … how dare u! *glass breaking *

Votes: 21 7.2%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.2%

• Total voters

haveyourcake

car park downstairs go up to fetch something, heng suay $200.

these entitled people causing major inconvenience and zero road etiquette fine $150.

also everytime see them on the road need to go to the nearest toilet to wash my eyes. machiam worse if they decide to hang out somewhere after their ride. knn esp the fat ones, wear spandex machiam like spiderman buay paiseh meh? fcking disgusting

CantStopWhining

dont cherry pick the statement. Read this also.

Second, road taxes – which are based on engine capacity - are higher for, bigger cars, which tend to consume more fuel and produce more emissions than small cars.
Same to you, don't cherry pick implementation over intent.

If you were to compare both together now with the cyclists' demands, it basically suggests that the current implementation of road taxes via engine capacity isn't working for the original intent of road tax which is to control congestion on the road. That is my point.

One extreme case of this mismatch is if Singapore no longer accepts motor vehicles on road and there's only cyclists left, then to manage the congestion on such road, a new type of road tax implementation needs to be introduced. Unless the government is going to continue with engine capacity under such circumstances, then sure, tax-free road then.

Tloslm

Small $150 fine do not send the right message to cyclists. Smoking fine is already $500 .

SG lawmakers should have some sense of proportion.

elmohootbigbird

Say is cycling lane but should know its not purely for bicycle. Its a general purpose road lane for any other vehicle that is not a motor vehicle.
In other more advance society alot long ago a much as possible try to have proper segregation of pedestrian, non-motorised vehicle, and motor vehicle. Only local still come out pattern want to mix them, thus create alot of conflicts.
Some more local motor vehicle not exactly cheap, its a luxury most ordinary people cannot afford. Local want to promote car lite. And increasingly there are other non motorised vehicles usage. Which they lack their proper road. So why want to give more space to motor vehicle leh.

not giving space for motor vehicles. but converting roads from current conditions to that for non-motorised vehicles would need at least be some new lines to be drawn or other modifications. how do we justify the cost to public monies if benefits are not clear? need some data at least la. utilisation of roads by non-motorised vehicles, etc.

Ev0d3vil

why don't gov set a law that say peak hours or Monday to Friday = no cycling on roads

Like that drivers can less stress

I wonder do cyclist believe in statistics....?

How about raising the cost of driving so these drivers who cant afford to upkeep their car go take bus/MRT and be less stress? Also less stress for the other drivers due to fewer cars on the roads

testart

How about raising the cost of driving so these drivers who cant afford to upkeep their car go take bus/MRT and be less stress? Also less stress for the other drivers due to fewer cars on the roads

This is the problem
The most scariest thing drivers want speed and save time
cyclist may kena bang by drivers who want speed and time saving

begintoend

This is the problem
The most scariest thing drivers want speed and save time
cyclist may kena bang by drivers who want speed and time saving
well

motorists get penalised and punished for their errant ways.
that is due of course,

cyc;list.... pffft
either they die causing an accident or they jus pedal away.
u tell me, how to acknowledge them as fellow road users?
responsibility on road? Never... they pin it on motorists. Shameless hypocrites.

tokong

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ce-for-riding-in-groups-larger-than-permitted

Mr Lawrence Choo, 45, founding member of cycling enthusiast groups 10101010 and Faber X, suggested that the guideline for motorists to adhere to a minimum distance of 1.5m when passing cyclists on roads be passed into law, so that it can be enforced like the group cycling rules.

He added that drivers should learn that cyclists also have a right to be on the roads.

Mr Kiki Matthias Cheng, founder of cycling enthusiast group Riding Kakis (Singapore), said it may be more effective to influence cyclists to become role models who “walk the ground” and advocate safer cycling practices within their cycling groups.

The 52-year-old operations director added that this could help “activate” the cycling community in spreading good cycling practices, compared with a top-down approach through law enforcement.

Mr Khaw and Mr Ng both suggested building more dedicated cycling infrastructure, such as cycling lanes that allow road users to give cyclists the right of way.

:s14:

Boolsheet, your cycling is just your hobby but serious road users are making a living.

These cyclists a lot are from top management or tech leads. No wonder so self entitled. No need to go back office work in the weekends and sometimes can goof off during weekdays to go cycling.

They expect trucks and buses to follow behind their snail group. Other people no need to delivery goods liao, everyday give way to their hobby.

come let me educate you,
solo cyclists are a bane to hog a lane,
not unlawful, an unsightly selfish behavior, deserving of insults many times.
motorbike argument? a road cyclist is not as safe and as fast as one.
meek

I know the rules if they adhere
that is why road cyclists can go home have dinner and watch tv.
don't waste time with spandex logic and their whataboutism 😂
they still want to 'educate' others, laugh die me :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.